We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
167
204
48
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
204
48
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbanana cakegaia restaurantside streetquiet streetfree wifiair conyour luggagebreakfast buffetmoney exchangerooms are spaciouscomfortable placewould stay here againnew buildingfresh fruithotel is situatedvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holy Himalaya. The rooms are clean and the bathroom immaculate. They have good selection for breakfast and the staff are amazing. No wonder its always fully booked. Its in a quiet area but close to all the shopping areas. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

No electricity, no mini bar, no TV, and no hot showers…. Was my thought 12 hours into my stay at Hotel Holy Himalaya. HOWEVER, these were only minor concerns as I actually thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Let me explain…….

Using the hotel as a base prior and after our trek, I quickly grew to love this hotel. There is major works happening next door in which load shedding at times during the day/night means you may be without power for a few hours. Think about that prior to attempting to use the lift if you have heavy bags.

The hotel also has hot running water for showers only during 6-9 AM and PM, however special circumstances may mean they turn it back on at other times. We arrived back from our trek late morning and they happily gave us hot showers.

The hotel provides all the basic amenities we could want, welcoming security guard on duty, warm and clean rooms, attentive staff and a decent buffet breakfast. Free WIFI is also available throughout the grounds and rooms.

The rooftop terrace provides great views over Thamel, and on a clear morning we caught a glimpse of the surrounding snow-capped peaks. Was great to sit on the terrace in the afternoon, beer in hand reading a book and listening to the constant toots from cars in the distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It's not a 5 star place, but you get a lot more than you pay for. Rooms are always clean, breakfast is awesome, and the staff are so nice they make you feel like family. It's the only place I stay in Kathmandu. It's right in Thamel, but far enough down a road that you are away from the noise and chaos. Great place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Was in Nepal for a 2 night stay on a planned trip, coming into Nepal, roads are a horrible mess, cars, motorcycles, bikes everywhere! Lines on the road are just a suggestion here and in India, if you can drive in India and Nepal you can definitely drive anywhere in the world!

Coming into the hotel I was quite impressed with this small nice hotel off the busy shopping district, was a little shocked to find out only once there that Nepal actually turns off the electricity for upwards of 12 hours a day, so therefore when they only work off their generators the elevators do not run, so I would recommend rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor that',.s unless you don't mind walking up 4 stories. Letting others know ahead of time, since I was green to this. Also FYI please bring a passport size photo and $25USD for your Nepal visa, the airport can take your picture but I believe they charge anywhere from $3-$5.

Staff are very friendly and nice especially Ripu, nice young man always with a smile on his face, and just so so sweet. Computers on the 1st floor (4 in total). Just beware of all the traffic as you are walking along the narrow streets for shopping anything and everything you can think of is for sale. Breakfast unforunately was not the best in my opinion, "hot" food was cool to lukewarm at that, but since there is an adjoing kitchen they can probably make a special egg for you!

Rooms are very modest and basically only a bed, gets dusty if you keep your windows open since there is traffic going by periodically. Enjoy your journey!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights before the start of an organised tour around Nepal. V prompt responses to email before arrival, free airport pick up service and friendly staff in the hotel. Don't expect lift to work all the time due to planned power cuts. Free wifi, good breakfast and well located in a quiet street but close to shops and restaurants etc. Luckily were not affected by nearby construction work. There might be cheaper hotels nearby but 28 dollars for the room represented good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews