We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #24 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our trip to Nepal started from this hotel and I would say it wasn't a good first impression. The room seemed so old, and not that clean. However after staying for couple of days in Nepal you realize you need to manage your expectations. It won't be a 5-star vacation with the power-cuts, dogs barkings, dusty smoke everywhere, bad roads, etc ... However, it will be a memorable one once you see Mount Everest, mountain trekking, jungle safari, etc ..

The hotel is right in the heart of Kathmandu with the Thamel market in few steps away.
Staff are very friendly and helpful all the time. They do everything possible to keep the guests happy.
Breakfast is basic. nothing special.
Rooms big but seem old but clean in Nepal standards. The problem is that a school is quite close so very noisy during the day.
In general, I enjoyed my stay here and I would recommend it for those looking for good value for money in the heart of Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the opposite side of the school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mher F !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience at the end of your stay completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking.We will definitely try our best to make our rooms more valuable with adding extra amenities and necessary facilities.

Alternatively, thank you for liking hotel and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Encounter Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    235
    69
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
211
224
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Hotel is good for the travellers, including for the backpackers, not too expensive, clean and smiling people...excellent we are satisfied enough here....but guys, go make it better....,............. hotel encounter nepal

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wiendaparwitasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi wiendaparwitasari,

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for trusting and recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Encounter Nepal in the coming days.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. The Hotel Encounter Nepal was excellent. We were well looked after and the rooms were above my expectation. The service was good and the staff were very accommodating. They organized or trekking to Everest and the guide service. The office helped change our international flights and I have only compliments about their service. Mr. Lama went above and beyond to assist us and make our trip a memorable experience. I highly recommend the Hotel. Thanks to Narbin Magar for his expert guiding. He made our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rccrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear rccrowley !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned specially Mr Lama & Narbin Magar and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Love the staff at this hotel - quick to smile and help you out. Free pickup and deliver to the airport, one street away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel (favourite bazaar in the world), free breakfast (not the greatest but it is was it is!). Rooms were very nice with firm beds, spacious rooms and nice HOT showers. Keep in mind that this is Kathmandu - you are going to hear dogs barking most of the night so deal with it - ear plugs are essential and it does not matter which hotel your stay at. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ipartner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi ipartner48 !

We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. We are glad to know you like our spacious room ,shuttle service, free breakfast, hot shower and overall hospitality.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As an international filmmaker, I was happy to stay in Encounter Hotel.The service is grateful, the hotel stuff, specially the managers cared for all wishes, even special wishes. Also the rooms are nice, hot shower every time, air-condition, TV. Some of the rooms have grate view. I was very happy about the open kitchen/restaurant, which is perfect organized and all the food was excellent.So you can be shure to have a clean, a traditional and a well organized restaurant, which is very important in a city like Kathmandu. Also the location is quiet, not like in the middle of Thamels noisy area. In just a few minutes you are in the center of Thamel. Also the hotel have an current backup for the power.But if you come to Nepal, you better consider, that there are current losses which some times less possibilities for charging. This is normal in Nepal and its not the fault of the hotel.I spent there over 1 week, so it´s easy for me to get an overview about the Hotel organization.Also I booked my trekking with the Encounter and everything was fine. Also the prices. Everything was nice. I´ll come back.

Room Tip: Room 802, roof top next, good view, more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Globaltrekfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello !

Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, location, room,AC, hot shower, kitchen/restaurant and yes the friendly & helpful staffs and support of our hotel team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and all of us here sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Encounter Nepal on your next visit to Nepal.Thank you for a room tip, we appreciate it.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Encounter Nepal in April. The hotel is charming because of Mr.Pramod Gajurel . Ours room was great standards, but certainly much better than what I've come to expect abroad. There was still plenty of room for to navigate around the bed (queen-sized), a comfy corner desk with lots of counter space, a wardrobe-type closet, and a small, but quite functional, bathroom with shower. There were lots of little things, wall decorations, wooden floor , curtains, tile work in bathroom, that added up to quite a classy feel. Certainly not the college dormitory vibe I've had at other places.

Staff were excellent . Please dont miss Mr Pramod gajurel seemed very interested that ours stay be comfortable and helped me out several times with directions, few business information, recommending restaurants, etc. The breakfast is ample with many choices including several hot items (eggs, sausage, etc.).
Location is very convenient to.There is free WIFI that is so nice .Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PiyaratDuangthong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi PiyaratDuangthong,

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions. We are glad to know you like our hotel, room, bed,comfy corner desk, wardrobe-type closet,hot shower, wall decorations, wooden floor , curtains, tile work in bathroom and overall our helpful team. Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to Mr. Pramod Gajurel and all of them are so proud to hear about your review.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was recommended by my friend to me she loved it when she stayed here so out of curiosity when i visited nepal i insisted my other colleague friends to stay here and as expected amazing service foods are delicious staffs are friendly nice rooms satisfaction = 100%

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GLisa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear GLisa21 !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, foods, friendly & helpful staffs. We thank you for staying with us and believing us as you were recommended by your friend.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 198 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing