We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Nearby Hotels
US$360
US$344
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Buddha(Kathmandu)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$153
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$68
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$13
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$46
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
683
245
71
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
245
71
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskathmandu grillhot waterrecommend this hotelbeautiful gardenthe hotel managergarden restauranttravel deskgreat place to stayspecial thanksrooms are cleansecond homehome away from homevisit kathmanduthe hustle and bustlethamel areamrnepal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel encounter with intrepid and was pleasantly surprised on arrival. They provide free airport pickup and are very hospitable when you check in at desk. Staff are helpful and polote and although we only had a budget room.17dollars a night .they gave us the same service as people in delux rooms. Great beds and best hot shower in the indian subcontinent.nothing was too much trouble.extra pillows .stow our luggage when we made a side trip. Free computer use and were happy for us to sit in their garden courtyard and drink alcohol bought outside the hotel.the hotel is very ventral to the main shopping street and all attravtions in kathmandu. Absolutely recommend it to anyone.they even paid for half our taxi to airport as hotel car was not available.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
11  Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello angela !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are all so proud to hear about your review that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Warm friendly staff great location good value for money safe for solo travellers great base in Katmandu to base yourself for travelling airport pick up without a second ask resturant food is with good breakfast Outside garden area very relaxed with friendly smiling staff roof top garden provides good veiws across the city 24 hour hot water in showers is a wonderful relief after days of travelling Highly recomend the Encounter Nepal

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Austarlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everytime I come to Nepal and this was eight times in the last two years I stay in Encounter Hotel. The reasons are that staff members are very friendly and make the impossible possible. Also the rooms are very clean, food is excellent, and the garden is nice twith flowers. It's a good place to escape the rush of Kathmandu and be two minutes away from Thamel.And one Thing more everytime I'm coming back more things are Change in a positive way.

Room Tip: The Hotel has two buildings, so if you want to have a quiet nicht choose the back building
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Birgit !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team as we feel validated when customers return to our hotel.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel environment, food, garden, friendly & helpful staffs.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Prebooked and arrived at about midnight to be told that our rooms were overbooked. Moved to a nearby alternative that was just satisfactory. Picked back up in the morning and taken back to hotel encounter. Breakfast OK but very, very slow.
Room in old section reasonable for the $25.
Good location and security but would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank robbotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights with my gf in 2 different rooms
Old tower was very poor
New tower was good
Ac was fine.
No Internet inside the room
Internet was very slow
Breakfast was extremely poor almost no variety.
But the room was clean and comfortable.
Hot showers was ok
Location is good

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Marwan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews