We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Penguin = Incredible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bucarest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal Penguin = Incredible service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Do never a waiter in the breakfast session remembered,every morning, exactly what and when you like to eat ?
Do never you ask the reception staff to buy for you some convenience goods, and they did exactly as you asked for, and with a big smile.
Those are only two examples of the service in this hotel.
Penguins in Kathmandu ? No, but as the name of the hotel is different, as well the service, the cleaning, the smile and the respect to the client. In one word : W O W !
We are talking about 4 star hotel, not 5. About Kathmandu, and not Geneva.
I stayed at this hotel 12 nights. Enough to see the mistakes, and the real face of the staff.
No ! i didn't find any mistake, any hypocrisy. All real, all with love, with politeness, with efficacy.
In the heart of the city, noisy, dirty, full of life, you will stay in PARADISE.
WORTH EVERY CENT !

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. I stayed in 3 categories. If you want to invest a little bit more, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dropping a review about us in TripAdvisor. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. We always try our best to create the environment so that the guest can feel a home away from home at our hotel.

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests. we have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. Each set includes from 4 to 6 items. We serve breakfast to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We feel very delighted to know that our guests are satisfied with our efforts in meeting up with their each and every request.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    49
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
55
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hello pals......Our stay in this hotel was excellent. The hotel is located in the heart of Thamel.....with professional staff. The hotel rooms are well maintained, spacious, good bath accessories. The hotel also have wifi with good speed. They have steam and sauna facilities included in the hotel price and if someone wants to try massage he can but its payable. In general the checkout time is 12noon, but i stayed up to 2pm and they didn't charged me for that...if i visit kathmandu next time, i will definately stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Must try this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodman1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

Our Crystal spa and wellness is specially designed for our dear guest for their fun and relaxation. The spa features sauna, steam room and aroma bath, three massage and beauty rooms, and a hair salon with manicure and pedicure.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2 with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On our return to Kathmandu after trekking for 7 days we booked in to the Penguin Boutique and Spa. It was sheer luxury and an oasis in Kathmandu. it is spanking new. The staff are professional and helpful. it cannot be faulted on anything.
joy and brian whittaker, south africa

Room Tip: the rooms are all beautifully furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Joy and Brian Whittaker,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We always appreciate a feedback from our dear guest and we always do our best to keep our quality on a relevant level. Since these is our goal to make a hotel comfortable to live at, we always make efforts to make service better.

To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.Guests satisfaction is all what our team aim to and work likewise.

Our Crystal spa and wellness is specially designed for our dear guest for their fun and relaxation. The spa features sauna, steam room and aroma bath, three massage and beauty rooms, and a hair salon with manicure and pedicure. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2.

Warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As our original booking at some other hotel was canceled at short notice we had to book something else fast. Agoda suggested some options and one was the new Royal Penguin. We were pleasantly surprised as we found a hotel in the heart of Thamel with well-trained and very friendly staff, with well-kept rooms (ok, the interior design of rooms and public areas is a bit quirky but it is fun). For those who normally have to rush to beat the breakfast service deadline - this hotel is for you as it serves breakfast at any time of the day, and it offers good breakfast choices (luckily no buffet; the coffee choice could be iffy brew, though, not instant coffee). All rooms have double glazing and central A/C, i.e. hardly any noise in the rooms! The hotel is perfectly located for those who enjoy shopping in Thamel. When you book make sure you get the new Royal Penguin, the old one, which is close by, has no lift (unless you don't mind the exercise).

Room Tip: All rooms have double glazing and central A/C, i.e. no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e o g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dropping a review about us in TripAdvisor. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. We always try our best to create the environment so that the guest can feel a home away from home at our hotel.

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests. Even the load shedding here won't be able to interrupt our dear guests as we have our own 195-kva generator and 90-kva generators for the backup. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.

Thank you for loving our food. Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes. We have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. We serve our breakfast in European style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals which will make the mood of your day and can be serve to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We do provide a flag of your country's choice so that one can feel like being in their own country for a while.

We offer a various set of interesting and crazy activities in our special menu "CRAZY MENU" where you can find unusual offers like smashing the dishes, zoo in room and many more. All of our hotel windows are double glazed in order to provide our guest a very sound stay ignoring the noises from the busy streets of Thamel.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2 with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel, located right in the Thamel, just opened 6 weeks before we visited (opened mid March 2014). The structure, decore, amenities, professionalism of staff - all top drawer! Breakfast comes with the room, and is served...anytime you want it! All day even, as it is from the menu and not a set buffet. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom fixtures would be at home in any fine hotel in London or Singapore. Sauna and spa included in room price...only massage is extra. If I am back in Kathmandu this is definitely my choice of where to stay!

Room Tip: any floor facing the courtyard less noisy than one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay and being comfortable in their rooms and we are happy that we are able to come up to your expectations.

We try our very best to satisfy needs of our dearest customers. To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia. Our Crystal spa and wellness is specially designed for our guests for fun and relaxation. The spa features sauna, steam room and aroma bath, three massage and beauty rooms and a hair salon with manicure and pedicure.

Thank you for loving our food. Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes. We have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. We serve our breakfast in European style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals which will make the mood of your day and can be serve to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We do provide a flag of your country's choice so that one can feel like being in their own country for a while.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2 with more services and facilities :)


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for a total of 10 days spread out over three different times while traveling through Nepal. The staff was always very friendly and helpful--they insured our stay was extremely pleasant, and warmly welcomed us back each time.

The hotel is quite new, and compared to typical Nepal standards is really great! The only real problem we had was with the water (likely due more to the Kathmandu water supply than the hotel itself) which often had a yellowish tinge, and smelled quite metallic.

Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable, there was free wifi, the air condition worked well, there was a safe in the room, and the bathroom was well equipped. The rooms were quite humid though, but there was a small window with a screen that we kept open to air the place out during the day. The breakfast was also decent, with 4 set menus to choose from. The restaurant staff was very easy going about mixing and matching as well.

The location was also perfect near Chetrapati and the JP Road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Joseph,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. And we really feel very happy knowing that our guest enjoys our efforts.

To make our guest stay truly memorable we decorated the whole area of our hotel with installations from South Korea, Singapore, Honk Kong and Indonesia.Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes.We serves our breakfast in European Style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals. And you can also invite your favorite (panda,deer,crocodile,lion etc) for a company during your meal :)

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests.Even the load shedding here won't be able to interrupt our dear guests as we have our own 195-kva generator and 90-kva generators for the backup. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.

Regarding the water, its because of new pipes and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. The problem of water is already sorted out. During your next visit, we will assure you to provide with a remarkable service and a memorable stay with us.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2 with more services and facilities :)

With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hello all...

I had the privilege to stay at this great hotel for more than 2 weeks on March-April 2014.

On my previous trip to Kathmandu, I already had the pleasure to stay at Royal Penguin1, and this time I found the new Royal Penguin2 even more pleasant.

Great location.
Quiet street and safe hotel (24 hours guard!)

The rooms are amazing, WIFI good but can be improved..

Nice breakfast and restaurant.

Above all, the staff!!! Friendly, warm, helpful and smiley!!! We don't need anything more than that.
Each one of them gave me the feeling that I am the most important guest at the hotel!

Thanks to all of you,
Roni

Room Tip: Don't hesitate!! this is the best place in Thamel All the rooms are with the same high quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalPenguin, Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Roni Dagon

Thank you so much for dropping the review about us in TripAdvisor. Our team always works hard to come up to our dear guest's expectation so as to satisfy their small details of needs and request. And we really feel very happy to know that our guest enjoys our effort.

Our hotel provides round the clock for the convenience of our guests.Even the load shedding here won't be able to interrupt our dear guests as we have our own 195-kva generator and 90-kva generators for the backup. Wi-Fi in every rooms are reachable with high range which is for a complementary use for our precious guests.

Thank you for loving our food. Our restaurant serves international menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes. We have a choice of different breakfast sets which are free for our hotel guests. We serve our breakfast in European style, delicious, beautifully decorated meals which will make the mood of your day and can be serve to our dear guest at anytime, Whenever they would like to have it. We do provide a flag of your country's choice so that one can feel like being in their own country for a while.

We will be more than happy to serve you again with pleasure. We are looking forward to your visit again in Royal Penguin 1 and 2. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again with more services and facilities.


With warm regards
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#60 of 201 in Kathmandu
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#44 of 201 in Kathmandu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 201 in Kathmandu
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,190 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 201 in Kathmandu
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Thamel, Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kathmandu. Set 0.0 Km from the excitement of the city, this 3.5-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Kathesimbhu Stupa, Kathmandu Guest House Minitheatre, Gandharba Culture and Art Organisation.Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Top features of the hotel include meeting facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, restaurant, bar/pub.Step into one of 30 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television LCD/plasma screen, separate shower and tub, bathtub, extra long beds, coffee/tea maker. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as steam, sauna, spa & massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Kathmandu, make Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa 2 your home away from home. 24/7 uninterrupted power supply, 24/7 uninterrupted hot water supply, 24/7 front desk open and staff,Daily housekeeping included in the room rate,private bathroom for each unit, 24/7 elevator, 24/7 business centre, 24/7 wake up call, 24/7 telephone operator service, 24/7 crystal spa and wellness, Storage of luggage and valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing