We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£75
Fully refundable before Mon, 11 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£85
Fully refundable before Mon, 11 Mar
Expedia.com
£95
Fully refundable before Tue, 12 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveller rating
925
124
23
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
925
124
23
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prayer flags beautiful courtyard an oasis the penthouse the hustle and bustle busy thamel thamel district home away from home wonderful stay rooms are clean visit kathmandu hot water prem heart nepal hub architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and had a lovely comfortable stay...good food..good people...good booze obviously....great music...great company...very very well located...looking forward to going back there...last but not the least...
Prem the owner is the right man to talk to and he is an amazing host....cheers mate..

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank saileshsarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalai-La Boutiq... H, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Namaste Sailesh,

Thank you for taking you time to write such a generous review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and know you personally.

It makes us all blissful to read a very sincere review like yours, especially knowing that you are one of our treasured guests, who never fail to visit us with pure excitement.

Thank you once again, We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Until than take care.

Best wishes and regards.

Sincerely,
Prem P. Gurung
Executive Chairman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

It's always a dream to come back in that paradise. Prem is running this hotel with excellency. His staff is just amazing as a lot of people in this country i have to say.
I can't wait the time i ll be there one more time.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Namaste0643
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalai-La Boutiq... H, General Manager at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Namaste,

It is so wonderful to receive such fantastic feedback from a regular guest like you.

I am pleased to know you thought so highly of us and thanks for sharing your experience with other reviewers here on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Best Wishes and Regards

Prem P. Gurung

Executive Chairman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

After a couple of weeks of backpacking around and staying in super budget joints, i splurged on 2 nights at the Dalai-la. It was heaven. Posh service and surroundings. I was upgraded to a better room (without asking) and the room was amazing - on par with the finest hotels i have stayed in. Comfy bed, satellite tv, a private balcony, endless hot water and electricity (a real bonus in Nepal), and polished service. The best part is the beautiful courtyard, where i enjoyed dinner and breakfast and, one night, live music. It was a great way to end my trip.
Plus, the location is perfect, in the middle of Thamel, which is walking distance to most sights.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalai-La Boutiq... H, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Namaste ,

Thank you for taking the time to share detailed review.

It is great pleasure to learn that about all the positive aspects that made you enjoy your time here in Dalai-La.

I do appreciate your kind words about the facilities from the rooms which you felt were comfortable and amazing, the deliciously cooked food, our live band music as well as the genuine service that my team successfully delivered to you during your stay.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best Wishes and Regards

Prem P. Gurung
Executive Chairman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 weeks in late May 2016, and stayed in 3 different room types (superior, super deluxe and Everest suite). The views from the Everest Suite is Amazing!

This hotel is paradise amongst the hustle and bustle of Thamel. The breakfast was great, along with the full restaurant menu. My only complaint is the bar staff really need to ask what size pour for drinks instead of assuming; just be sure to specify when ordering.

All of the staff went above and beyond to take care of me! Thank you!!!

I look forward to staying here again on my next trip to Kathmandu in 2017.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank Red9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalai-La Boutiq... H, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Namaste Patrick,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for the generous review and also for the wonderful photographs. Glad to know that you reached home safe. I apologize for the inconvenience that had been caused due to the bar staff. I will make sure it wont be repeated again. Neither with you nor any other guest.
Other than the bar incident hope you and your whole group liked the hospitality and service we provided in the hotel.Dalai-La will always be home for you. It's been a pleasure to know you personally.

We look forward forward to host you again.
Until your next visit, take care and be safe.

Best wishes and regards,
Prem Prabhat Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

First of all staff there are wonderful and extremely sporty, I booked the Everest suite, who is on the 5th floor, as a good eco-resort ...no elevator..which we have been informed only on our arrival, the location is very good in Thamel center, also A/C only working at certain hours, bkfst also not too much choice as it is a fix menu served on the plate.Overall nice experience in Kathmandu.

Room tip: if you are ok with stairs Everest suite is fantastic
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalai-La Boutiq... H, Owner at Dalai-La Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Namaste Ningbo,
Dhanyabad for the review and sharing your experience. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Its been a pleasure hosting you. We hope you will visit us again.
Regards,
Prem P. Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews