We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #29 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After we are arrived that get first impression with Mr.Pramod who is owner and his staff in reception as professional and fast to check in. 2 and day in here we get further information with Kathmandu and enjoy day trip with his company.
Thank you once again for good service and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sak_sak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I only stayed here for 3 nights and we both thought it was a lovely hotel. The security and service was most impressive. The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere outside, and the rooms were quite spacious. We only had a fan in our room to cool us down until we were upgraded to a room with A/C! We were extremely happy and it made such a difference.

We received helpful information on trekking, which was our prime reason for the trip, and felt extremely comfortable during our whole stay.

The only thing is that the hotel is just north of Thamel which made it hard to experience the nightlife and lovely restaurants. It took us around 10-15 minutes just to walk to the centre of Thamel, where we'd rather be in the action!

Overall a lovely and peaceful hotel with great ambience and excellent service!

Room Tip: A room with an A/C is more affective than a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ellsgapyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived Kathmandu airport all of us unhappy because many broker try to us cheat .Then we decided to take taxi and taxi driver took many hotel at THAMEL we did not like because non of hotel man deal with us gentel way .When had meet BOSS PRAMOD at HOTEL ENCOUNTET NEPAL .He deal good and we stay there 4 night and we did trip with him too all was great thank see you next trip bye.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cristain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Me and my friend are two Taiwanese women.
This is our first time arrive Nepal.

Though we don't have lot's of time,but we still decide to do the trekking.
which if we didn't go I will regret !

We make the all package with 4 days Trekking include the transport from Kathmendo to Pokhra.
And the hotels, all the meals (not include water)
They made as a really good arrange.
We enjoy a lot!

A specially the guide "Keshav Raj Amgai" he is so nice!
At first he looks quite shy and serious.
After one day,when we start to talk ,he is really a funny guy!
He take care us as princesses.
At the end we meet also his wife,and have a dinner together.

He made this trip more incredible!

Visited August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Shaofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First time to visit Nepal and we booked the Hotel Encounter Nepal because best location to go landmark of Kathandu. All staff with owner, Mr. Pramod just best service and helpful for us for further information in Nepal during us stay here. So we are booked day trip with them too. So we are recommend this hotel to stay. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank I-Aonant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating people especially the Owner- Mr. Raj Pandey. Cozy place and comfy as well. FREE WIFI! All over the hotel. Helpful staff and have a very nice chill area at the Garden. Simply good vibes in the middle of busy Thamel!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Comfy beds, spacious rooms, ensuite and air con, oh yes and a balcony with city views.

The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the main shopping road in Thamal - (turn right up the hill)

Excellent customer service and tasty food!

Good value for money - definitely give this one a try...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#27 of 210 in Kathmandu
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing