We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shambala
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
US$42
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$137
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$13
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$130
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
292
150
21
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
150
21
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrooftop barexcellent facilitiesexcellent hotela short taxi ridemy home away from homethe ground floorfront officerestaurant staffbreakfast buffeta great place to staycomfortable bedsan oasiscomfortable staykathmandu valleyhot waterspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

What a find amid the hustle and bustle of the city. True tranquility awaits you. The Shambala is modern yet maintains a traditional charm. The rooms are spacious and our one on floor 7 had stunning views of the mountains. But wow! The infinity pool on the rooftop was fantastic with a vista to die for. What really makes the place though is the staff who are warm, courteous and friendly. Going back next week for 5 nights and can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenzinLama, Sales and Marketing Associate at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear EdwardMC,

Thank you so very much for your raving review of Hotel Shambala.

We take a lot of pride and heart in serving all our guest and ensure they will have a great collection of memorable experiences. We are over-whelmed by your wonderful feedback.

Should you plan for a trip back, we hope you will refresh your experience again with us as we look forward to serving you.

Untill next time!

Warm Regards,
Tenzin Dorjee Lama / Mr.
Sales and Marketing Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked and stayed for 2 nights and was impressed with the decor and nicely layout rooms. The room is large and well equipped and internet connection is fast. The only problem is the complicated logging procedures needed with a voucher with complicated 10 digits which is valid only for 24 hours even though you are staying for 2 days.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Ala Carte dinner was good. Wide selection of local and international food. My Chinese client asked for a chopsticks but there was none in the hotel. Given the growing number of Asian visitors and a Chinese menu, the hotel should consider having some chopsticks. Breakfast spread is average but more than sufficient.
The sky pool is good for soaking and a wonderful view of the city.
Will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank LeatherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went there for to use the Cloud 9 pool and the view from the top is truly beautiful. Downside is that it's small and only 3 ft deep. However, I took my 3 year-old niece with me and it was perfect for children. The spa is probably the best one I've been to in Kathmandu. The food there is really good, a little pricey, but you're paying for the view. The ground floor restaurant is amazing too. Didn't stay there overnight but I reckon the rooms were just as good as everything else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank prekshaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenzinLama, Sales and Marketing Associate at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Prekshaali,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Hotel Shambala.

We are happy to learn that you and your niece had a perfect time at the infinity pool on the 8th floor. I couldn’t agree with you more as our Infinity Pool and our Ayatana Spa is two of the major highlights of our property.

I would definitely suggest you for a night stay over and experience it. I am sure it wouldn’t disappoint.

We look forward to welcoming you in near future.

Warmest Regards,
Tenzin Dorjee Lama/ Mr.
Sales and Marketing Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a lovely corner room. This room was large an could accommodate 2 adults and our 2 children aged 7 and 5. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our children loved the pool on the roof and it was a great way to spend a day of sightseeing. If you have children i would definitely recommend this! Very relaxing stay.
Restaurant staff were accommodating and even brought desert to the room for us

Room Tip: Corner room for space
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Angie F,

Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Shambala.

We’re delighted to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We do aim to make all our guests happy especially the guests with children.

Kathmandu can be a hectic city, and we’re glad you were able to relax with us.

Until next time!

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience staying at hotel shambala. The people are so sweet and the rooms are amazing. They have the most comfortable beds ever. And the view from the roof top infinity pool is great!!!
All in all more than a satisfactory stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nikita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tseten T, Marketing Director at Hotel Shambala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Nikita D,

Thank you for your review on Hotel Shambala.

We pay the upmost attention to ensure our rooms are comfortable and beautiful. We also aim to provide the highest levels of service through our staff.

Your feedback is important and we are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay.

Until next time,

Kind regards,
Tseten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews