We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Samsara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samsara Resort
Ranked #88 of 204 Hotels in Kathmandu
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a nice place just a bit out of Thamel with a lovely garden. It is great to be able to sit outside or lie on the grass and relqx. It is also good if you need to check a lot of trekking or climbing gear like tents as they don't' mind if you spread out a bit.The rooms are light and airy. Check it out.

Room Tip: get a room at either end of the building. or if you want to splurge take the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boustead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    106
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
79
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

i would like to recommend this hotel to all the persons who go to Kathmandu and want to find a hotel well of price, I clean and overcoat a charming people beginning for the Manager.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nothing great about the place. The mgmt staff is out to make bucks, thats all. The travel agent comes up with costliest deals. Better to just walk out and find a cab on your own.

Room Tip: Not even basic toilet stuff. 2-3 hours of no electricity. Worst electricity plug points ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maniac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Staff are lovely but the manager gets a little too up close & personal bordering on nosey. Accomodation is good & food is great.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelyabinsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have stayed at Samsara Resort for quite a long period of time and would like to express my sincere appreciation to Mr. Purushotam Dhakal and all hotel staff! I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and having an opportunity to meet these wonderful people. You do not need to worry about anything while staying at Samasara Resort. My friends and I were travelling back and forth and received all the assistance and support from Samsara people that one could have imagined. You have a feeling that you know them for all your life. Location of the hotel is one of the best ones, breakfast is good, and even if there is someting that you would like to have for breakfast but it is not on the menu, you can ask and kitchen staff will kindly cook it for you. In one word, that was PERFECTO! Thank you! When I come back to Nepal, I will not need to waste my time to look for the hotel. I will definitely stay at Samsara Resort. Marina

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is placed in a nice area. The rooms are ok, but the standard is not okay compared with the price for other hotels with the same standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorteMelgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After a month of exhausting travel, the management and staff provided the most consistent and sincere attention to my every need. Wonderfully comfortable rooms, a nice breakfast buffet and wifi everywhere on the hotel grounds (including the fantastic outdoor seating area) facilitated a speedy recovery and fantastic end to an amazing journey. I will not forget the kindness of the Samsara staff- a definite YES!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scovinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#37 of 204 in Kathmandu
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#46 of 204 in Kathmandu
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#47 of 204 in Kathmandu
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#30 of 204 in Kathmandu
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taleju Boutique Hotel
Taleju Boutique Hotel
#44 of 204 in Kathmandu
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#52 of 204 in Kathmandu
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Resort

Property: Samsara Resort
Address: Bhagabati Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 204 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Resort is a 3 star hotel which has got International Arch of Europe Award 2014 and Certificate of Excellence winner 2013. It is located in the heart of the Thamel in peaceful environment. With 9 years of positive performance we are please to inform you that Samsara Resort has been designed as a peaceful haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samsara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing