We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Ranked #41 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Home Base”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

No electricity, no mini bar, no TV, and no hot showers…. Was my thought 12 hours into my stay at Hotel Holy Himalaya. HOWEVER, these were only minor concerns as I actually thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Let me explain…….

Using the hotel as a base prior and after our trek, I quickly grew to love this hotel. There is major works happening next door in which load shedding at times during the day/night means you may be without power for a few hours. Think about that prior to attempting to use the lift if you have heavy bags.

The hotel also has hot running water for showers only during 6-9 AM and PM, however special circumstances may mean they turn it back on at other times. We arrived back from our trek late morning and they happily gave us hot showers.

The hotel provides all the basic amenities we could want, welcoming security guard on duty, warm and clean rooms, attentive staff and a decent buffet breakfast. Free WIFI is also available throughout the grounds and rooms.

The rooftop terrace provides great views over Thamel, and on a clear morning we caught a glimpse of the surrounding snow-capped peaks. Was great to sit on the terrace in the afternoon, beer in hand reading a book and listening to the constant toots from cars in the distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    183
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
98
75
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It's not a 5 star place, but you get a lot more than you pay for. Rooms are always clean, breakfast is awesome, and the staff are so nice they make you feel like family. It's the only place I stay in Kathmandu. It's right in Thamel, but far enough down a road that you are away from the noise and chaos. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
883 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Was in Nepal for a 2 night stay on a planned trip, coming into Nepal, roads are a horrible mess, cars, motorcycles, bikes everywhere! Lines on the road are just a suggestion here and in India, if you can drive in India and Nepal you can definitely drive anywhere in the world!

Coming into the hotel I was quite impressed with this small nice hotel off the busy shopping district, was a little shocked to find out only once there that Nepal actually turns off the electricity for upwards of 12 hours a day, so therefore when they only work off their generators the elevators do not run, so I would recommend rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor that',.s unless you don't mind walking up 4 stories. Letting others know ahead of time, since I was green to this. Also FYI please bring a passport size photo and $25USD for your Nepal visa, the airport can take your picture but I believe they charge anywhere from $3-$5.

Staff are very friendly and nice especially Ripu, nice young man always with a smile on his face, and just so so sweet. Computers on the 1st floor (4 in total). Just beware of all the traffic as you are walking along the narrow streets for shopping anything and everything you can think of is for sale. Breakfast unforunately was not the best in my opinion, "hot" food was cool to lukewarm at that, but since there is an adjoing kitchen they can probably make a special egg for you!

Rooms are very modest and basically only a bed, gets dusty if you keep your windows open since there is traffic going by periodically. Enjoy your journey!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights before the start of an organised tour around Nepal. V prompt responses to email before arrival, free airport pick up service and friendly staff in the hotel. Don't expect lift to work all the time due to planned power cuts. Free wifi, good breakfast and well located in a quiet street but close to shops and restaurants etc. Luckily were not affected by nearby construction work. There might be cheaper hotels nearby but 28 dollars for the room represented good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here recently as part of Meaningful Trip tour group. Hotel has nice lobby with elevator and friendly front desk staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. WiFi in room. Located 2 blocks off main Thamel shopping streets, so it is quiet at night. In lobby, there even a scale to help trekkers and travelers weigh their bags. Just 50 meters outside is a great restaurant called Gaia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeaningfulTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel lies in Thamel, the touristic site of Kathmandu. Very quiet within a few minutes walk from a lot of shops, restaurants etc... Free wifi. The staff is very kind. Breakfast was superb. They have a storage for the luggage during trekking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luc_verstraeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel three times during the past three weeks. When we first arriving late a night they gave us two rooms (for a family of three) that were dirty, old and falling apart. There is only hot water for a few hours in the am and then again in the evening and the room was freezing cold. There wasn't even a counter in the bathroom to put toiletries and the floor gets soaking wet when you shower too. We switched to another room the following night and it was like staying at two different hotels. And when we came back for the final two nights before leaving we had an even nicer room - with beautiful hardwood floors and a bathtub (dry floors!). The room was very clean and even the blankets are changed each day. So be sure to inquire at the desk and ask for a modern room. Room business aside, the staff were amazing and everyone, from the guards, the bell staff, housekeeping, wait staff and front ofice staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was ample and delicious. Fresh fruit, pasries and hot items served buffet style were adequate. This hotel was down a quiet street in the heart of Thamel and walking distance to some great restaurants.

Room Tip: There is a new wing with more modern rooms ask for one of them! We loved 416.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliciaPhxtoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#27 of 202 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 202 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Maya Boutique Hotel
#23 of 202 in Kathmandu
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 202 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Property: Hotel Holy Himalaya
Address: Brahmakumari Marg, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing