We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in Kathmandu”
Review of Samsara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samsara Resort
Ranked #96 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Samsara Resort is the idilic retreat amongst the hustle and bustle of Thamel. There is a beautiful garden out the front of the hotel to relax take tea or enjoy a drink, it's one of the only quiet green spaces in Thamel!

In spite of being an peaceful oasis Samsara Resort is just a great place to stay. Friendly accommodating staff managed by the charming Puru. Puru helped us with everything we needed.
Organising treks, flights, drivers even recommending the best momo restaurants in town. As a first time visitor to Nepal our stay at Samsara was ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKC22, Public Relations Manager at Samsara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for the precious time you have taken to give a review on our hotel. It was great to serve you in our hotel and we will be glad if we get a chance to welcome you again to our hotel for your next visit to Nepal.

Regards,
Samsara Resort (Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice at Samsara Resort and we treated so well. The staff were all so helpful and always smiling. The rooms were great and the manager was one of the loveliest I have ever come across. We were able to organise everything we needed through the hotel. I will stay again for sure and tell all my friends to stay there as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKC22, Public Relations Manager at Samsara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Its our pleasure to serve you twice in our hotel and we are extremely glad to find that you have managed you precious time to review our hotel. We are keen to serve you for the third time in our hotel. Hope you will provide this opportunity soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a really wonderful stay at Samsara Resort whilst on our trip to Nepal. The manager 'Puru' went out of his way to help us. He arranged for my flight past Everest, a 4 day trek and even arranged flights for the Indian leg of our trip. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The food is great. Look forward to the next time we can visit. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pagey2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKC22, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for managing and taking your precious time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that we were able to make things a bit easier for you, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your comments, and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you, when you are in Nepal.
Best Regards,
Samsara Resort (Hotel)
Email : contact@samsararesort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Ok for the cost. Beware that you are in Nepal, the standards are lower than in the west.
We stayed here in three different periods during our trekking month in Nepal.
Friendly staff, they fix anything we asked about, the rooms are simple but ok. As in kathmandu there is a power shut down during day-time but the hotel has it's own diesel generator.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKC22, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to give feedback on our property. We appreciate your comment and focus more towards the room standard as well as service. You will obviously feel different when you visit us next time. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you, when you are in the Nepal.
Best Regards,
Samsara Resort (Hotel)
email : contact@samsararesort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in samsara resort ,Thamel ,Kathmandu for 3 nights recently.in may.The hotel is o.k.The breakfast is good and the quality of food is good.This hotel is in the heart of the busy locality ,even then very calm and quiet.Coming to the room quality it has all the
facilities .In the bathroom the water tap near the western was not fitted with a water sprout.
Except minor things the hotel is good.

In the restaurant they should keep enough paper towels

Room Tip: Since we had gone through a travel agent we donot know the worth of the money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narasayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent three nights at the Samsara resort mid April before a trek to Everest Base Camp and needed those days to stock up on essential trekking gear. The position of the resort is great amid the shops, restaurants and hustle and bustle of Thamel. There is also a courtyard garden to sit with other guests or chill out and enjoy a drink or sandwich. We paid extra for a large room and got this on the first floor, and having seen the small rooms, were pleased we did this.

Two single beds, refrigerator (not working), bathroom with working (just) shower and a couple of windows on either side of the room gave us sufficient light during the constant power blackouts. The refrigerator was not working due to the power plug being removed from the back of the refrigeration and taped up, we asked for this to be looked into but it was not resolved during our stay and with the temperature over 30 each day we could have done with a place to keep drinks and snacks cool.

The room was clean and sufficient for our three days, and as the room was towards the back of the hotel we were well away from the noise of Thamel and the generator bringing power to the hotel when the main system failed (several times a day). The shower provided luke warm water the first day, but hot water day two and three The water pressure was very poor and one needed to huddle under the shower spray to get wet.

Breakfast was fine, but it took to the second day to realise that if eggs were required you need to ask, they were not offered the first day nor on show, but once we realised this, fresh eggs, cooked to requirement on day two and three were forthcoming. A good selection of meat (sic), and cereals on offer as well as toast and condiments. All up a good breakfast choice.

On booking our room we were asked if we wanted an airport pickup, we said yes and this was arranged, but at no time were were informed there was a US$15 charge, this amount appeared on the bill when making final payment.

The staff were all friendly and eager to make the stay pleasant and English spoken sufficienlty well to enable converstaion. We were offered assistance with sightseeing by the resort manager and this was done in quite a pushy manner, but once we established we had our own agenda to follow we were left alone.

Certainly not the worst accomodation place in Thamel and one I would consider if I found myself here again.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more to get a larger room and one towards the back of the resort to keep away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We were moved to this hotel following our trek due to overbooking at another hotel - and we were so glad we were! The room we stayed in - although older - was spacious and clean with a shower and bath!! The manager spoke to all guests personally and made you feel very welcome. The outside tables in the lovely garden were a relaxing place to sit and enjoy a drink or wi fi. A good quiet position, in a laneway off the busy shopping strip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLO361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#33 of 207 in Kathmandu
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#76 of 207 in Kathmandu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#31 of 207 in Kathmandu
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#39 of 207 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Resort

Address: Bhagabati Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £27 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Resort is a 3 star hotel which has got International Arch of Europe Award 2014 and Certificate of Excellence winner 2013. It is located in the heart of the Thamel in peaceful environment. With 9 years of positive performance we are please to inform you that Samsara Resort has been designed as a peaceful haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samsara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing