We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has only approved since the last time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It has only approved since the last time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at the Blue Horizon Hotel in June 2011 and returned 5 months later only to find that the management have made vast improvements in expanding and providing more room options. They have made a new kitchen and best of all they have expanded their garden that can be enjoyed by all. I took the opportunity to thank and provide personal recognition for their notable improvements over those past 6 months and was greatly surprised to hear what further improvements they had planned for the future. Being a business man myself it was pleasing to see that they had this mindset. For all travelers out there, this is one place you should all keep an eye on if ever looking for a hotel in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Blue Horizon now provides Mid-range accommodation if you wish to have that little bit more luxury at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    133
    74
    27
    26
See reviews for
66
92
108
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Nice place, comfortable an clean. Staff helpful and polite. Good for family trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Hotel Blue Horizon is located in the touristic area Thamel. You can reach restaurants, shops, ATM, the "Garden of Dreams" and the "New Road area" easily by walk - also at night time.

From the roof terrace you will get a nice view of the neighbourhood and some mountains. There's a nice garden where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served. The interior of the restaurant is not so stylish and cosy but there's a great café just in front of the hotel with fantastic coffee, cookies and cakes.

At our fist stay we booked a Deluxe Room, which we did not like at all (old furniture, tiny bathroom, AC did not work and bad isolation). At our second stay we booked a Super Deluxe Room (a new building in the back), which was much better!

The hotel offers free wi-fi in the room, 30% discount for online bookings and free pick-up service from International Airport. Luggage storage was not a problem during our trekking trip. Staff is helpful and friendly.

Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Book a Super Deluxe Room (a new building in the back), they are much better than the Deluxe Rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank good-vibes-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Blue Horizon Hotel. The place is clean and nice. Staff was helpful and very friendly. I recommend it :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiayi, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I cannot say enough good things about hotel Blue Horizon. This place is far surpassed my expectations. The rooms are incumulate, comfortable and beautiful decorated. I enjoyed so much and really looking forward for the next visit.
Connie, Malaysia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

The staff were very friendly and willing to cater for any needs. The thing I liked most about this place was the free wifi which was extrememly fast! Probably the only wifi spot I found in Kathmandu that Skype would work properly. Room service food was hit and miss but good value none the less. The shower was luke-warm - not hot enough for me which resulted in me just having 1 shower in the 4 days I was there. Also, expect a powercut everyday for around 2 hrs - extremely frustrating but I'm pretty sure this is the case throughout Kathmandu. A 5 minute walk to the centre of Thamel but ideally located right near the North Face, Mountain Hardware stores. If you can put up with only a warm shower, I'd highly recommend this place - just don't eat there. The rooms are clean and the service was great. I paid around US$22/night for a decent sized room with ensuite and queen bed with A/C

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor - I had to walk up 6 flights of stairs to my room. Although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I'm amazed at the other reviews - especially as they were the ones that influenced me to book this hotel.
Very uncclean.
Vey old, lumpy mattress with springs coming through.
Really unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#58 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#106 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
#88 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing