We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Ship Restaurant Bar and Lounge
Ranked #36 of 1,242 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Nepalese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: When the sun shines, which is often in Kathmandu, our delicious food can be served to our rooftop garden, on our upper decks and our main promenade. This provides a more casual approach to the Ship's dining experience and there are spaces for over 60 diners to enjoy the Kathmandu sunshine. Our main restaurant rooms provide comfort for all our guests in well spaced and uncluttered tables. Our menu has been designed so that all food can be prepared from fresh and delivered to the table within 30 minutes of ordering. All foods whenever possible are organically produced from local sources and will be served by young, enthusiastic and motivated people. Most are students taking their diplomas at a local Hotel Management college and it is the founders aim to help the education of the young.The Ship will assist in this education and will help promote the empowerment of women by providing a vehicle for on the job training and learning as well as providing in house development. Our emphasis will be on quality. Quality of food, quality of service and quality of surroundings, this emphasis will not be compromised. We believe that dining at 'The Ship' will be an unforgettable experience unrivalled in Kathmandu and we look forward to pushing the culinary boundaries of the dining culture within Nepal.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We have ordered the pumpkin and ginger soup and buffalo chicken wings as appetiser. The soup is creamy and tastes very good. The chicken wings are little bit spicy but very delicious. Portion is large.

The lasagne is the best main course. I try many lasagne before but cannot compare with this one. Both presentation and taste are in top level.

Poke chop is ok. We order apple cider love it.

It is near Thamel. Services is excellent. They are very friendly and informative.

I would highly recommend people in Kathmandu must try this restaurant. They even help us to find a taxi with a very reasonable price back to hotel.

Excellent restaurant !!!!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 200 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I have been there 4 times in 2 trips to Nepal this year. I like to fly to into Kathmandu and have my start and finish meal when in Nepal for 2-3 week trekking expiditions in the Himalayas.

It's my chance to treat myself and my friends to a fresh and delicious meal before eating a more specific diet when hiking in the Himalayas usually consisting of vegetable rice and noodles only.

Being a pescatarisn myself - The Himalayan trout is one of the best fish dishes I have tasted! I love fresh fish coming from HK it's always a bit more tricky to come about and the portion is perfect to be paired alongside the mash potatoes and vegetables. The lamb chops have also been highly popular at the table

We always have a glass of wine at the arrival dinner and usually a bottle each at the closing dinner. The house red from Chile is fabulous when paired with meats.

Service wise is exemption all. Babu the manager took very good care of me and my team. And I cannot stress how wonderful it is when all staff on the site recognised me walking in on my 2nd trip to Nepal. The trips were 8 weeks apart - a sign of true 5* service !

My dad came along on the 2nd trip and loved it - he also had the Himalayan trout on both dinner occasions not wanting to try any other main course it was that good

We will be back again when in Nepal for another trek!!!!!

I

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank MelanieJade33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I must admit that finding a good restaurant in Kathmandu is not an easy task so I am very glad that I found this one thanks to my fellow tripadvisers. An oasis of peace in the bustle of the city with good food, good service and good wine. No doubt the place to eat in town

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank rickyspa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Not long landed in Kathmandu, early dinner. Lovely service. Good food. Clean. Recommend to other travelers

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 106katej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Ship is the best restaurant we eat in Kathmandu in our trip. The chicken we eated there is one of the meals i will remember
I recomend it for sure !

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Josep M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Ship Restaurant Bar and Lounge also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Ship Restaurant Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.