We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Run By Beautiful People”
Review of Hotel Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Courtyard
Ranked #111 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel hasn't such a high rating for no reason. Truely one of the best experiences of our travels. We stayed with Michelle and Pujon twice during a trip to Nepal in October. Set on a quiet street in the centre of Thamel, you couldn't be any closer to the centre of things. If you are familiar with Kathmandu you may be thinking, I couldn't think of anything worse; the chaos and noise. You need not worry with Hotel Courtyard. It is set back from the vibrance that is Thamel and it feels like you are in your own little world. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with the type of welcome you get from an old friend.A welcome drink to start and then you are brought to reception where nothing is any trouble. The rooms are beautiful (the bed is really comfy) complete with a constant supply of hot water and electricity (this cant be taken for granted in Kathmandu), Breakfast is included with a choice of fruit, cereal, omlettes and pancakes - all cooked fresh to order. Other features include a beautiful courtyard with its own bar where Michelle and Pujon entertain their guests throughout the day and there is always a constant supply of fellow travellers and volunteer workers to chat the day away with. Not sure where to eat. Not to worry, the best restaurants are booked for you and if you want a special treat, ask Pujan to point you in the direction of his familys restaurant (Thamel House). A tasting menu of traditional newari food and dance await you. All for about $12. For us 3 nights were not enough and we will definately be returning in 2013. If you even consider staying anywhere else in Kathmandu, you're crazy. We have also stayed in a much more expensive hotel in Kathmandu during our trip and it didn't even compare. Just to finish, we'd like to thank Michelle and Pujon for making our stay so special (You know what I am referring to).
Fiona & Johnny (Ireland)

Room Tip: For an extra special treat, book the suite. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

After fighting off the initial shocking grimy, dirtiness of Kathmandu, the friendliness of hotel owners Michelle and Pujon was a delight. The Hotel is a real oasis from the speed and noise of the streets outside. The characters of Michelle and Pujon and semi-permanent hotel resident guests were an outstanding part of our stay in Nepal. If you want tickets or guides through the hotel just check the prices of these as you would at home. Its your own decision if you want to have a drink or interact with the owners around the fire outside, have an amazing BBQ and meet the other guests or go to Thamel House. If this isn't your idea of travelling and you want to stay in your room or be independant then be assertive about this, but for myself and my gay partner, the hosts added a personal element of hospitality and friendliness to our 2 week trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I spent four days at the hotel in January 2012. Airport pick up, great pre arrival comms, warm welcome from Michele, helpful staff, great day trip, eggs, pancakes and coffee to boot! Great lounge with massive choice of DVDs and books. And such a comfy bed. Thank you for a cosy stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15liz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Where else can you find a hotel where the owner greets you warmly by your first name, chats with you over a cup of hot chocolate, then invites you for a very scrummy and relaxing dinner? It definitely gave me a feeling of a welcoming Nepal that lingered until the end of my trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelmariska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

It is located in Thamel. Though not in the very centre of Thamel, it won't take long to walk from the hotel to anywhere in the area.

The room is big. I was surprised by the size. There is a big bed, and the bedroom is separated from the little "living room" where there is a TV.

Washroom is not the most modern, and a bit dated, but adequate.

The night was cold. On the second night, I found out that I could turn on the air conditioner (which looks very new), and it doubled as a heater with warm air coming out. So nice for sleeping!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Upon first arriving at the hotel, we were all pleasantly surprised at the difference between the quiet tranquil nature of the hotel and its grounds as opposed to the hustle and bustle of Thamel just meters outside.

The facilities were good, the power cuts were to be expected and certainly not the fault of the owners. In fact, apart from a lacklustre breakfast, the property itself is fine.

The Owners - like some other reviewers have noted - were very pushy with regards to 'helping us' in various endeavours such as ticket purchases, or indeed a nice trip to their uncle's restaurant (Thamel House). Whilst the restaurant itself was outstanding, the pushy nature in which they went about trying to force the visit was not. I'd recommend visiting the restaurant, but on your own.

Also, late night drinking with the owners (at your expense, despite what may be promised in the heat of the moment) which appears to be another scam at collecting exhorbitant 'tips' for their waiter (collected by the proprietor himself).

To top it all off, the drunken owner also made (independantly and out of earshot) innaproriate comments of a sexual nature to both my girlfriend AND Father!!!!!!!!!

Lovely hotel, ruined by the overfamiliar, pushy and seedy owners.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DAshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We visited this hotel when we were in Kathmandu just before we started a long trek, we wanted to book somewhere nice for when we came back from our Everest Trek. We spoke to Michelle and had a look around, perfect we thought! We we arrived about 30 days later, Michelle gave us a fantastic room that just had a new shower fitted.The room was modern and cozy but had Nepali touches as well. The building itself felt very well built and spacious, although the hotel was fully booked the only time you see or hear people is when you are downstairs. Breakfast is included and the chefs will make you whatever egg dish you want and there is also the continental option. All of the staff at this hotel were very helpful and professional.

There is a nice sitting area and bar as well and of course the outdoor courtyard which is very comfortable. Michelle and Pujan do a great job entertaining and making everyone feel welcome, I have no idea how they do it everyday! As others mentioned on this site they go above and beyond to help out with whatever you need, for instance, I quite a bad toothache and it was a holiday in Kathmandu, I mentioned it to Pujan and he called the dentist, had them open special for me, then had his driver to take me there and back and even helped me out with some painkillers. Who does that? Wow, thanks again Pujan! The Courtyard really is a jem and next time we're in Nepal we will stay again, you have the ambience, food, drink, people, what else do you need?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
634 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courtyard

Address: 67/27, Z-Street | Thamel GPO Box 463, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East meets West in this 25 room boutique property. Built in traditional Newari architecture with European- inspired interiors, this hotel combines old-world elegance with the comforts of modern times. The Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet street in the heart of the popular tourist district, Thamel ,steps away from many restaurants, shops and popular Kathmandu tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hotel Kathmandu
Courtyard Kathmandu
Kathmandu Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing