We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Ranked #50 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Holy Himalaya is fantastic place to stay, especially if you are transiting through KTM. It is a budget hotel, but it was clean and comfortable with really good service. Breakfast was fairly good too. Hot water is guaranteed between 6 and 9 am and pm every day which is a pleasant reliability given the power situation in Nepal. It also has free wifi - which came and went, but during our second day it was reasonably fast for Nepal and stayed on for a fair while. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we had no cause for complaint. It is a budget hotel, but you get a lot for what you pay for.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hallam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

We Have spent Our Two Night stay here Enjoyed the quiet claim location with Beautiful & Tastefully Decorated Rooms when asked the Heater Provided worked Excellent Delicious breakfast & The staffs were friendliest With the average speaking & Did great job when we needed really a Place that i will go back for with no hesitation This Hotel is really clean just in perfect back drops which still just takes Less than a minute to the Main Drag of THAMEL.

Room Tip: Take the Room beside the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9HillStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to Durbar Square. There is plenty of souvenirs shops and the local market right around the corner. The property is located on a side street, in a quiet location away from the crowd and the noise. There is a patio with tables where you can sit outside and relax with a beer and a cigarette. The hotel is comfortable, rooms are spacious and the Internet connection is very good. Restaurants are everywhere. I did not eat at the hotel but they gave me hot tea and prepared a box-to-go with breakfast when I left for the airport very early. My only complaint is about the flushing system of the toilets. I used one in the common area and it was clogged. Also the toilet in my bathroom did not flush properly. Overall the hotel is worthy the little money they charge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here before and after our Annapurna Base Camp trek. The rooms are clean and of a decent size. It is also centrally based but in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfast is average - make sure you don't go too late as the food is served cold! They only have hot shower water in the morning and evening. Overall, its an average hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKothary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have stayed at Holy Himalaya Hotel for at least 4 times now and I am planning to return there again this year. The location could not be any better - right in the heart of Thamel near shops and excellent range of places to eat. The staff and service is excellent - I have been made feel at home every time I visit. Being picked up from the airport by them always makes me feel welcome in Kathmandu. Breakfast is good but there are a few places around where I enjoy it more, so I tend to eat outside. For those that like to get up early, ask at reception about free yoga classes on the rooftop! They are worth getting up for. It's my preferred hotel in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Nice hotel in a quiet alley of Thamel, inside but well serviced. Standard rooms not very nice and superior quite overpriced for what you can find around. Nice lobby, free wifi and proximity to good restaurants and coffee shops so you do not need to have breakfast at he hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davide O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better base in Kathmandu. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful throughout time with them. We spent a night here then returned for our third night as a part of tour package, before going off for 10 days and finally ending our trip to Nepal with 3 more nights here. Storing bags and arranging drop offs and pickups were no problem. Breakfast was a part of our package, these were a great way to start each day.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile getting breakfast as part of your room rate at this hotel. We had a room in the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whowesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#23 of 207 in Kathmandu
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#29 of 207 in Kathmandu
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jay Suites
Hotel Jay Suites
#24 of 207 in Kathmandu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Address: Brahmakumari Marg, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £25 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing