We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$138
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silver Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trekkers' Home(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
683
245
71
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
245
71
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskathmandu grillhot waterrecommend this hotelbeautiful gardenthe hotel managergarden restauranttravel deskgreat place to stayspecial thanksrooms are cleansecond homehome away from homevisit kathmanduthe hustle and bustlethamel areamrnepal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our hotel was clean and spacious,the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The only problems we had were the guard dogs in the school across the road. The hotel"s Tour Guide was just a little bit too keen; and you needed to cross a very busy road to access the tourist area at the top of the hill

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Its a very great pleasure to go Nepal for Tourism .
I have visited to travel 1st time foreign country other than India is NEPAL.
Its a very great n Excellent trip with the Help n Awesome package given by Hotel Encounter Ext Director
Mr PRAMOD GAJUREL .
He is the Great person who make a packages with very Reasonable price with 100% SATISFACTION n make the travellers to be life long momorable tour with Excellent work .

5 days trip to Nepal

First day
Airport to hotel Encounter ,
Kathmandu sight seen includes PASHUPATINATH temple + BUDDANATH temple +
SWAYABHUNATH in a personal car with a guide n Driver

Second Day
MOUNTAIN Flight at 6 am
It was a very great n awesome view to watch Himalyaas white mountains closely tooo goood
I love to watch again n aagain.

Kathmandu to POKHARA city by personal Car with guide n Driver app 210 km
With on the way great
awesome huge green mountain
& Large Rivers to be seen .
Stay in Hotel MIDDLE PATH lakeview side .

Third day
Pokhara sight seen includes
DEVIL'S FALL + GUPTESHEWE CAVE + BINDYA BASINI temple
+ SETI river gorge +
PAGODA Himalayaas mountain view by personal car with guide n Driver .
Stay in Hotel MIDDLE PATH .


Fouth day
SARANGKOTE SUNRISE
with beatiful mountain view to be watch n pokhara city view also.
CABLE CAR RIDE done
On the way to kathmandu
At night we reach to Hotel ENCOUNTER IN Thamel
Stay in it .

Fifth day
Shopping n lot of good things to be purchase in kathamandu Shopping mall n central market and
Finely at END of trip comes
DROP to AIRPORT from Hotel ENCOUNTER after completing
Lunch & best wishes n greetings from Hotel Staff &
Eapecially MR PRAMOD JAGUREL Sir.
Thank you sooo much for each everything n make me a momorable trip to Nepal .
I LOVE NEPAL :-)



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DrSyedYousufAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I were here for 3 days this week. We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not even a bit disappointed. This place is just amazing in all aspects. We stayed in Block A, top floor corner room. The view from our room balcony was superb. One could get a beautiful view of the fog covered mountains. The location is in Thamel Marg area which seems dingy with the initial look but the hotel is very simple and beautiful. Simple interiors. The rooms are neat, tidy and very comfortable. There are power cuts which are scheduled but that's the case with all the hotels in Nepal. You get good hot water facilities and clean bathrooms. I booked my room on phone and my booking was a confirmed one. The reception staff are very courteous and they respond to all queries. They are very helpful Nepali people. We were helped by Mr. Pramod who is the Director there and he also helped us in arranging our travel in and around Kathmandu and Pokhara. There is so much greenery in the portico that we will really feel relaxed looking around and hearing prayers and chats from an adjacent temple. The price seemed reasonable for the facilities that were provided.There is 24/7 free Wi-Fi. To sum up. A decent and good budget hotel for a comfortable stay. The staff in the hotel are so helpful that they will remain in your memories forever.

Room Tip: We got the top floor corner room whose balcony faced the valley and the Kathmandu city,
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank ArchanaVaidyanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

so i origanly came to katmandu without booking acommidation , came across this hotel witch i am happy to say has made my trip ! , the staff are warm and welcoming and go out of there way to help you as much as they can , the rooms are clean and basic but offers everything you need , a real tast of nepal culture , the prizes are fair and afordable , the location is great !!! and the director pramod is always around to help if you need anything eg trips or cars , trekking , rafting , jungle trips ect , you can look on his website ( black dimond experdition ) , would stay again , the food is great and the atmospher is wicked ! ,, will be visiting again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank jayde d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the hotel where i stayed for some days and i found very good and freindly environment in this hotel.all the staffs including the hotel managers and the receptionist they are very helpful and always be sure that whether the guest having their stay good or not.Also we can get the attached travel desk from where we can get alots of informations related with the adventurers activities.the kathmandu grill and the restaurent bar where i got good and the delicious food and also a hygeinic.all the travellers who comes to nepal i highly recomment this hotel for your safety and cool stay also recomment on the top floor room from where we can view a the hills and mountains.the Hotel do have beautiful garden with good atmosphere where we can stay over there for long time for being fresh.

Room Tip: Block A worth as you paid
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Ramana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews