We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful island in the midst of Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #85 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu after a long flight, and after reading about how busy it is in Thamel, we were expecting noise and traffic. What a lovely refuge we found at Blue Horizon! Although only 5 minutes from the bustling streets and a host of restaurants and attractions, it feels like you are a world away. Rooms on the left going up the stairs ( C2 and D2 I think) are spacious, and overlook the garden. Throw open the window and watch the birds swooping through the trees - great way to chill out. Don't miss the Garden of Dreams a few minutes walk away - another great escape from the business of Thamel itself. Lots coffee shops and restaurants in walking distance - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cokeythebandanadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at hotel Blue Horizon the night my late arrival in Kathmandu - the hotel offers airport pick up, essential when you arrive after midnight.
The deluxe room I had booked was clean and as expected. A bit noisy maybe, but I did arrive during Tihar festival. I also spent the last two nights of my stay in Nepal here, but in one of the cheapest rooms, which was perfectly fine for me but if you want a bit of space and a quieter room go for the upgraded ones. The location is good, being in Thamel but away form the noise. Breakfast in the garden was pleasant and staff helpful and friendly. Perfect for a mid-range budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden, and opt for the deluxe if you can afford it - the standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pivi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

For the past 12-15 yrs i have been regularly staying at Hotel Blue Horizon and it was always a very pleasent stay. In fact once i had the Hungarian National Television travel with me and they were very impressed as well. Nothing other than "the best choice in Kathmandu".

Room Tip: The big room above the reception is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank goredas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed with them last October 2013, the location is good. Managed to walk around in day and night time, very close to most of the attractions in Kathmandu. Ram was helpful and flexible with the last minute changes on our booking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MJ_Aqua77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I arrived later than planned as I was travelling on the bus from Pokhara, however due to this the manager had assumed that I was not coming an cancelled my reservation. The hotel apparently had wifi that was so weak it might as well have not been there. The bathroom didn't feel clean and I honestly didn't want to risk trying the food.
On a positive note, the hotel management did arrange for me to do the Scenic Flight of Mount Everest which was good and I would recommend this to any travellers who don't have time to trek to Base camp.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHenry789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed 8 or 9 times in Blue Horizont. People is friendly and helpful and not disturbing overservicing. Its perfect located if you want access Thamel without being in the trouble.
Food is fine, sometimes surprisingly good. Now the BH has a new nice garden.
My suggestion to the owner: add a small bar to the garden, for an evening beer and add some _comfortable!_ chairs and tables.

Room Tip: Rooms on top of the old building have a nice view and sometimes nice morning chants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tilicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have to begin with emphasizing i was there a little bit early in the season, and also part of the bad experience was external, but still have to rate according to my own experience so here goes.
communication with the staff member Debra to organize airport pick up was efficient, and the pick up was there on time with a clear sign.
when got to the hotel we received a our deluxe room which had nothing more deluxe in it than any other simple room we have seen in Kathmandu - the sheets weren't as clean as they can be, the bed comfort was nothing that can be described as deluxe as well, the room was very small
the worst thing was a really bad smell of paint since the toilet was recently repainted.
we were also locked inside a bit because of a bad door handle.
after rescued from the room by a passing staff member we asked for a different and cleaner room which was a bit cleaner but had the same bad smell but we were very tired so we compromised for the night.
after checking in the manager approached and asked as about our plans and tried to offer as his own services for organizing our trek which is very legitimate.
the thing that bothered us was that he kept repeating we should use his offered services and not go with any other agency (he even mentioned a specific one that many people from my country uses and said bad things about them).
he kept repeating that this way (me taking all his services) they will give me in the hotel a very good stay experience.
which left me wonder what kind of stay experience will i be left with if i won't use the offers.
after one night we found a nicer and cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank deep_flame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#84 of 209 in Kathmandu
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#42 of 209 in Kathmandu
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 209 in Kathmandu
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#58 of 209 in Kathmandu
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £9 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing