We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best garden of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #28 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Encounter is one of the nicest hotels in Thamel. It's hidden from the rush and noise of the Kathmandu craziness. Has a very nice garden, with lots of flowers and big evergreens, a place for butterflies and midafternoon refreshments.
I would strongly recommend Encounter to those who strive for an oasis in a big chaotic life of Kathmandu valley. Good prices, free wi-fi and friendly stuff, along with good food of the garden restaurant will leave you highly satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Encounter Nepal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

I arrived at the airport and went to the stand that said Hotels. The guy behind the desk showed me pictures of a nice room with emergency back up lights. I paid for one night. i arrived at the Hotel, and I was given a dump of a room, with no emergency lighting. When i showed the Manager later no refund or deduction was offered. In fact i was told that i was lucky to have such a room. The food and drinks were expensive, in the Hotel restaurant. There is both the 23% service charge plus the 10% tax charge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mouse074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My dear friends, if you want to find a good place to stay in Kathmandu, I recommend you the Hotel Encounter, in the heart of the city, not far from many interesting places. We guests, like the not really noisy places, it is a quiet hotel with a very nice polite staff especcially Sujan, the very perfect hotelmanager, he is always ready to help you. Good tiny rooms, very good kitchen, nice garden and friendly staff. My husband and his friends spent 3 weeks in Nepal in April 2010, everything was perfectly organised, the staff gave them a lot of good advice how to manage the best trip. In the mountains they were very satisfied with the sherpa Shankar. They want to return to Kathmandu next year also even may be every year! Katalin Peter and friends

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doktorkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

It was a good trip, and we all really enjoyed our stay in Encounter Nepal and the arrangements Mr Sujan made for us during our stay was excellent. Thanks to Sujan and his team. Also, extend my thanks to his Boss and his family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fgfdgdfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, owner at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2010

Thank you so much for staying with us and visiting Nepal, you have such a great family and specially your children are cute. As you know our place is not high endfacilities but trying to possess the nepalies cultures and hospitatlity. From your suggestive suggestions and comments it always keep us higher and higher.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I found this hotel ideally located for my four day trip to Kathmandu from Dubai. I could walk to all my preferred destinations such as pubs, museum and the local shops.
The hotel staff were superb and responded to my every need and even cooked my breakfast eggs and bacon to my receipe. Sajun, the front desk manager, sat down with me after I had breakfast and gave me ideas where to visit and also assisted me with plans and visa for my next trip which is to Tibet.
The staff confirmed my return flight to Dubai and provided transport for me to the airport.
I am a budget traveller, next time I go to Nepal (March 2011) I will be staying with my friends at the Encounter Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackleaskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

First encounter with the hotel in 2003 ther after we have been back 4 times. This will without doubt asy how much we love the place. As we approach the hotel from the main road it doen't give you any impression about the place. Once you enter the court ward...the whole feeling changes.You are like in a different world, peaceful, quiet and very warm welcoming with the beautiful colourful flower court yard.You will be feeling very well at home.
This place is wonderful, lovely and friendly staffs, helpful and they make you feel at home.The service is excellant, room are spacious and clean.It is only a stone throw away from Thamel where all the shopping are located.
The dinning room provide a good 3 square meals and they are reasonable in price.There is also a trekking service where they can organise wahtever activities you want to do in Kathmandu.
With all that above where else you want to stay i Kathmandu but to be Home Away From Home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

we arrived one evening and immediately felt at home. The fire and the staff were very welcoming. Our room had everything we needed and great views of the city. Very convenient for restaurants and shops. The hotel provided lots of information on local tourist attractions and maps of how to get there. Day trips and the treks could be booked from the hotel as well as international ticket bookings.

My kids had the time of their life and didn't want to leave. we all made friends and met other travellers we have stayed in touch with since. we will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dotlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, Owner at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Thank you so much for your experince review of Hotel Encounter Nepal. As a owner of this property, I am honor to you and your family who has given this oppertunity to share your experince with us. Yes! nothing is 100% perfect this world, but we continuously upgreading services, hospitality, aminities and infact the way our clients feel " Home Away From Home". We want to give you the best value for what you paid and Nealese Hospitalies with personalised service, this is only possible through your suggestive comments and suggestion. Thank you agian and I look forward to see your friends, family and fellow travellers who are willing to Visit this This Himalaya Country of Nepal. Thank you. SP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 207 in Kathmandu
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing