We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mi Casa made our trip!”
Review of Hotel Mi Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casa
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in Hotel Mi Casa for three nights during our week-long holiday in Nepal - the first two and the last night. It was thanks to Ramiro and the staff at Mi Casa that we had an amazing time in Nepal in general.

The hotel itself is conveniently located, only 2 min from the busy streets of Thamel and the Garden of Dreams. The hotel and rooms all look new and were exceptionally clean. I particularly love furniture and decor. We stayed in the family suite for one night and it was simply the best. Being the only room on the top floor it is spacious, secluded and quiet. The air-con is new and works well. The neighbourhood is also safe. Though I did make the mistake of not turning on the air-con (thus shutting the windows) during the first two nights and was woken up early morning by noises in the neighbourhood and a nearby construction site. Every morning (no matter what time we got up), a large and delicious breakfast was served. There were also board games and many books to borrow in the lounge area which made it feel even more like home. Wi-fi worked well most of the time.

The staff were warm and always helpful. Whenever someone got ill, the owner Ramiro and other staff would look after him really well. Ramiro, as a travel agent, also planned the perfect trip for us which showed us various places in Pokhara and the Kathmandu Valley. He also personally took us to look at Thangka (after I told him that I wanted to buy one) and cooked us dinner one night.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Mi Casa to anyone visiting Kathmandu and don't worry if you haven't planned your trip yet, Ramiro is very knowledgable and will design the perfect trip for you as well.

Room Tip: The family suite is highly recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank emily_ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear guest,
Namaste from Mi Casa,
Thank you for your feedback and your stay.
It was a great pleasure for us to host your stay and we hope that we will have this opportunity again!

Thank you,
With kind regards,
Sylvia & Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mi Casa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Mi Casa end of May for 2 nights and were very happy with this choice: it's calm (although in the centre of Thamel), clean and most importantly Romario (the owner) and his wife are very attentive to their customers' well-being. After our trip around nepal we returned to thamel for half a day before going to the airport, and dropped at Mi Casa to leave our bags for a few hours. Romario & his wife invited us for tea, and spent lots of time with us asking about our trip, discussing about our experience and impressions. By the way; Romario is a seasoned hiking guide and can give you good advice you in case needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Guest,
Namaste!
Thank you for such a glowing review of your recent stay at Mi Casa! We wish to be able to host your stay again, please know that Mi Casa is your home away from home if you ever visit Kathmandu again! Thank you, With kind regards
Hotel Micasa TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friends and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mi Casa. Apart from its excellent location and rooms, the best part of this hotel is the owner Ramiro and his staff. With his past experience as a travel agent, Ramiro organised a detailed itinerary for us to see the most of Nepal with the time we had there. He booked everything for us, e.g. hotels, driver, trekking guide, paragliding, rafting. The driver and trekking guide were as friendly and helpful as Ramiro.

As we returned to Kathmandu for the last night in Nepal, Ramiro even cooked us a Nepali dinner for farewell! Such experience truly made us feel like home. Even after we checked out on the last day, Ramiro let a friend who had caught a bad cold to rest in a hotel room for free.

You will not be able to get the kind of hospitality you can get in Hotel Mi Casa even if you pay tones in one of the big hotel brands out there. Strongly recommend this place in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Guest,
Namaste!
Thank you for such a glowing review of your stay at Mi Casa! We wish to be able to host your stay again, please know that Mi Casa is your home away from home if you ever visit Kathmandu again! Thank you, With kind regards
Hotel Micasa TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is our first time in Nepal, didn’t really plan our trip at all before flying in but only a rough plan of the location we shall be staying. We spent our first 2 nights and last night at Mi Casa, is very sweet and home like, fill with warm and vibrate colours that really lighten up our moods during this monsoon season. The staff were extremely helpful and smiley as always. They serve this fruit Plata before our main breakfast arrivals which gives a fresh start of the day. Hot water for showers and free safe drinking water are available. No worries if you haven’t done the detail planning before you fly off, the hotel owner is extremely knowledgeable in this field, he helped us a lot with our planning, and we would not have seen this much if it weren’t him. He even made me “magic potion” for my upset stomach! I wasn’t sure if it was my medicine or his potion that worked, lol. But truly I would return to Mi casa if I were to travel back to Nepal again. Such Wonderful people, as well as the food, and not to mention is just right next to the souvenir street.

Room Tip: Room Everest is sooooooo niceeeeeee
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear guest,
Namaste from Mi Casa,
Thank you for your feedback and your stay.
It was a great pleasure for us to host your stay and we hope that we will have this opportunity again!

Thank you,
With kind regards,
Sylvia & Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located in Thamel, just outside the main tourist street in a quiet alley. There was no noise at all, which was quite surprising as Kathmandu is a pretty chaotic city. The hotel is new and the rooms are very beautiful and cosy. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is absolutely delicious!! The staff was very friendly and always at our service. If you go traveling to a different destination for a few days they can keep you luggage until you come back. Ramiro, the owner, is a very friendly guy, always there to help you. He has a travel agency and can give you suggestions for places you can visit. He can also arrange it for you. However, do some research beforehand. Visiting nearby sites is very easy and doesn't require much prior arrangements other than booking a hotel and hiring a cab to take you there, so you can arrange it much cheaper yourself. There are many places to visit nearby and the distances between each are very short. If you prefer somebody else to arrange it for you, then Ramiro is your guy. He can give you great suggestions on what to do and where to go during your stay.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor would probably be better as 1st floor windows overlook the back alley.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aninikable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Aninikable,
Thank you for your beautiful review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mi Casa!
We are always trying our best to make each of our guests stay enjoyable and comfortable.
And are the most happy when we are able to do so!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mi Casa!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my husband really enjoyed our stay in Mi Casa. This place is a tranquil place in the middle of noisy and dusty Kathmandu...

As a woman, cleanliness of the room is very important. This place has a good standard for cleanliness.

Overall, It feels like home, the owners are like your parents whom always taking care of your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayaharoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mayaharoen,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank so much for sharing your thoughts about Mi Casa on tripadvisor.
Greatly appreciated!

We are so happy that you felt we were your home during your stay in Kathmandu.

My wife takes the cleanliness part very seriously and she is so happy to hear the feedback that we have a good standard for cleanliness.

It was a pleasure to be able to have both of you here!
Please do come back one day!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Located right in the heart of thamel the tourist hotspot of Kathmandu this hotel is one of the best. The owner cum manager Ramario has renovated this old villa. The outdoor restaurant serves Nepali cuisine. Dont forget to order the great curd brought from Bhktapur. The management helps in arranging for excursions around Kathmandu and Nepal. The staff are polite. They even managed to rustle up a dinner for us when we returned late in the evening on our first day there. Micasa represents the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal. We were touched when they bid good bye to us with the traditional khada ceremony.Please visit this wonderful place admire its 9 rooms (all named after mountains). Meet the staff, get friendly advice and enjoy the charming atmosphere of this eco friendly hotel.Dr Anshuman Das and family.anshuamrionco@yahoo.co.in

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anshumanafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Anshumanafsa,
Namaste from Nepal!

We thank you so much for a nice review you wrote for us on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it!

It has been amazing for us to be able to make this small hotel into a true home away from home for our guests and we love to do it!
We are so happy that we were able to represent the true spirit of hospitality of Nepal!

It was amazing to be able to have you here and we hope that one day you return here and will let us be your home away from home again.

We thank you for everything!

Best wishes,
Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 207 in Kathmandu
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casa

Address: Thamel-29, Tridevi Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £26 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home rather than a hotel. Full of charm. Full of character. Bright. Sunny. Quiet. Unique. With lots of local colour. We love to have you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mi Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing