We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #84 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I stayed couple of times at Blue horizon during my last trips to Nepal. Thay have a fantastic airport pick up service. The garden and rooftop terrace are just amazing. It is located at Thamel at the heart of Kathmandu. The room, bed, bathroom are very clean and the price is very resonable. The hotel staff are very knowledgeable about tour and trek in Nepal. They also arrange those services. The food at hotels restaurant is awesome and the menu covers the wide range of food.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

The hotel provided me comfort and convienence at very affordable price. Location could not be better. Rooms were clean, service was prompt and food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idiworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Blue Horizon in Thamel. We had a Super Deluxe room which was neat and clean with running hot water all the time. The location, food and hospitality given to us were absolutely great.
Hotel staffs were very helpful. They sorted out our trekking trip to Ghorepani along with Sherpa and Guide. Guide was very nice and knowledgeable.

Thanks for making my stay pleasent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riofrio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Hotel Blue Horizon is unbelievable. Excellent room and room service, convenient to shopping and major attaractions, friendly staffs and serve variety of meals. I heartly recommend everyone to stay there.

See you again 'Hotel Blue Horizon'

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ransham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

After our bad experience in India, we fortunately landed in Kathmandu and found Best Hotel, Hotel Blue Horizon which is located in peace and quiet area surrounded by trees .Hotel Blue Horizon has Lovely garden where they serve breakfast and snacks as well as free WI-FI spot.
The staffs of the hotel are very friendly with big smile. Beautiful Tibetan women give you smile which is very strange after India. They also have generator so that we got power all the time. The hot shower worked properly. We had great time there.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpeterson525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I've stayed here twice now and the people are so friendly. It is close to most things and the rooms are super clean. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h_r_matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Good location just in the entrance of Thamel, good garden where the hotel provide good service. Our room was in the new building and we felt as in our home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#81 of 207 in Kathmandu
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#39 of 207 in Kathmandu
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing