We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic! :)”
Review of Hotel Florid Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Florid Nepal
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic! :)”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Don't be afraid to enter that Hotel. You might think it's WAY OUT of your budget, because of beutiful marble floor and stylish furniture inside. But it's not! Comparing to the quality, the rooms are really cheap na beutiful. I've walked along all Thamel and this is one of the best places I've been to.

Rooms are of course very clean. Staff speaks perfect English and is extremely helpful. The owners are wonderful people - always smiling and keen to talk to you.

There's a garden restaurant also. And again - don't be scared of. It's very fancy looking, so my first thought was: "OMG... no way I could afford it!". It turned out that prices are even better than in other restaurants... and food itself, is extremely delicious! Especially chinese veg dishes with rice. Very mild and tasty - so no killing chilly dishes! Hooray! Homemade pizza is absolutely brilliant, with so many fresh veg on it. We also loved veg soup. (yeah... we are kind of vegetarians :) at least in Asia!). Garden is absolutely gorgeus. A little european style, with small paths, beautifly lightened up with dimmed lights. Really romantic place. Not so many tables, which makes eating dinner really cosy and intimate. It's a perfect place for a date! :) Food is absolutely delicios. All tables have huge umrellas in case of heavy sun or rain :)

Guys, I've spent more than a month living on Thamel. That's one of my very favourite places! It's a pity, I found it so late. :)

Room Tip: I've seen 3 rooms. All of them were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0niu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    58
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
43
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel Florid was an excellent hotel in the centre to Thamel, Kathmandu. It definitely was an oasis away from the busy shopping sector. It is family run and they couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. We had a clean room with hot shower and the restaurant and garden are peaceful and relaxing.

We were in tears when we left as the family made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which had en suite toilet. We had 2 rooms and both were equally good but the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

An Excellent budget hotel. Solar hot water available most of the time. Rooms are comfortable. Z street is not too noisey. Hotel is centrally located close toThamel. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank smokeyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel Florid was a comfortable place to stay during my six days in Thamel. One of the nice benefits of Florid is that the restaurant in the back is somewhat secluded from the dreadful noise and pollution that plagues the entire area.

My room was clean and with natural light, and it was at the going rate in Thamel.

Relative to other options in the area, your money will be well spent in Hotel Florid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yitzhak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 days as our final stop in Nepal. We were recommended Florid by our hotel in Pokhara and were so pleased we came. Our room was just what was needed and we had hot showers whenever we needed them. Breakfast was great and a good menu to chose from. Charman and his family made us feel welcome and we can't fault the hard work that they put into running the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anamariebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

At Hotel Florid you'll find Very friendly warm staff. The Garden Restaurant has a great menu full of those yummy things we all enjoy and the stetting is lovely recently upgraded it makes for a great place to escape the horns and have a coldie (Everest Beer).. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Also great views from the roof top.. Just a great Friendly Hotel . . Keep rockin Florid.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Garden Rest. below are the warmest and quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Basic rooms with clean sheets. Big dip in hard bed. Some furniture. Nothing remarkable about this Hotel. Outside area quite nice but very cold in late November. Inside cold as well. Back rooms are better with natural light. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertloverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gallery Nepal
Hotel Gallery Nepal
#67 of 198 in Kathmandu
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
#42 of 198 in Kathmandu
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#96 of 198 in Kathmandu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
3.4 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#64 of 198 in Kathmandu
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florid Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florid Nepal

Property: Hotel Florid Nepal
Address: Z-Street, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florid Nepal 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourists from all over the world are welcome to stay at Hotel Florid in Kathmandu valley, the capital city of Nepal, where the awe-inspiring Himalayas, highest mountains on earth, are well known. Giving outstanding service with reasonable price is the Hotel's main objective."Surely there comes a time when counting the cost and paying the price are the things to think about when we are travelling. Also what matters is value - the ultimate value of what one does. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Florid Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing