We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best and cheapesr hotel in kathmandu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Encounter Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best and cheapesr hotel in kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel encounter with intrepid and was pleasantly surprised on arrival. They provide free airport pickup and are very hospitable when you check in at desk. Staff are helpful and polote and although we only had a budget room.17dollars a night .they gave us the same service as people in delux rooms. Great beds and best hot shower in the indian subcontinent.nothing was too much trouble.extra pillows .stow our luggage when we made a side trip. Free computer use and were happy for us to sit in their garden courtyard and drink alcohol bought outside the hotel.the hotel is very ventral to the main shopping street and all attravtions in kathmandu. Absolutely recommend it to anyone.they even paid for half our taxi to airport as hotel car was not available.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello angela !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are all so proud to hear about your review that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    231
    68
    28
    26
See reviews for
96
207
220
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
katmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Warm friendly staff great location good value for money safe for solo travellers great base in Katmandu to base yourself for travelling airport pick up without a second ask resturant food is with good breakfast Outside garden area very relaxed with friendly smiling staff roof top garden provides good veiws across the city 24 hour hot water in showers is a wonderful relief after days of travelling Highly recomend the Encounter Nepal

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Austarlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everytime I come to Nepal and this was eight times in the last two years I stay in Encounter Hotel. The reasons are that staff members are very friendly and make the impossible possible. Also the rooms are very clean, food is excellent, and the garden is nice twith flowers. It's a good place to escape the rush of Kathmandu and be two minutes away from Thamel.And one Thing more everytime I'm coming back more things are Change in a positive way.

Room Tip: The Hotel has two buildings, so if you want to have a quiet nicht choose the back building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Birgit !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team as we feel validated when customers return to our hotel.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel environment, food, garden, friendly & helpful staffs.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Prebooked and arrived at about midnight to be told that our rooms were overbooked. Moved to a nearby alternative that was just satisfactory. Picked back up in the morning and taken back to hotel encounter. Breakfast OK but very, very slow.
Room in old section reasonable for the $25.
Good location and security but would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank robbotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights with my gf in 2 different rooms
Old tower was very poor
New tower was good
Ac was fine.
No Internet inside the room
Internet was very slow
Breakfast was extremely poor almost no variety.
But the room was clean and comfortable.
Hot showers was ok
Location is good

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marwan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samut Prakan, Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

enconter Nepal is very good hotel to stay in Kthamndu ... Very quite place, is possible to stay for holiday or work.The Manager and all the staff are very friendly. If I go nepal again I must stay in Encounter……

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

we stayed like 3 days and 2 nights at Hotel encounter during our Nepal trip... we were impressed by the hospitality Hotel owner Mr pramod and the hotel staffs showed us...why RAVISHING?? Rooms there are very beautiful, everything clean, hot showers, cosy and elegantly furnished... delicious varied cuisines provided by Kathmandu Grill, its very own restaurant including Bar offering cocktails, mocktails and exclusive world class wines...great service...free internet access....beautiful garden area where you can relax in and enjoy the freshness of nature .....and a very short walk to Thamel whenever you feel like getting amidst it.For adventure lovers Mr. pramod do organize rafting, trekking , paragliding, bungee jumping on a reasonable price....Mr. Pramod managed to arrange all our flights, travel and accommodation and we heartily thank him and his staffs for their great assistance..

Room Tip: Higher floors have less AC unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ruchai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Ruchai !

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It is really great to that know our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad to know you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned specially Mr. Pramod & Travel Desk Department and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing