We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #28 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having been in nepal for 3 weeks for a motorcycling holiday, hotel encounter nepal has been an ideal base in which to relax inbetween trips. Thanks to all the staff for providing an excellent service and advice throughout my visits, clean rooms and the food was amazing! Will certainly be staying again on my next visit, cant recommend enough. Many thanks. Nick

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bobberts84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Encounter Nepal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a very peaceful stay at the Hotel Encounter Nepal, thank you Pramod Gajurel who is owner. Its 5 mins far away from center of Thamel and quite location and all staff were very friendly and deal with all of our needs. the rooms were immaculate and well presented. The food from the Kathmandu Grill Restaurant was great! room # 304 and can see view from the roof top is exceptional. I is highly recommended this hotel and if you need any information about Kathmandu and all Nepal tours, trek anything don't miss meet Pramod who owner of hotel, he is so kind person.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank สวยสั่งได้ ร
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel twice in a span of eight days. First time, we stayed in Building B. The second time, in Building A (newer wing). Building B rooms need a complete overhaul. They are dated, unkempt, with peeling coats of paint. The bathroom ceiling even has molds! Our room in Building A was a tad better, although it looks tired and unkempt as well. The bathroom needs a thorough cleaning too. I don't know why their wooden parquet floors can't be buffed clean and shinny - they are always dusty/dirty. If I do return to Kathmandu, I would look for a better hotel at the same price range.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I strongly recommend the Hotel Encounter Nepal and Mr. Pramod Gajurel, perfect for toutirst and business travelers. Its located in north part of Thamel. When I want peace and quiet, I step into the hotel magnificent garden and i am in another world like heaven. The rooms are comfortable and meticulously kept, open 24 hours The hotel service are outstanding. Any problem comes out please speak to Mr. Pramod Gajurel, the front desk manager who goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. Depending on your budget. Whatever room do you like, will be good value. They provides airport drop service too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank สมคิด เ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

hidden down a busy road in Thamel Kathmandu this hotel offers a peace of quiet. It has a kitchen that you can see into ensuring that the food is cooked to a good standard, the staff are friendly and look after you as best they can, quite often going out of their way to get you something.
The wifi signal has been boosted so that the majority of the rooms receive a signal however it is alway available in the reception lounge and outside in the garden resturant areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank skier092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed couple of days in at this hotel at that tym i have found family environment in this hotel. all staffs are friendly rooms are good with free wifi.they also help for travelling by providing good information so i m fully satsfied with service of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gajendrapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our second trip to Nepal, and since it was our wedding anniversary we decided to stay at a nicer place.
To our surprise it wasnt just nicer, it was absolutely fantastic. Great location(at the edge of Thamel), beautiful hotel with little garden and terrace where you have breakfast and any meal you want, surrounded by a lovely well kept garden.
All the staff were also absolutely lovely, from the security, the reception, bellboy, restaurant staff, and the management. To our absolute surprise they had made a absolutely stunning flower arrangement in our room, cover most surfaces with rose peddles and other flowers....
Also the rooms were spot on, very lovely indeed.
Also, we loved it so much after our trip to the mountains we stayed with them again before returning home.
Thanks again so much team Hotel Encounter, you made our stay a memorable one.
until next time.......
kind regards,
Till and Boom

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tillfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 207 in Kathmandu
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing