We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable and felt like @ home..”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, comfortable and felt like @ home..”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel is situated in the heart of Kathmandu city, at Thamel, which is the Traveller's Paradise. Thamel is the main market area in Kathmandu. The people in Nepal are friendly and ready to help you with everything, but keep it in mind to try and bargain as much as you can with the shopkeepers (sometimes, the prices quoted may be upto three times the original one).
As for the Hotel, it's certainly one of the best hotels in Kathmandu with prompt and efficient service and friendly attitude of every hotel-staff being its hallmarks. Room rents are too good. The restaurant was one of the best in the area. The food here is excellent, just excellent. Another notable thing is its rooms. They are cosy and comfortable, but it may be a bit sweaty due to the 10hr power outages everyday (there is no backup power for fans !!). As for the location, it is pristinely located, tucked inside a bylane of Thamel, among very very natural surroundings and within walking distance of the main market. The wi-fi reception was poor in the rooms (since it had to do with frequent power failures and low voltages) and the internet was slow too. But, in the end it all made up for all the advantages this hotel offered. The roof-top garden and restaurant is good.

Overall : Very Good

Highly recommended

Room Tip: New wing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SankalpSwastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tikaregmi, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Namaste from Hotel Blue Horizon,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay in Kathmandu. It was our great pleasure to have you here as our valued guest. We always try our level best to meet customers’ expectations so that we want everyone feel comfortable and safe.

Thank you so much for your honest review. We will have to look at the optional power solution. At present we have back up for the light but not for A\C and Fan. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Management
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    140
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
94
116
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here twice,the first time by default.We lost one earlier booking,at another Hotel and Blue Horizon helped us and gave us rooms.Only then did we realize we had checked here earlier for rooms and we passed them.The first time we stayed at the new wing and the second time at the old wing.The old wing is somewhat smelly and some rooms devoid of light.Most of the time there is no power so you are better off outdoors ! We had issues with bathroom flush,doors not closing easily,finding power sockets,lights missing ETC,the biggest issue was the front locks which are over the hill and need instant replacement ! The keys simply fall down when inserted…..maybe Management should simply replace them with Cards.

The location is simply devine.Tucked away at edge of Thamel from the crowd,near Greenline Bus Park,the Palace and garden of Dreams,just breeze around the corners to go on to Pokhara Bus Parks,Thamel eateries and shopping areas.There are some smaller eating joints in the lane where you can get simple breakfasts and lunches pretty fast.We had always delays when we ate at Blue Horizon although the food was scrumptious.This lane can be quite ugly and unkempt especially at night when there is no power,so better to have small torch handy.

We had a good rate from the Hotel,the staff were quite jovial and cheerfull all the time,and they gave us proper send off although we did not use their pick-up facility.We simply walked here from Greenline Bus Park.Kids liked the Internet facility and reading materials and the Garden.We took some nice pictures.The owner was always around and he was quite co-operative and easygoing.Heard they will expand too,so willing to check them out again.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor rooms,with more light !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tikaregmi, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest
Namaste from Hotel Blue Horizon, Kathmandu;
Thank you so much for your time to write your experience about us. We are very much sorry for those issues which did not make your stay fully comfortable. We will look in to it and start working in it to provide excellent services to our valuable guest. We really appreciate those suggestions. We are really sorry for the power cut issue which happens all over the city but we do have 2 lights (24 hours) in to the rooms, in the restaurant, in the lobby and in the garden on from the back up through solar power. We did not understand you that you had mentioned not light. You could have informed us then and there so that we would look in to it. We always serve fresh food in our restaurant so that it takes some time to get prepare. We use to tell our guest about it before we receive order food.
We will improve the things day by day and hope that you will see us change when you come next time. As you have heard that we are going to expand our Garden. We are looking forward to have you here next time and proof you that those things are changed.
Management
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The hotel was really affordable and convinient with great service.
The day we arrived kathmandu, we hover around so many hotels using airport taxi
some of the hotels were inconvinient and some other were very expensive.
Finally we were fortunate to see this hotel (Blue Horizon) in a very convinient place that too with a beautiful garden.
First we tried for 2 days stay there but after experiencing such a fantastic service, we extended our stay to 2 weeks. The hotel also provides facility to hassel free travel and tours to different tourist locations in Nepal.
Finally i would rate this hotel as the best for the one who is looking for convienient place with good service in affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losheim am See, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

the hotel is located some minutes outside the thamel in a quiet street. i loved espacially the nice garden and the rooftopterrasse. the food and the menu were really good. there is free internet and wifi, as long there is no powercut. my room was allright and clean enough. the staff was extremely nice and we went out sometimes together. will go back on my next kathmandu stay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannesdewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Perfect location for backpackers just outside Thamel which makes it a little quieter. Rooms are simple but clean. Pushy owners who pressure you into listening to an intense sales pitch for their packages, but otherwise leave you alone. Reliable pickup from the airport. Im sure there are better deals and nicer places, but this is definitely a good compromise.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edddieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed for a night at the hotel.Room was clean.Hot water was available at all times.Electricity hassles continued all the while.Aircon did not work for a long time.Surely a nice crash pad for a night.Cudn't sleep cos of dog barking all the time near the place.Centrally located for sure.Overall experience was average and best suited for Solo traveller.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tikaregmi, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Hotel Blue Horizon, Kathmandu

We have gone through your review, we apologize that you had an uncomfortable stay with us. There were few dogs which were belongs to neighbourhood. Now our neighbourhood who had dogs has shifted to another part of the city. Now here are no chances of barking dogs because they have shifted already. We have already hired this building and will renovate it as a part of our hotel. We are always in the process of making things better for our customers. However, we are sorry about the disturbance you had during your stay. We are sure that our upcoming guest won’t have any disturbance of the dogs. Our hotel is regarded as one the peaceful hotels in the crowed of Thamel so we are hopefully that whenever you plan for Nepal next time, you will give us an opportunity again and have a test of our warm hospitality and peaceful stay.

As concerned Air Conditioning, we do have 30 rooms air conditioned and we are suffering from the power cut in Kathmandu which happens a lot (14 hours a day this time). It is not possible to run A/C from solar power all the time. We do have 24 hour light at least one in to the every room and another in to every bathroom from the solar power. We do also have a generator which we do not use all the time (we use only emergency case) because of the disturbance of its noise.

We are looking forward to see you here in our hotel and we are sure to give you an excellent stay.
Sincerely yours
Management
Hotel Blue Horizon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New FOREST uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Fair price ,good pick up at airport ,Quiet location just of Tamel ,clean but our room could do with a refurbish,nice roof top lots of pot plants,low cost food that was tasty,breakfast in the garden .Willing helpful staff who found as cars and taxis to to explre .

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLIFFNewFORESTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#103 of 203 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 203 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#120 of 203 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 203 in Kathmandu
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing