We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel!”
Review of Hotel Shambala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shambala
Ranked #25 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked and stayed for 2 nights and was impressed with the decor and nicely layout rooms. The room is large and well equipped and internet connection is fast. The only problem is the complicated logging procedures needed with a voucher with complicated 10 digits which is valid only for 24 hours even though you are staying for 2 days.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Ala Carte dinner was good. Wide selection of local and international food. My Chinese client asked for a chopsticks but there was none in the hotel. Given the growing number of Asian visitors and a Chinese menu, the hotel should consider having some chopsticks. Breakfast spread is average but more than sufficient.
The sky pool is good for soaking and a wonderful view of the city.
Will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank LeatherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went there for to use the Cloud 9 pool and the view from the top is truly beautiful. Downside is that it's small and only 3 ft deep. However, I took my 3 year-old niece with me and it was perfect for children. The spa is probably the best one I've been to in Kathmandu. The food there is really good, a little pricey, but you're paying for the view. The ground floor restaurant is amazing too. Didn't stay there overnight but I reckon the rooms were just as good as everything else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank prekshaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenzinLama, Sales and Marketing Associate at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Prekshaali,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Hotel Shambala.

We are happy to learn that you and your niece had a perfect time at the infinity pool on the 8th floor. I couldn’t agree with you more as our Infinity Pool and our Ayatana Spa is two of the major highlights of our property.

I would definitely suggest you for a night stay over and experience it. I am sure it wouldn’t disappoint.

We look forward to welcoming you in near future.

Warmest Regards,
Tenzin Dorjee Lama/ Mr.
Sales and Marketing Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a lovely corner room. This room was large an could accommodate 2 adults and our 2 children aged 7 and 5. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our children loved the pool on the roof and it was a great way to spend a day of sightseeing. If you have children i would definitely recommend this! Very relaxing stay.
Restaurant staff were accommodating and even brought desert to the room for us

Room Tip: Corner room for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Angie F,

Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Shambala.

We’re delighted to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We do aim to make all our guests happy especially the guests with children.

Kathmandu can be a hectic city, and we’re glad you were able to relax with us.

Until next time!

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience staying at hotel shambala. The people are so sweet and the rooms are amazing. They have the most comfortable beds ever. And the view from the roof top infinity pool is great!!!
All in all more than a satisfactory stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nikita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Nikita D,

Thank you for your review on Hotel Shambala.

We pay the upmost attention to ensure our rooms are comfortable and beautiful. We also aim to provide the highest levels of service through our staff.

Your feedback is important and we are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay.

Until next time,

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Katmandu can be crazy!
This brand new hotel is located a never more than a$5 cab ride from everything, the guard made sure we did not overpay for the cab talking to the driver in advance Very nice tibetian style decor, but the staff was the best,always a big hello when returning from sightseeing. The WiFi was fast, had a great view of the city, and at night it was wonderful on the roof deck. The rooms are very clean and extra pillows,blankets at the touch of the phone.
We liked the restaurant, the staff very friendly,the buffet breakfast was better than most and you could order eggs or omlet, we ate most of our meals there it was good safe food , they always had a great desert availability, the prices were very reasonable.
We were there for 5 days and then after Tibet returned for 2 more , it was like visiting family the staff really were nice and the restaurant remembered our favorites.
I would rate this hotel very high on the value list, with very comfortable beds, and a great staff, it is not a Ritz, but as Katmandu goes I think most people would be very happy there.we were on an adventure and the hotel fit the adventure to a tee , we got much more than expected , stay there be happy
One more thing they finally paved the road out front.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NonsmokerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi NonsmokerJef,

Thank you for your excellent and entertaining review of Hotel Shambala! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

You mentioned some of the main things that we focus and value here at Hotel Shambala, namely good food, pleasant surroundings and most importantly friendly and efficient service.

Thanks for pointing out that the road out front has been paved well. It was an inconvenience for a while, but we’re glad it’s over.

It’s been a pleasure serving you,
Best regards,

Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a new hotel, beautifully designed and finished in Tibetan style and everything is in great order. The infinity pool on the roof is a real treat - a wonderful place to observe the clouds, mountains and city of Kathmandu - the pool is very popular though, so I had to pick my times to enjoy it in peace. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they really can't do enough to help (although sometimes follow-through is not perfect, and meals can take a long time from ordering till arrival at the table). My room was clean and large, wonderful view (I asked for a higher floor and was put on the 6th, which was great), clean and good quality linen, bathroom well equipped - the window between the bathroom and the bedroom is a special touch - you can enjoy the view even while showering! The first two nights there was a turndown service, not sure what happened the last night but not a problem. On my last morning, as it was raining, I treated myself at the attached spa, which I also recommend (not cheap but good value). A couple of minor things - I expected a fridge in my room for the price but there was not one (tea and coffee are provided though). Also the location is a bit out of the way, which I was aware of so this was not a surprise. The plus of this is that it is in a quiet and non-touristy area (I preferred not to stay in Thamel). The downside is having to get taxis to go anywhere, even for a meal, but I knew that when I booked, so not a problem for just a few days. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Shambala.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Di K,

Thanks for your kind review of Hotel Shambala.

Yes, the swimming pool is proving to be a very popular venue and the weather is just right for it! Thanks for bringing to attention the excellent quality of the room and its amenities. We pay special attention to the high quality of all the amenities that furnish our rooms. As a new hotel, we are also working on upgrading some of the other rooms with a mini bar as well.

We do appreciate your feedback.

It has been a pleasure serving you and we do hope you return.

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff at this hotel are truly lovely... They would do anything to help you. The hotel is modern and the facilities very good. Rooms are nicely appointed and the beds are very comfortable. In particular,the view from the rooftop pool is great. The breakfast, which was included with our room, was the standard buffet style but not expected to mark for star hotels. The location is good although not in the center of things, you will need to take a car to go anywhere. The only downside was the wifi, which was frustratingly slow, weak and kept dropping. Some times u don't have hot water, if you will be regular guest. no importance has given even to arrange a bath soap and changing towels. as well as u will be shocked in pricing for room service than having in same restaurant.

if u want good service, stay away. But if u want pleasant people and good hotel except service choose shambala. Also, be prepared to ruin your special days and occasion with people telling you what to eat. Also, if u are with kids, strictly avoid.

I strongly not recommend any more this star hotel for price and facilities provided and negligence of arranging wash room & room service and you will receive surpirse questions that missing towels & laudry bags. you even dont know when they arranged for you and is it there are missing

Room Tip: yark & yaki and annapurna is good in kathmandu with same price with best facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Sushanth R,

Thank you for your feedback on Hotel Shambala.

I would like to apologise for your unpleasant experience with during your stay here. We take your feedback on the wif-fi issues seriously and are currently in the process of upgrading our IT infrastructure to provide a faster, more reliable wi-fi access for all our guests.

As a regular guest, we hoped to you would have informed our front desk staff immediately regarding any of those issues so that we could have addressed them during your stay.

We sincerely apologise for your unfortunate experience with us and hope you return and stay with us so that we can change your opinion of our hotel.

Best regards,
Tseten Tsatultsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#70 of 209 in Kathmandu
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#20 of 209 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shambala

Address: Bansbari Road | Near Narayan Gopal Chowk, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu 44606, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shambala 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shambala is a contemporary Tibetan themed boutique hotel in Kathmandu, Nepal that offers unparalleled comfort and luxury with the best of Tibetan and Nepalese hospitality. Each of the rooms have been beautifully designed and luxuriously furnished to make each stay a comfortable one. All rooms come equipped with en-suite bathrooms with complimentary herbal toiletries, individually controlled air-conditioners, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, LED TV with cable channels and tea/coffee making facilitiesThe in house restaurant, Erma cafe offers a range of Continental and Asian cuisines prepared by our experienced chefs. The cafe offers both indoor and outdoor dining options by the garden and waterfall bar. For light snacks and beverages in an exclusive environment, guests are welcome to enjoy the serene ambiance of the roof top lounge- Cloud 9. Signature cocktails and alcoholic beverages are available through the bar.Health and wellness facilities include a beautiful roof-top swimming pool and a full spa offering range of body therapy sessions, massages and facials. Conference facilities and other business services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing