We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Hotel, Friendly Staff and a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Hotel, Friendly Staff and a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, I have stayed three times now and each time it has been the perfect base for my holidays in Nepal, the rooms are spacious and well furnished and the beds are comfortable and clean. The staff and management are friendly and always happy to help. Blue Horizon is definitely the place to stay in Kathmandu. The WiFi is also free and is on and available almost 100% of the time even when the power goes down.

Room Tip: Book in advance and fix the price for the room and all taxes prior to arriving for the very best rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain-and-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    133
    74
    27
    26
See reviews for
66
92
108
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

A bit rundown and dusty for the price, we stayed for a few days and only had cold water showers. That said the garden is a very nice refuge from the busy street of Thamel. Excellent location. the driver we booked through the hotel was first rate, taking us across the city and Baktipur.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located in a Quiet alley within walking distance of Thamel. The staff are friendly and the hotel garden is relaxing. The suite room we stayed in - for approx 25 GBP a night - was on reflection as good as you would expect for the money. There is a bath, hot water, a toilet that flushes and a bed and sofas. The pillows had certainly seen better days and although the bedding had clearly been washed and ironed it was very stained and therefore not very appealing. It is true that you get what you pay for - we only lasted three out of the five nights we had booked for - and ended up ending our break at a hotel costing six times as much but providing what we wanted. Don't let this put you off though - if you want cheap and cheerful in a good location then this hotel ticks the boxes!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stc8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We wear staying at this hotel which amazing hotel with best location .it is located at Thamel .Thamel mean crowd but it is hidden from noise . The room is very clean , good wifi in room and very helpful staff . We had dinner and breakfast which is delicious . Only one garden hotel in Thamel which is very quite and good drink and snake . They have one helping office which name is emperial Nepal which best service and professinoal team thank you very much blue horizon family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yessure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Looked nice enough so took it. Went out for dinner and then returned to see light peeping through door. Gave door little push and it opened without use of key. The door doesn't actually lock. Thank god my wallet or passport etc weren't stolen (with a day to go till i return home). Later went to sleep and soon awoke because the bed was laden with bedbugs. Complained to staff member in foyer he remonstrated that the rooms were cleaned on regular basis. Upon inspecting the sheets we discovered huge orange patch at foot of the bed. Hmm? That left him speechless. His solution was to simply lay another sheet over the bed. I doubted this would work but this is 2am now so I don't protest and lay down to sleep. Wake an hour later covered in many more bites and my hand has swollen because of allergy. Sleep the rest of the night on leather sofa. Staff were not apologetic nor understanding. I'm sure there's better rooms but they shouldn't be able to get away with selling this room when it is far below standard. This room is on third floor near a terrace. If the staff read this, you very well know which room it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Combt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Cheap, friendly and helpful staff, clean and a great location. Close to various shops and restaurants- Fire and Ice and Himalayan Java.
The food is quite nice, especially the tea.

Request a room away from the kitchen though if you like to sleep in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tash118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The place is pretty cheap at Rs.1,500 for a deluxe room. Except the phone wasn't working in my room from the second i walked in. The breakfast was very ordinary, unimpressive scrambled eggs, something I could've made better.

The greatest thing about this restaurant is the location. Close to Thamel shopping area, Durbar marg shopping area, Garden of Dreams and walking distance from Tekchu Thakali food, which had great food and apple-brandy!

Having been in August, i wouldn't know if the heating is good. But it didn't seem like it given the cool flooring.

The tour guide is great, he will arrange any cabs / sight seeing you need within 12 hours. Had most of my stuff ready. No one tried to rip me off, i paid regular price.

Room Tip: They have 5 floors of rooms, you'll have to walk all the way to the top since there are no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#58 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#106 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
Hotel Pleasure Home Pvt.Ltd
#88 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing