We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Thamel”
Review of Samsara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samsara Resort
Ranked #78 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We landed here by accident -- when we showed up at our planned hotel, we discovered they had canceled our reservation. Maybe it was a good thing b/c this hotel was a very nice choice in the Thamel area. Very nice, relaxing garden, good restaurant, nice service, no elevator, free internet, large rooms w/ typically miserable beds (I never found a comfy bed in Nepal or Tibet). Room was clean, bathroom do-able with plenty of hot water. Power was an issue. On checking in, we had to call reception b/c the lights did not work in our room -- they arrived to fix them. On our 2nd night, the power went out & when it came back up, only part of the lights came back. We were told this hotel was "brand new", but it didn't look it. Esp. the bathrooms looked very tired. Don't expect a 4-star, it's not. It's a darn good 3-star.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Excellent quiet location, attractive terrace, attentive staff, reasonably clean rooms. BUT aircon was noisy and dirty, electricity plugs verging on dangerous, our son got locked in his room, milk was off one morning. Fine for a short stay, but wouldn't want a week there.

Room Tip: Check the aircon before selecting a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_hakkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a nice place just a bit out of Thamel with a lovely garden. It is great to be able to sit outside or lie on the grass and relqx. It is also good if you need to check a lot of trekking or climbing gear like tents as they don't' mind if you spread out a bit.The rooms are light and airy. Check it out.

Room Tip: get a room at either end of the building. or if you want to splurge take the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Boustead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

i would like to recommend this hotel to all the persons who go to Kathmandu and want to find a hotel well of price, I clean and overcoat a charming people beginning for the Manager.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pepi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nothing great about the place. The mgmt staff is out to make bucks, thats all. The travel agent comes up with costliest deals. Better to just walk out and find a cab on your own.

Room Tip: Not even basic toilet stuff. 2-3 hours of no electricity. Worst electricity plug points ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maniac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Staff are lovely but the manager gets a little too up close & personal bordering on nosey. Accomodation is good & food is great.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have stayed at Samsara Resort for quite a long period of time and would like to express my sincere appreciation to Mr. Purushotam Dhakal and all hotel staff! I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and having an opportunity to meet these wonderful people. You do not need to worry about anything while staying at Samasara Resort. My friends and I were travelling back and forth and received all the assistance and support from Samsara people that one could have imagined. You have a feeling that you know them for all your life. Location of the hotel is one of the best ones, breakfast is good, and even if there is someting that you would like to have for breakfast but it is not on the menu, you can ask and kitchen staff will kindly cook it for you. In one word, that was PERFECTO! Thank you! When I come back to Nepal, I will not need to waste my time to look for the hotel. I will definitely stay at Samsara Resort. Marina

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#44 of 210 in Kathmandu
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#49 of 210 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Resort

Address: Bhagabati Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Resort is a 3 star hotel which has got International Arch of Europe Award 2014 and Certificate of Excellence winner 2013. It is located in the heart of the Thamel in peaceful environment. With 9 years of positive performance we are please to inform you that Samsara Resort has been designed as a peaceful haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samsara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing