We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kathmandu Peace Guest House
Ranked #88 of 476 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The highlight of my one night stay here was the people - the patient, helpful boys who met me at the airport and drove skilfully through the chaotic streets, the smiling welcoming man on reception who helped with every question I asked, the young man in the restaurant serving a good breakfast.
The guest house was quiet, allowing for a good sleep, and yet near the centre of the action - close to Thamel and attractions. My room was on the rooftop of a neighbouring house with a small sunny balcony. It was basic, but very clean and had everything I needed for one comfortable night. I couldn't get hot water, or wifi connection but didn't mind that. The two houses had outdoor seating and areas to relax and meet other guests. Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooftop with balcony was worth the climb up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest !
Thank your for your review and like our property for using few night at kathmandu peace guesthouse. Thank your for useing our Airport pickup and like our Guest house staff and Breakfast. Your valuable review will be very important for our management team for upgrate to maintain for facility.
Thank your
bikash upreti
Kathmandu Peace guesthhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel offered us wifi and assistance even before we booked there. The owner went to great lengths to help us fix our travel agency situation, too. An incredibly kind and compassionate man.

The rooms are fairly nice and the hotel is in a quiet area, Paknajol. We had no hot water while there and the wifi was spotty at times, but the beds were fantastic and warm. You can also store your luggage here and use their transport service, which was great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tylerphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear guest
Thank your for your review at trip advisor, which is very valuable for us. Time to time we are trying to upgrade our service to our guest. Thank you for staying at KTM Peace Guest house and give us your suggestion.
Thank you and we are waiting your next visit soon
Bikash upreti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff go out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. There is also a free pickup/drop from the airport if you stay 2+ nights. I'd recommend this place if you are coming into the country and don't mind the tepid water so much. It never really gets hot. If you finished a trek and need to relax you may want a hot shower.

The power in the city goes out on a schedule. There is an emergency light in the room. Small and cheap guest houses can't afford a generator. If you want them to turn on the boiler make sure that this isn't during a power outage and then give them a ring at reception. The heater seems to turn the water from ice cold to tepid. It was OK for me when I wanted a cheap hotel for my first few nights.

This place is excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpottyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear guest !
Thank your for your valuable review and searing our service at tripadvisor . we are always cearful to guest satisfaction and quality servie maintain. But unfortunately your didin't got hot sawer and tapid water problem, if we know on time we are aredy to fix it withen a minute but we are late so i like to say sorry and promise you next time definitely will not happen. thank you for your support to our management team.
Have a nice time and waiting your next visit to Nepal.
Bikash upreti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great place to stay. Bikash helped me at many points, from giving me directions to sights, or helping me with taxi fares and showing me the way to clinics. Bikash stored my luggage while I went to India and helped me book train tickets through India. The night I returned to Kathmandu I got back at 3 am, and he was waiting to let me in the gates. The rooftop view is phenomenal and a great place for late nights. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Geust !
Thank your for choosing kathmandu peace guesthouse and like our service . it is our duty and responsibility to help and make easier to our guest during a staying in Nepal. Thank to used our free luggage storage service which is only for our guest who staying at guest house. Normally we close the main gate after 11 pm, so i thought you was tired with long journey so that i don't liek to wait outside thats way i was waiting outside to carry your bag and make your easier.
thank your
see your in your next visit to nepal
bikash upreti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here March 2014 for 9 excellent days. It was what it said, peaceful in Kathmandu style. I had an accident and Bikash took me to the hospital 2 times, generally very friendly owners and staff. Bikash smart and funny guy, always there to help. Especially if there are peanuts on the table!

Thank you for nursing us with great chai masala and food in the room, for the company on the ismall garden under the sun, generally for everything and mostly for your smiles :)

Giorgos and Artemis

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kifinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear guest
Thank your for your review at tripadvisor and staying at kathmandu peace guest house. Thank your again to remember us what i did to you , it was my duty to help becouse of you had bike accident so it my duty and also responsibility to take to hospital for your treatment. i am very happy to know that you like our familier service ...with smile.
we will be waiting your next visit soon.
Thank you
bikash upreti
Kathmandu peace guest house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed about a week with in this guest house and found it to be comfortable, inexpensive and relaxing. the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist me in my stay in Nepal. The food was nice and plentiful. The accommodation is simple but comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay again.
I found this guest house through Himalayan Quest Travels & Tourism. The staff from this company were very very helpful and I highly recommend them to anyone needing travel assistance in Nepal.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for help. They are great and very willing to assist you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear valuable guest
Thank your for your review at tripadvisor and like our service & Food at Restaurant. we always careful for cleanness, comfortable and securety to our guest. For your next visit will be more comfortable & great time to nepal.
Thank your !
bikash upreti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I just spent 2 weeks trekking in Nepal, staying in Kathmandu, Pokhara and Chitwan National Park. We were fortunate to link up with the hotel in KTM as a mate and his wife had done the same trek years earlier. So with confidence we left everything to Kesab and Khrishna at the KTM Peace Guest House, from picking us up at the airport , outlying a 6 day trek to Poon Hill and Ghandruk which was tailored to our needs, me being 61 and my wife 59 we were looked after famously by our guide Dip and porter Sembu. We stayed.3 nights at Chitwan at the tiger Camp and 3 nights at HOTEL Grand , Lakeside. But the trek was fantastic, so helpful was the guide and the porter they made the trip for us. My advice go with these guys and you will not be disappointed. Honest, trustworthy, reputable, caring what more can we say. Happy to take questions re costs etc. don't worry about buying sleeping bags and thermal coats etc, wait until you get to Nepal, Dip took me to a place in KTM costs were about $60 each for sleeping bag and coats, sure not the real North Face but made in Vietnam or China but did the trick , we were warm thru the night. Going back again to do Everest viewing, can't wait. Do yourself a favour contact me for details etc. form Marg and Justin in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NooratBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upreti, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Peace Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear guest !
Thank your for your review at trip advisor and like our service. we are glad to know your are trusting and used our free storage service at hotel. Also we like to say thank to your valuable suggesation for shopping, next time we will directly helping by my self. we all are waiting your next visit to Nepal.
thank you again.
bikash upreti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#3 of 476 in Kathmandu
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 210 in Kathmandu
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Peace Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Peace Guest House

Address: Pakanajol | Ktm-16, Ganeshraj Marg., Kathmandu 5350, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Peace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A HOME AWAY FROM HOME "KATHMANDU PEACE GUEST HOUSE is located is a quiet area: just 5 minutes walk from Thamel tourist junction,on the fringe of the Thamel. It is a close from kathmandu royal palace and monkey tample.We assure you for the clean,safe,totally free of pollution and traffic noise staying.We provide accommodation at highly competitive rates.green garden around the guest house with roof top garden terrace provides relaxing enviroment with good view of himalayas and monkey tample,''''''''COME AS A GUEST GO AS A FRIEND '''''' '''Your Satisfactio is Our Motto''' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kathmandu Peace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Peace Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing