We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel with the best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #29 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we have arrived this hotel through one guide which was very suitable according to our wish.we were given a good hotel with a good wifi and at the top floor for which I wanted to reccomend all the travellers.the service they provide always makes that your stay is going good.they do have their own restaurant kathmandu grill which provide a very good and delicious momo.all the manager including receptionist they are very helpfull and ready to provide their guest a good and appreciable service.24 hours security is also a good facility which they have in their hotel.rooms are alwayz clean atall every day they provide a cleaning service.overall including all the hotel facilities location its very perfect and highly recommend this hotel to all the travel lovers

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank arpit1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

excellent location near the market place.here we have stayed for couple of days with good environment and services.all staff and mangers are friendly and helpful.
They also do have travel desk from where we can get information about different activities.thye also provied good and delicious food from there resturant.
rooms are all good with good view and quite environment.so we were very pleased to all the staff n whole entire family of hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Slakhotia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is really nice, it s in the center of Kathmandu with a great view on the city. I had a room with a huge balcony. Each minute the panorama changes due to the moving clouds. The service was excellent.

I did an amazing 5 days trip to the Annapurna National park inclusive wild water rafting and hiking to the altitude of 3000-4000m. My trekking guide Keshav Raj Amgai did an excellent job. Very reliable guy, I can recommend him as tour guide.

The Annapurna National park is one of the most beautiful and impressive places I have ever been. It s worth to be visited by everyone, who likes to connect holiday with hiking and adventure. Keshav payed attention that we could make the perfect photos and that not too many leaches bite us.

Both the hotel and the trekking guide can be recommended to everyone for having great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hardy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a delightful, is not small and big it is middle hotel of a high standard with its own big green garden restaurant . It is away from the noise of the small town .
The owner Pramod Gajurel and staff are kind and generous. I particularly appreciated being assisted to make me happy all days when i was at hotel encounter so i give lots of thank to Pramod Gajurel he is such imagine person we never get like this person .The hotel is well located and the staff is very friendly and helpful. they gave us tips on what to do and where to go in the Nepal , Pramod helped us booking trips trekking and so many day tours and everything else we needed . Bedrooms are big, beds are extremely comfortable, bathrooms are clean. And the food is amazing! Loved the idea of having breakfast . Highly recommend staying with them!

Room Tip: higher floor room no 402 is great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank sandra e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my wife booked Hotel Encounter for a brief visit to Nepal - this hotel is right in the middle of Thamel and has a absolutely great view from the room - The owner of the Hotel, Mr Pramod Gajurel personally caters to your plans and practically helps you out with every single thing - The hotel room is nice, cozy and neat - although the power cut is a menace in the whole of Nepal. Ask for any kind of help from Pramod and he'll help you out in every way I can.
We found the hotel staff always smiling and that just brightened up our stay :)

Room Tip: Try to get the room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ydntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our hotel was clean and spacious,the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The only problems we had were the guard dogs in the school across the road. The hotel"s Tour Guide was just a little bit too keen; and you needed to cross a very busy road to access the tourist area at the top of the hill

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Its a very great pleasure to go Nepal for Tourism .
I have visited to travel 1st time foreign country other than India is NEPAL.
Its a very great n Excellent trip with the Help n Awesome package given by Hotel Encounter Ext Director
Mr PRAMOD GAJUREL .
He is the Great person who make a packages with very Reasonable price with 100% SATISFACTION n make the travellers to be life long momorable tour with Excellent work .

5 days trip to Nepal

First day
Airport to hotel Encounter ,
Kathmandu sight seen includes PASHUPATINATH temple + BUDDANATH temple +
SWAYABHUNATH in a personal car with a guide n Driver

Second Day
MOUNTAIN Flight at 6 am
It was a very great n awesome view to watch Himalyaas white mountains closely tooo goood
I love to watch again n aagain.

Kathmandu to POKHARA city by personal Car with guide n Driver app 210 km
With on the way great
awesome huge green mountain
& Large Rivers to be seen .
Stay in Hotel MIDDLE PATH lakeview side .

Third day
Pokhara sight seen includes
DEVIL'S FALL + GUPTESHEWE CAVE + BINDYA BASINI temple
+ SETI river gorge +
PAGODA Himalayaas mountain view by personal car with guide n Driver .
Stay in Hotel MIDDLE PATH .


Fouth day
SARANGKOTE SUNRISE
with beatiful mountain view to be watch n pokhara city view also.
CABLE CAR RIDE done
On the way to kathmandu
At night we reach to Hotel ENCOUNTER IN Thamel
Stay in it .

Fifth day
Shopping n lot of good things to be purchase in kathamandu Shopping mall n central market and
Finely at END of trip comes
DROP to AIRPORT from Hotel ENCOUNTER after completing
Lunch & best wishes n greetings from Hotel Staff &
Eapecially MR PRAMOD JAGUREL Sir.
Thank you sooo much for each everything n make me a momorable trip to Nepal .
I LOVE NEPAL :-)



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DrSyedYousufAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#26 of 210 in Kathmandu
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing