We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good hotel and value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tradition

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tradition
Ranked #168 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good hotel and value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed in this hotel in Kathmandu for 10 days during a layover between Overland Trips. Many in my group left for cheaper hostels, but i stayed because my room size was huge and the hotel staff was friendly and reliable. Positives - consistent warm showers, nice rooftop bar with views of Kathmandu, far enough away from Thamel to be nice and quiet, close enough to Thamel to stumble home full of beef and beer, cleaning staff sweet and friendly (she helped me chase a pigeon back out from the open window that i'd forgotten about!) . Negatives - some rooms smaller than others, horrible hard "mattress" (bring a ThermaRest), those 8 flights of stairs at Altitude~!!!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grafton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ram Kumar P, Manager at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thanks & Regards
Greetings from Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House, thank you very for your kind comments still i am trying to promoting and giving good service to other our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austrlia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

After a lousy experience with the International Guest House (see review) we found the Tradition very good. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Ok, the bathroom was small but how much room do you need to take a shower. I would stay there again without hesitation. Whatever you do, avoid the International Guest house like the plague.
The person replying to your emails, Mukheya is a liar.

Scotty, Australia

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyAustrlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Namaste and very warmest regards
Thank you very much for your very kind reviews all our team is happy and trying to updating more by that we are trying to make memorable stay for all our valued guests.
Thanks & regards
Ram Kumar puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights whilst in Thamel. Rooms were on the small side and the bathrooms were even smaller when you turned on the shower the roilet and the sink and everything else in the bathroom would also get wet! But at least there was always hot water - which not all hotels in Thamel have.
It was a couple of minutes further ot fro the centre of Thamel so is a lot less noisy, but still a close walk to shops and restaurants.
If you are on a budget and value for money its well worth it.
Laundry was expensive so I would recommend to use an outside source.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear sir/ Madam
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon now small but cosy and good hot water
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Decently clean place. Hot water at varying times but in Sept a cool shower was OK. Beds are really hard, thin mattresses, had to use our thermarests under the mattress. Bathrooms were fine. Restaurant was good, great view there from the top floor. Location in Thamel is good, walk or rickshaw to just about anywhere in the tourist district. Paid 20-25 US per night. Don't bother with the suite. Fans in most rooms. Mngmt was very helpfull and stored our stuff while we went rafting. Reasonably quiet as it's kinda out of the main drag of Thamel. The mattresses are the only real issue, and may not be for some people.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McReel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear sir/ Madam
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2007

Hotel Tradition is a not in the centre of Thamel but everything is within walking distance or rickshaw. The rooms are excellent, with ensuite bathrooms and some with air conditioning or at least a fan. The food on the 8th (top) floor restaurant, with fantastic views overlooking KTM valley is great and there's a varied choice of Nepalese and Tibetan food (I liked the Chicken Momo and the Chicken Sizzler). Staff were friendly and helpful, and made you feel at home.

Our party of 5 stayed during the summer of 2003, so it was the low season and paid around $6 a night, which was great - no idea how much the prices are during the rest of the year.

There was also a good cheap laundry service, and windows were double glazed so it was possible to drown out the bustle of the city streets (which can be almost constant).

The owner exhibits his Thankas all around the hotel which are available to buy. All in all, a great place to stay - we had no problems at all.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the staff.
  • Disliked — Rats - they are all over Kathmandu and can't be avoided.
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank castlering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Down Town
#133 of 194 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradition

Property: Hotel Tradition
Address: P.O. Box 14396, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tradition 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free pick up service and Transport from hotel if inform, Deluxe 9 Inch comfort Dunlop, Clean bed sheet, Bed Cover, Twaol,all necessary equipments in room and bath room will be provededAll room with Private bath room some has deluxe naturally decorated bath Tub,Everyday room cleaning and Everyday changing the clothes of rooms, Business center,Private safe deposit locker,Free luggage storage when traveling and in treks,International call,Free WI FI and also pay intern ate facility,Travel and Treks Information and arranging at reasonable cost,Roof top Beer garden and Restaurant,Doctor on call, mailing and cargo facility, All international necessary facilities will be provided on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tradition Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing