We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice example of Nepalese hospitality”
Review of Hotel Mi Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casa
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a nice example of Nepalese hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Mi Casa end of May for 2 nights and were very happy with this choice: it's calm (although in the centre of Thamel), clean and most importantly Romario (the owner) and his wife are very attentive to their customers' well-being. After our trip around nepal we returned to thamel for half a day before going to the airport, and dropped at Mi Casa to leave our bags for a few hours. Romario & his wife invited us for tea, and spent lots of time with us asking about our trip, discussing about our experience and impressions. By the way; Romario is a seasoned hiking guide and can give you good advice you in case needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Dear Guest,
Namaste!
Thank you for such a glowing review of your recent stay at Mi Casa! We wish to be able to host your stay again, please know that Mi Casa is your home away from home if you ever visit Kathmandu again! Thank you, With kind regards
Hotel Micasa TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    44
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
60
168
105
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friends and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mi Casa. Apart from its excellent location and rooms, the best part of this hotel is the owner Ramiro and his staff. With his past experience as a travel agent, Ramiro organised a detailed itinerary for us to see the most of Nepal with the time we had there. He booked everything for us, e.g. hotels, driver, trekking guide, paragliding, rafting. The driver and trekking guide were as friendly and helpful as Ramiro.

As we returned to Kathmandu for the last night in Nepal, Ramiro even cooked us a Nepali dinner for farewell! Such experience truly made us feel like home. Even after we checked out on the last day, Ramiro let a friend who had caught a bad cold to rest in a hotel room for free.

You will not be able to get the kind of hospitality you can get in Hotel Mi Casa even if you pay tones in one of the big hotel brands out there. Strongly recommend this place in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Dear Guest,
Namaste!
Thank you for such a glowing review of your stay at Mi Casa! We wish to be able to host your stay again, please know that Mi Casa is your home away from home if you ever visit Kathmandu again! Thank you, With kind regards
Hotel Micasa TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is our first time in Nepal, didn’t really plan our trip at all before flying in but only a rough plan of the location we shall be staying. We spent our first 2 nights and last night at Mi Casa, is very sweet and home like, fill with warm and vibrate colours that really lighten up our moods during this monsoon season. The staff were extremely helpful and smiley as always. They serve this fruit Plata before our main breakfast arrivals which gives a fresh start of the day. Hot water for showers and free safe drinking water are available. No worries if you haven’t done the detail planning before you fly off, the hotel owner is extremely knowledgeable in this field, he helped us a lot with our planning, and we would not have seen this much if it weren’t him. He even made me “magic potion” for my upset stomach! I wasn’t sure if it was my medicine or his potion that worked, lol. But truly I would return to Mi casa if I were to travel back to Nepal again. Such Wonderful people, as well as the food, and not to mention is just right next to the souvenir street.

Room Tip: Room Everest is sooooooo niceeeeeee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 16 September 2015
Dear guest,
Namaste from Mi Casa,
Thank you for your feedback and your stay.
It was a great pleasure for us to host your stay and we hope that we will have this opportunity again!

Thank you,
With kind regards,
Sylvia & Ramiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located in Thamel, just outside the main tourist street in a quiet alley. There was no noise at all, which was quite surprising as Kathmandu is a pretty chaotic city. The hotel is new and the rooms are very beautiful and cosy. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is absolutely delicious!! The staff was very friendly and always at our service. If you go traveling to a different destination for a few days they can keep you luggage until you come back. Ramiro, the owner, is a very friendly guy, always there to help you. He has a travel agency and can give you suggestions for places you can visit. He can also arrange it for you. However, do some research beforehand. Visiting nearby sites is very easy and doesn't require much prior arrangements other than booking a hotel and hiring a cab to take you there, so you can arrange it much cheaper yourself. There are many places to visit nearby and the distances between each are very short. If you prefer somebody else to arrange it for you, then Ramiro is your guy. He can give you great suggestions on what to do and where to go during your stay.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor would probably be better as 1st floor windows overlook the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aninikable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Aninikable,
Thank you for your beautiful review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mi Casa!
We are always trying our best to make each of our guests stay enjoyable and comfortable.
And are the most happy when we are able to do so!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mi Casa!

Best wishes,
Ramiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my husband really enjoyed our stay in Mi Casa. This place is a tranquil place in the middle of noisy and dusty Kathmandu...

As a woman, cleanliness of the room is very important. This place has a good standard for cleanliness.

Overall, It feels like home, the owners are like your parents whom always taking care of your needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayaharoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mayaharoen,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank so much for sharing your thoughts about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
Greatly appreciated!

We are so happy that you felt we were your home during your stay in Kathmandu.

My wife takes the cleanliness part very seriously and she is so happy to hear the feedback that we have a good standard for cleanliness.

It was a pleasure to be able to have both of you here!
Please do come back one day!

Best wishes,
Ramiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurseong, India, Asia
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Located right in the heart of thamel the tourist hotspot of Kathmandu this hotel is one of the best. The owner cum manager Ramario has renovated this old villa. The outdoor restaurant serves Nepali cuisine. Dont forget to order the great curd brought from Bhktapur. The management helps in arranging for excursions around Kathmandu and Nepal. The staff are polite. They even managed to rustle up a dinner for us when we returned late in the evening on our first day there. Micasa represents the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal. We were touched when they bid good bye to us with the traditional khada ceremony.Please visit this wonderful place admire its 9 rooms (all named after mountains). Meet the staff, get friendly advice and enjoy the charming atmosphere of this eco friendly hotel.Dr Anshuman Das and family.anshuamrionco@yahoo.co.in

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anshumanafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Anshumanafsa,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank you so much for a nice review you wrote for us on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it!

It has been amazing for us to be able to make this small hotel into a true home away from home for our guests and we love to do it!
We are so happy that we were able to represent the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal!

It was amazing to be able to have you here and we hope that one day you return here and will let us be your home away from home again.

We thank you for everything!

Best wishes,
Ramiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have been coming to Nepal for over 30 years. I realize how hard this country can be. Mi Casa is newly renovated 9 spacious room hotel with hard wood floors, super internet, AC, hot water 24/7. It is on a quiet street just off the main road. The best part of this hotel are the owners-Nepalese Dhruba and European Silvia. They will arrange anything in this country at prices I was not able to find elsewhere. The entire staff is trained to western standards and the food/kitchen are excellent. The hotel is eco-friendly using solar for most of the hot water.

Dhruba arrives at the hotel at 6 am and leaves at 10 pm. He is at the hotel for the sole purpose of making sure his guests get what they want. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone that wants security, cleanliness, comfort and honesty in a country that can be very difficult to navigate.

As the strongest endorsement I can offer this hotel and trekking center, I will only allow my college age daughter to stay here on her dream trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kevin,
We Thank you so much for your feedback about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it especially that it's coming from somebody who has been visiting Nepal for over 30 years and so you exactly know how challenging life can be here. Running this small hotel hasn't been easy for us in terms of providing the best quality of standards due to lack of them in Nepal, but we always try and will always do so to provide the best service that we possibly can.
We hope to have you here again and wish you all the best!
It has been amazing to have you here!

Regards,
Sylvia&Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#22 of 203 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#12 of 203 in Kathmandu
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casa

Property: Hotel Mi Casa
Address: Thamel-29, Tridevi Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home rather than a hotel. Full of charm. Full of character. Bright. Sunny. Quiet. Unique. With lots of local colour. We love to have you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mi Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing