We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit pricey”
Review of Hotel Tradition

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tradition
Ranked #169 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed here ealier in the year for one night when returning from a trek. It is a comfortable hotel with good views from the rooftop restaurant. The rooms are fine and clean, and althought the costs were covered in our trekking fees, we looked at the price list for the rooms and they seemed somewhat overpriced for the value. The hotel is very central and close to all the amenities in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkE_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ram Kumar P, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Sir Namaste & Greetings from Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House ( Privious Hotel Tradition) we am very happy for your kind comments and thankful vote along with changing our name facilities and materials for room is also promoting to make more enjoyable for our valued guests
Thanks & Regards

Ram kumar puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I have been travelling to Nepal regularly for the past four years. Each time I stay at Hotel TRadition. At one point I stayed there for over two months. I got to know the staff very well and they were very accomodation. I have been there with lost luggage for over a week and they were very helpful. I have been there with someone very ill and they took great care of us. I do not want to stay anywhere else when I am in Kathmandu.
Kalthleen K.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

A good location in Thamel but we were hassled constantly by staff wanting to sell us a trek or other tourist experience. The guy who met us at the airport tried, then the receptionist, and even the bartender. We expected to encounter a lot of pushy salesmen on the streets, but not inside a hotel. But perhaps this is just how Kathmandu hotels are. The bartender overcharged our drinks and claimed we'd given him invalid currency (we hadn't) as well.

The room was ok (although you'd expect the flush toilet to work in a mid-range hotel).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear sir/ Madam
All staffs and management has been changed now we are very sure and confirm that no any hassle against our valued guest.
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel noTradition Hote any more It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We came there first time only for 1 night without any special requirements. I've got a good price and we decided to stay there also some days later for 3 nights.
The rooms are very small, but I do not think that anyone comes to Kathmandu to spend the time at a hotel room. Bathroom is even smaller, but not an issue to manage it.
Hotel has one of the highest buildings at Thamel so you can have a nice view over the roofs from your room, or at least from the restaurant at 6th floor.
The restaurant was the only weak point. We went there only for breakfast (quality was OK!). The service was bad (but friendly) and concept of paying 60 rupees for 2 slices of bread looks funny to me.
But considering the good price I've got we were satisfied and would suggest the place to anyone who looks for an accomodation at Thamel.

  • Liked — location, value vs. money
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Manager at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Namaste & always welcome to our Heritage Home Hotel & guest House, thanks for your kind reviews still we are not enough to give service we are specializing to make your stay as better as we can
Thanks & regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed in this hotel in Kathmandu for 10 days during a layover between Overland Trips. Many in my group left for cheaper hostels, but i stayed because my room size was huge and the hotel staff was friendly and reliable. Positives - consistent warm showers, nice rooftop bar with views of Kathmandu, far enough away from Thamel to be nice and quiet, close enough to Thamel to stumble home full of beef and beer, cleaning staff sweet and friendly (she helped me chase a pigeon back out from the open window that i'd forgotten about!) . Negatives - some rooms smaller than others, horrible hard "mattress" (bring a ThermaRest), those 8 flights of stairs at Altitude~!!!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ram Kumar P, Manager at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thanks & Regards
Greetings from Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House, thank you very for your kind comments still i am trying to promoting and giving good service to other our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrlia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

After a lousy experience with the International Guest House (see review) we found the Tradition very good. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Ok, the bathroom was small but how much room do you need to take a shower. I would stay there again without hesitation. Whatever you do, avoid the International Guest house like the plague.
The person replying to your emails, Mukheya is a liar.

Scotty, Australia

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyAustrlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Namaste and very warmest regards
Thank you very much for your very kind reviews all our team is happy and trying to updating more by that we are trying to make memorable stay for all our valued guests.
Thanks & regards
Ram Kumar puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights whilst in Thamel. Rooms were on the small side and the bathrooms were even smaller when you turned on the shower the roilet and the sink and everything else in the bathroom would also get wet! But at least there was always hot water - which not all hotels in Thamel have.
It was a couple of minutes further ot fro the centre of Thamel so is a lot less noisy, but still a close walk to shops and restaurants.
If you are on a budget and value for money its well worth it.
Laundry was expensive so I would recommend to use an outside source.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimal N, Owner at Hotel Tradition, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear sir/ Madam
We have changed almost everything and put the new dun lop 9 inch very comfortable, Blankets, fresh tawol, all rooms WI FI also changed the name of hotel It is Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House.Friendly staffs health breakfast and giving free transport for Airport to Hotel< Now it is very comfort see new reviews.any comments will be advice able will be updated soon now small but cosy and good hot water
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 201 in Kathmandu
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 201 in Kathmandu
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradition

Property: Hotel Tradition
Address: P.O. Box 14396, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tradition 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free pick up service and Transport from hotel if inform, Deluxe 9 Inch comfort Dunlop, Clean bed sheet, Bed Cover, Twaol,all necessary equipments in room and bath room will be provededAll room with Private bath room some has deluxe naturally decorated bath Tub,Everyday room cleaning and Everyday changing the clothes of rooms, Business center,Private safe deposit locker,Free luggage storage when traveling and in treks,International call,Free WI FI and also pay intern ate facility,Travel and Treks Information and arranging at reasonable cost,Roof top Beer garden and Restaurant,Doctor on call, mailing and cargo facility, All international necessary facilities will be provided on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tradition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradition Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing