We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay & hospitality”
Review of Hotel Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Courtyard
Ranked #111 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 22 November 2010

3 of us stayed here at the start & end of our trip earlier this year.

After 24 hours of travelling from the Scotland; Michelle & Pujan looked afterwards wonderfully.

Initially it was just 1 night before we carried on to our main destination of Pokhara.

When we returned for 3 nights at the end of our trip to explore the Kathmandu valley again we were looked after brilliantly.

Michelle & Pujan took us to several restaurants in Thamel where the 3 of us had some great evenings with them & other guests.

Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Michelle organised our laundry. Also collection & return to the airport.

Thouroughly reccomended!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

Tucked away in a by lane of Thamel, the hotel's architecture and design blend traditional Nepali culture, design and objects beautifully with modern hotel requirements. A no frills mid priced and very affordable boutique hotel, its so quaint, because every room has a different story to tell, and the room guests gather every evening in the courtyard to drink and eat together. The atmosphere is so magnetic, you just want to go back every evening and make friends. The Innkeepers, Pujan and Michelle are the most unpretentious and genuine Hotel owners I have ever seen, and are always around, the breakfast is amazing, so is the wine and liquor collection. As a business traveler this is my 11 th hotel in Kathmandu over 9 years, but the best and the only one I have reviewed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaipune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I cannot enthuse enough about this hotel! Run by a lovely married couple, with a great dog, it is the friendliest hotel I ever experienced (and we are spending a year travelling staying in everything from hostels to 5* hotels). The rooms and building are spacious and very clean, the courtyard area is a great place to hang out and read, surf the net (strong connection) or chat to other guests. The atmosphere and the other guests are what really make this hotel - there is always (we stayed here on two occasions) a great mix of friendly people. Twice when we were staying there the owners made a dinner (free of charge) and all the guests hung out drinking wine/beer and chatting into the evening. There is also a great reading room, where you can relax with one of their hundreds of books on one of their very comfortable chairs.
The breakfasts are really good, the bar is well stocked, their is a dvd collection the size of a bus and you can take as many as you like up to your room at once.
I have never ever experienced a hotel like this - you really feel like you are staying with the most most hospitable friends in the world. Very chilled, brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twentiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Arrived at Hotel Courtyard hoping for the best, seeing how we emailed to reserve a room and left for Nepal before being able to check for a confirmation. On arrival, MIchelle (I think the owners name) said that she did receive my email but they were full, however because of the confusion they would put us in a suite room for the price of a deluxe double. This kind service was in addition to the beer and friendly conversation which her and Pujon (Sp? Michelle's husband) greeted us with.
Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet side street within Thamel and has a gate and security guard. The hotel is new, but designed to follow traditional styles. There is a pleasant garden area complete with flowing stream and bridges, a huge selection of DVDs for each room's player, and there is a free breakfast in the AM till 11. (All you can eat pancakes, eggs, french toast, potatoes, cereal etc--banana pancakes were excellent). Rooms are very clean, the only problem was noise. Other than the usual barking dogs and blaring horns which you can't escape in Kathmandu, there was a restaurant adjacent to the hotel which played relatively loud music. Nonetheless, this was by far the nicest place we stayed in Nepal, with incredibly friendly staff, and are beyond thoroughly satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This Hotel is made very special by it's greatest asset, the owners, Pujan and Michelle. They give most generously of their time and expertise and can arrange very special trips for their friends and clients. Pujan took me along with some others into the mountains and we had a very special trip, sharing our time with local guides, wonderful views and trekking to a Buddhist monastery. All our needs were catered for and I cannot praise and thank Pujan enough for including me on this adventure. The hotel itself is an oasis in the middle of teeming but lovable Thamel. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a friendly, comfortable and eclectic place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Thanks Michelle and Pujan. We felt at home. You and your hotel are fantastic.

If you travel to Kathmandu, stop searching and go there. Period.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFGiroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

After reading all the reviews, this hotel lives up to all expectations. It is a real haven and oasis in the madness of Kathmandu city. Pujan; Michelle all the staff (and tibby) made our stay here, intimate, relaxing and very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble to organise.
Highly recommended if you would like a more boutique hotel experience in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggsy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
634 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courtyard

Address: 67/27, Z-Street | Thamel GPO Box 463, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £39 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East meets West in this 25 room boutique property. Built in traditional Newari architecture with European- inspired interiors, this hotel combines old-world elegance with the comforts of modern times. The Hotel Courtyard is located on a quiet street in the heart of the popular tourist district, Thamel ,steps away from many restaurants, shops and popular Kathmandu tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hotel Kathmandu
Courtyard Kathmandu
Kathmandu Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing