We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference & Accommodation for regional workshop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #83 of 206 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Although it may be located approximately 15km from town, which takes almost an hour to get to while the road is under construction, it is definitely worth the effort it takes to get to this resort. Located in the foothills of the Shivapuri mountain, this resort caters for up to 180 people and offers exceptional facilities with a range of conference rooms to fit your specific needs. The jewel in the crown however is the staff, they made our stay a pleasure and catered for our every need with a gentle reminder that anything we asked for wasn't a problem. For those of you who want to taste local cuisine they offer a menu that is delicious and will cater for a range of preferences from Halal to western dishes. I highly recommend this venue for corporate functions, it not only offers an exceptional service but offers comfortable accommodation and clean air with breath-taking views. As you can tell... I truly enjoyed my time here. Shame I couldn't take advantage of the yoga and meditation but I enjoyed their generous hospitality and support instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC in February, it is quite chilly in the evenings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDuvigneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Village H, Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Park Village Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We hope to host you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Park Village Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed there for a night in December 2013. The restaurant is good. The rooms are good, but it is very cold as there is standalone heater in each room. The windows have lots of openings, so the heaters don't make sense at all.

If you have old ppl staying, ask for rooms closeby to the reception, else you have to walk long to get to the room.

This is a good place if you are looking for a traditional government guest house hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srividhya_umashanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

we booked two rooms during our stay here:
A standard room at Nalanda Wing & a Deluxe/Super deluxe room at Hamilton.

Couldn't fault the Hamilton deluxe room - it was like being back home- nice, clean, comfortable, warm. If there was one problem - it was the cold longish walk back to the room from the lobby on a cold, dark night. Though i imagine in warmer weather it would make a beautiful, refreshing walk. Also the deluxe room prices are a little steep.

The Nalanda room on the other hand was just your basic budget accommodation. Fairly clean though there were old stains in the bathroom, shower curtains-not cleaned and dust behind the couch. Not warm enough during cold nights even though heaters are provided. Would recommend that you take the deluxe room as after a day out in kathmandu valley you would want a warm, relaxing place to unwind.

Location :
Bad roads from the airport to the hotel : lots of potholes making it a very slow, bumpy ride which added to the already congested traffic made the trip from the airport an estimated one hour to an hour 15mins. The roads are under construction at the moment though once done up - the journey should only take 30mins. i did check with the locals - and the entire kathmandu appears to be under road construction with an estimated 2 years to completion.
Otherwise the hotel is located in a fairly peaceful, quiet area at the foot of a park. But it is far from city center. City center is where all the shopping, night life and restaurants are. Once again the road condition made the trip to city center much longer : 30 -40mins.

Hotel restaurant :
breakfast was a small affair but decent, buffet was good, a la carte menu had an overall good review from us-mainly the briyani, chicken shaslik. price is reasonable.

Spa :
tried the spa at the hotel - price was reasonable. massage was average-good. but gosh the massage rooms were cold. was shivering after the massage even though there were heaters and a blanket over you but it was not warm enough and i couldn't wait to layer up my clothes. also would recommend that you book earlier (at least an hour) as they do not have in-house massage therapist stationed there for walk-in clients and will have to call around to find out where and which therapist are free at that time. But they do have english-speaking therapist

Overall if i were to head back to Kathmandu : i may try a hotel closer to city center for shopping, variety of walking distance restaurants and nightlife, but if i were to decide on a retreat i may return to this hotel but this time will only take the deluxe room and probably visit during warmer weather to enjoy the resort and the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AcrossContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Its a perfect hotel to have a relaxing time after a day filled with Neplai adventure. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent and buffet has many varieties ranging from Indian to Italian cuisines.
The hotel is far from main city and with current condition of road it took us about an hour to reach to places like Thamil and Darbar square.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenukaSaroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a quite nice place on the outskirts of Kathmandu. You need a taxi ride to the city. It consists of a nice green park with some cottages and bigger buildlings. Overall quality is 2-3 star. Mattress was a bit hard.
Staff is friendly but not overly qualified, so don't expect a lot of help if you need help beyond the usual.
I had also a lot of noise every morning because just outside the perimeter of the place some big trucks started their engines every morning and made a lot of noise. But this was particular to my room and neighbouring ones, this should not be the case in most rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Kathmandu is chaotic, noisy, dirty, but alive with friendly people, colour and interest. At the end of a day of sight-seeing or travel, Park Village Hotel is a blissful escape. The grounds are extensive, as is the range of apartment options. Ours was comfortable and air conditioned with a balcony overlooking beautiful gardens full of trees, shrubs, and manicured lawns. We booked through an agency on a deal with upgrade elements. When we arrived, we, nor the reception checked the details, so initially we were not offered what we booked. When we discovered this, they changed our room without any fuss or argument. The meals in the restaurant are good value, so don't worry about 5* prices, they are not. Staff are helpful, and pleasant. As with most hotels in the Indian sub-continent, the room services can be a bit tired. Be prepared for the missing plug, or the very slow supply of warm/hot water to bath or shower

Room Tip: Pay the extra for air-conditioned room as these are newer and better equipped.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank true2formal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A former palace retreat now used to allow visitors to Kathmandu to spend time in a beautiful setting, with a beautiful pool and possibly the best vegetarian buffet I've ever eaten, just delightful! Many room choices and options, the bungalows were very nice, clean, bright and airy. Enjoy the grounds.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 206 in Kathmandu
395 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Norling Hotel's Resort Country Club & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 206 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 206 in Kathmandu
1,099 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 206 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 206 in Kathmandu
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Village Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 21218 | Budanil-Kantha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#30 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £59 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Village Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Village Hotel is managed by the famous KGH Group. PVH is located at Budhnilkantha area, which is situated at the northwest rim of the Kathmandu valley. It lies at the foothills of the Shivapuri National Park, which is designated as the most important water-shed-catchments area that feeds pure drinking water to millions. Park Village is the first resort hotel open in Budhanilkantha region which is only 15 minutes drive from crowded downtown Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Village Hotel Kathmandu
Park Village Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing