We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Ram and Hotel Blue Horizom”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #83 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is my 2nd review in this hotel, Before 9 years i am stay this hotel same management but every thing change.They have 3 block this time but now they nave 3 new building which is very nice garden and very helpful staff. The person i meet this first person he is mr ram he is very nice and man.At this time i have problems about my health ram bring me teaching hospital and he help me more then my travel partner.
Really they have some problems i accept this before but now they change every thing their service and room decoration.
I highly commandant this place and Mr Ram

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank man w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

The free airport pickup was not there, I had to contact them via the taxi desk. On arrival, I didn't see any signs of security - the area around the check-in desk was totally open and exposed. I had asked for a premium single room. The date was January 7 (very cold!), and I was led to an open, outside, rickety staircase leading to a room on the fifth floor. In my view, this room would have been unbearably cold (no sign of any heat). Coupled with the fact that I would have had to walk outside to find meals, I chose not to stay there (and forfeited my deposit) - there are plenty of other hotels in Thamel which have secure entry and rooms which do not require an outside walk to reach them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank 58Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel was really nice. The room were really big, clean, pretty and really worth your money. This hotel offers free airport pick up. We were already in Kathmandu and Ram offered to give us an airport drop off instead. The staff were really helpful, they offered to help us book eg flights to pokhara but we had already organised it prior to staying here. We had a 'Deluxe' room with hot showers, and the pressure was really good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What makes this place is the staff. They cater to your every need. Ram and his team are really lovely, warm people who go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay. If we ever go back to Kathmandu we will stay here

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCORAlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel was really ok and well located....but i really didn t like the pressure of the manager to sell me a treck. as soon as i arrived after 15 hours of flight and then Every single time, morning, lunch, night i was coming back to sell me a treck!! As it was convenient finally i accepted to book a treck through the hotel... and that was a mistake because i could not see the guide before accepting...and the guide (his name is hary) was really bad, quite rude, never talking, never smilling, never explaining things and answering to my questions by one or 2 words...etc...very disapointing

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were here for one night and I would definately say that this hotel is worth your money. The room was clean (at least with Nepal standards), the staff friendly, location is perfect and the food was really good. SInce we were here at the cold season the room aswell was a bit cold. We had ordered a "Deluxe" room with hot shower, but there was no hot water. That fact that we had to shower in cold water when it was freezing outside caused the both of us to get a cold. Therefore we choosed another hotel the week after when we arrived to Kathmandu again, even though we liked this hotel very much. Other than that....very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnikaDavidsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu after a long flight, and after reading about how busy it is in Thamel, we were expecting noise and traffic. What a lovely refuge we found at Blue Horizon! Although only 5 minutes from the bustling streets and a host of restaurants and attractions, it feels like you are a world away. Rooms on the left going up the stairs ( C2 and D2 I think) are spacious, and overlook the garden. Throw open the window and watch the birds swooping through the trees - great way to chill out. Don't miss the Garden of Dreams a few minutes walk away - another great escape from the business of Thamel itself. Lots coffee shops and restaurants in walking distance - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cokeythebandanadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#82 of 207 in Kathmandu
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#37 of 207 in Kathmandu
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing