We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value place tucked away from the buzz of Thamel”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #85 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value place tucked away from the buzz of Thamel”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were staying 6 nights in Kathmandu and wanted a place that wasn't right in the heart of Thamel. This hotel did the trick perfectly as it is conveniently located in Thamel but hidden away from the noise of Thamel. It had a lovely garden area with free wifi. Staff was friendly and helpful.

We had a standard room which was sufficient and clean but it was a bit tight for space. It was crammed with too much furniture in the room. 2 single beds, 3 person couch and coffee table all in one room. There wasn't alot of walking space nor space for our bags. So it was a good thing we weren't spending alot of time in the room. I imagine if you pay the little extra to upgrade to a standard deluxe, you would likely get a larger, more spacious room so I would recommend that.

Overall, for a budget hotel, the Blue Horizon Hotel is good value, clean and convenient. It is close to everything in Thamel whilst being just far away enough from all the noise and traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petiteBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    137
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
93
112
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mt barker, WA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We paid via Agoda and found this great value.
Coming off the plane found the promised large van to take us and our 2 bicycles to the hotel.
All in the agreed price. Very efficient and honest run place.
We built up our bikes inside the roomy hotel and grounds with no fuss.

Access down a nice quiet street its an easy walk to the hectic and congested centre of Thamel.
WiFi worked very good as did the hot water. Staff just needed reminding but all was good.
Rooms were large and well appointed.
No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I chose this hotel during our recent16-day trip to Nepal. As a no-frill budget hotel, this place is worth the money spent. It is beside the busy Thamel but surprisingly very peaceful. Rooms are clean, with tiled bathroom. Helpful staff. They also provide travel arrangements (with 6 cars). The Travel Manager is a knowledgeble travel planner who planned our trips with safety, cost and comfort in mind.


Panayan R.Nathan, Malaysia

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing-it may cost a bit extra but worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 607tripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the The Blue Horizon in Nepal, Kathmandu on one of my trek To EBC.. This hotel is located in a safe side of the main street which is safe for walking at night...The garden area is peaceful for breakfast and coffee time, also the free Wifi reception is strong. The rooms are clean and tidy, the front desk is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for Trekkers and travelers. This hotel price is reasonable as compared to other hotel in Thamel area...Do drink boiling or bottle water, carry hand sanitizer, and batter with the vendors. Nepal is a lovely country.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pws12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Don't expact to much by looking to the pictures. Because the reality can be different. They consider themselves as a budget hotel, but I really think it's an overpriced hotel. They offer Nepali standards for almost western prices. But, it is a quite place in the busy Thamel area. The garden is really a nice place for having a breakfast or a beer in the night. But the rooms, yeah... standard and old furnished. Cleanliness is so so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oguzhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anujbajra, Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for letting us know your experiences in our Hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have encountered. We do accept your complains regarding the room. We are always working on giving our guests the best of the bests.

By the way, all of the pictures we have placed are genuine. We would have definitely helped you with the room upgrades if you had asked us. Standard rooms are obviously with lesser facilities and smaller rooms. Prices are increased gradually as room category goes up.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Blue Horizon. We really look forward to welcoming you with improved service again.


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

In a quiet cul-de-sac. Great attentive staff. Like most hotels in a developing country there will be some things not quite up to you expectations. Grin and bear it and just enjoy the stay. Would definitely stay there again,

Room Tip: Standard room was great but you can upgrade. Ask for something on the lower floors.. 5th floor a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I would recomand travellers to stay here cause it's walking distance to Thamel area. The hotel is off the main road which is good cause the traffic noise can really ring your ears with the cars and bikes non stop honking!! The room was clean. If you make reservation for their rooms, there is a pick up service from airport to hotel FREE and when you return to airport, they can provide service to airport , cost 600nepali rupee ( exchange rate$1us - 87rs). Free Wifi but slow. Manager and staffs are helpful.
The hotel is just a walking distance to the main road and check this coffee place " Himalyan Cafe" ( just like starbucks in State). Across the main road there is a nice PIZZA place called "FIRE & ICE". Do expect powercut... certain time of the day. It's pretty common and normal. Word of caution: DRINK bottled watered or HOT drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#45 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#89 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing