We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Supportive”
Review of Fuji Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fuji Hotel
Ranked #48 of 458 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Stayed there at the end of a GAP trip just for three nights, but because of the Volcano stayed another week. As Mother and daughter travelling alone and suddenly finding ouselves having to cope with an extended stay at our own expense we were a little approhensive but we could not have asked for more support from the hotel owner and his professional staff. They found us a room at a very good (discounted) rate, it was small but spotlessly clean and bright, even had a balcony. They constantly checked we were ok, helped us with visa problems and even provided free internet access on the owners laptop which he put in the reception for the guests to use.

As the days went on and we were running out of things to do (on the cheap!) they arranged for us to visit a local orphanage and a school so that we could see more of real life in Nepal.

The food was good, the garden room and the rooftop terrace were lovely. and the staff were wonderful. They have their own generator, which is very useful, and solar panels for the water.

We will certainly return and would recommend the hotel to any traveller who wants very good value for money in a clean and safe environment.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dressage1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed at Hotel Fuji 3 times and will go back again soon. The staff is great, the rooms are so nice. My favorite are the bathtub rooms. When you arrive in Thamel after your long flight and airport experience, Hotel Fuji makes you feel welcome and makes sure you have everything you need. One time after a long journey, I was about to fall over I was so tired. The staff rushed all my things up to the room, got me checked in quick, got me fed, and off to sleep---It was bliss! The hotel is a little way out of the noise and crowd, but near everything. There is an internet shop close by, small store, and restaurants, shopping.
Hi Guys! ----Amrita

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeilDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Starting hotel for GAP tour. Asked for a quiet room as my wife had been ill. Got a nice room. In a quiet non-through street. Confectionary and shopping close by. Down a quiet lane,right on the edge of the three main streets of Thamel. Well located without the bustle and honking of Thamel. Room was beautiful and large, must just have been redone. Staff was courteous. Only stayed one night and was off with the tour group the following day. A step up from the Blue Horizon previously commented on but at double the cost or more. Can't go wrong choosing this one if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bstarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

What a great hotel, and especially great staff. It's on a quieter little street directly adjacent to the hustle and bustle of Thamel's core, easy walk to anywhere. You can enjoy the best sunrises in Thamel from the rooftop - not to be missed! It's where I'll stay if i'm ever in Thamel again.

Stayed: November 2009
Thank smartlikeafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I stayed here for two nights as the finish of a group tour. The hotel was a pleasant surprise, the staff was helpful and it was nice and clean. It is not a luxury hotel, but a very good budget choice at a good location. Would definately go back.

Only minus was that the hotel apparently didn't have a generator, which is somewhat annoying as power cuts are frequent in Kathmandu -power cuts are even scheduled(!).

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebennike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I checked into this hotel with my tour group and was surprised to find such luxury. It's no Hilton, but it was really clean, nice furnishings and welcoming. There's a nice relaxation area in the lobby and a courtyard to have drinks and I presume food.
The only problem was that my room was on the 4th floor and there is no elevator in this hotel. That was a real problem, as no one offered to take my bags either.
The room had hot water, comfy beds, a television with lots of English channels and was spacious. It was a little noisy with some building work outside, but nothing like the noise you get a few streets on in Thamel. At least this stopped at night!
I didnt have to deal with the staff much but they seemed friendly. I had another hotel booked for the rest of my stay but kind of wish I'd stayed here for the duration now as it seemed consistantly good across the board.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koala_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

The Fuji Hotel is a hidden gem among the hustle and bustle of the Thamel district. It is tucked away off a quiet alley but within a few minutes walk, you can be among the many restaurants and shops of the friendly, tourist area.

The owner, Pradeep, was very friendly. Him and his staff were always willing to go the extra mile to help out.

The rooms were comfortable and had the nicest bathrooms of any hotel on my trip. The hotel also has hot water, heat, and A/C.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kweg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#29 of 207 in Kathmandu
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Hotel Holy Himalaya
#51 of 207 in Kathmandu
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#28 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jay Suites
Hotel Jay Suites
#24 of 207 in Kathmandu
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#36 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji Hotel

Address: Jyatha, Thamel | P.O. Box 6209, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuji Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 years of excellence, Fuji Hotel, located in Kathmandu, is famous for comfort, cleanliness, modern amenities, and our friendly, professional staff. A family-run hotel, you can truly feel at home when you are here: it is your home away from your home. Fuji Hotel was formerly known as Fuji Guest House, when it was upgraded in 2007 to a three-star hotel with a newly-built, annexed building, but with the same management. The a new annex includes Super Deluxe and Deluxe rooms with TV and the added comfort of air conditioning. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned, bright, and the corridors are wide and airy. The Suites offers spacious rooms with an attached kitchenette furnished with all the modern amenities. We also have standard rooms. The restaurant, serving continental and Asian food, opens out to the garden restaurant and can seat up to 40 people. For groups or families seeking privacy, a separate section has been designed, yet it lies within the restaurant. A rooftop garden boasts a fascinating 360-degree panoramic view of the city and Swayambhunath on the hilltop. The rooftop especially perfect as the hotel is situated in the center of city. It serves as the ideal place to relax. A meeting hall with a seating capacity of 30 people is also available. Other amenities include airport pick-ups, Safety Deposit Box and Free Information on Travels & Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fuji Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing