We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Tradition

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tradition
Ranked #179 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 11 July 2009

After a lousy experience with the International Guest House (see review) we found the Tradition very good. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Ok, the bathroom was small but how much room do you need to take a shower. I would stay there again without hesitation. Whatever you do, avoid the International Guest house like the plague.
The person replying to your emails, Mukheya is a liar.

Scotty, Australia

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottyAustrlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Namaste and very warmest regards
Thank you very much for your very kind reviews all our team is happy and trying to updating more by that we are trying to make memorable stay for all our valued guests.
Thanks & regards
Ram Kumar puri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights whilst in Thamel. Rooms were on the small side and the bathrooms were even smaller when you turned on the shower the roilet and the sink and everything else in the bathroom would also get wet! But at least there was always hot water - which not all hotels in Thamel have.
It was a couple of minutes further ot fro the centre of Thamel so is a lot less noisy, but still a close walk to shops and restaurants.
If you are on a budget and value for money its well worth it.
Laundry was expensive so I would recommend to use an outside source.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear sir/ Madam
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon now small but cosy and good hot water

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Decently clean place. Hot water at varying times but in Sept a cool shower was OK. Beds are really hard, thin mattresses, had to use our thermarests under the mattress. Bathrooms were fine. Restaurant was good, great view there from the top floor. Location in Thamel is good, walk or rickshaw to just about anywhere in the tourist district. Paid 20-25 US per night. Don't bother with the suite. Fans in most rooms. Mngmt was very helpfull and stored our stuff while we went rafting. Reasonably quiet as it's kinda out of the main drag of Thamel. The mattresses are the only real issue, and may not be for some people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McReel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear sir/ Madam
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

Hotel Tradition is a not in the centre of Thamel but everything is within walking distance or rickshaw. The rooms are excellent, with ensuite bathrooms and some with air conditioning or at least a fan. The food on the 8th (top) floor restaurant, with fantastic views overlooking KTM valley is great and there's a varied choice of Nepalese and Tibetan food (I liked the Chicken Momo and the Chicken Sizzler). Staff were friendly and helpful, and made you feel at home.

Our party of 5 stayed during the summer of 2003, so it was the low season and paid around $6 a night, which was great - no idea how much the prices are during the rest of the year.

There was also a good cheap laundry service, and windows were double glazed so it was possible to drown out the bustle of the city streets (which can be almost constant).

The owner exhibits his Thankas all around the hotel which are available to buy. All in all, a great place to stay - we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed: July 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank castlering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank fabienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous ne mangez pas sur place, préférez celles basses car le resto est au 6 ème, à moins que vous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le restaurant est au dernier étage, prendre une chambre au 3ème étage permet d'être centré entre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradition

Address: P.O. Box 14396, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £11 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tradition 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free pick up service and Transport from hotel if inform, Deluxe 9 Inch comfort Dunlop, Clean bed sheet, Bed Cover, Twaol,all necessary equipments in room and bath room will be provededAll room with Private bath room some has deluxe naturally decorated bath Tub,Everyday room cleaning and Everyday changing the clothes of rooms, Business center,Private safe deposit locker,Free luggage storage when traveling and in treks,International call,Free WI FI and also pay intern ate facility,Travel and Treks Information and arranging at reasonable cost,Roof top Beer garden and Restaurant,Doctor on call, mailing and cargo facility, All international necessary facilities will be provided on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Tradition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradition Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing