We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Value”
Review of Hotel Ganesh Himal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Ranked #16 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed at this property on several occasions during my recent six week visit to Nepal. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The standard room I booked was clean with plenty of hot water and the heater was a real plus! I ate in the small restaurant which I enjoyed and the convenience of free internet access in the lobby was very handy. While Thamel is a very busy section of Kathmandu, the Ganesh Himal is located on a side street which provides a quiet interlude to the hustle of the city yet still keeps you in the center of things! I plan on returning again next year. Dan L
Chico, CA

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to get the best morning sun. Do not hesitate to voice any requests to the staff as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laneyloslunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed several nights here and the property seemed overpriced. The rooms were average- average size, averagely cleaned. As it was January it was quite cold when we stayed there. The garden area is beautiful, and they have wifi in the rooms, and computers to use in the lobby. Hot water was available. Check at the lobby to see what times the scheduled power cuts are. The day security guard was the friendliest person we met in Nepal. He is a gem and we looked forward to seeing him when we were coming or leaving the hotel. The front desk people were somewhat helpful, but not overly friendly. Food was just ok, but there are lots of great food options not too far away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here on 4 occasions during a 2 month stay in Nepal, and found it to be an excellent hotel. We were able to leave luggage behind for free whilst we went off trekking or visiting other towns.

We just booked the standard rooms, which were always clean, came with endless hot showers, heaters, and TV.

We ate in the hotel quite often and the food was always great, and quite cheap compared to the other restaurants in Thamel. There is also free filtered water which saves a few rupees a day.

It's in a good location, 5 mins walk to Thamel but far enough away that it isn't noisy. It felt very secure and there are security staff by the main gate.

There is free wifi which worked on all floors, and there are also free PC's downstairs.

All the staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything you might need.

All in all we really enjoyed our stays at Ganesh Himal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel has just about everything I need! Airport pickup, secure gate for entry, friendly staff at the gate, at the desk and in the restaurant. Excellent (cheap) price, bathroom with hot shower, heated area for meeting guests, heated dining room, free internet access. delightful garden, rooftop area, and balconies on each floor. It's located a few steps from Thamel so is very quiet but has easy access to all the sights of Thamel. Great tour desk!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you really need a bath (as opposed to a shower!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location- close enough to Thamel to have the range of restaurants and shops on hand but out of the noise. We stayed there before and after our trek and both rooms were excellent, the comfiest beds we stayed in! Good bathrooms with hot water, nice and clean. Pleasant balcony areas and garden. It felt very safe.
The staff are always around but could have been a bit more friendly. The rooms are probably slightly overpriced for the average backpacker, but you know that you're getting a secure location and a great bed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Very conveniently located and in a calm street. The amazing garden and rooftop are certainly the highlight of this otherwise average hotel. Rooms are ok, staff friendly, good choice of breakfast. A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in Kathmandu then the Ganesh Himal really is pretty decent. The cheapest rooms are not a good deal however. Upgrading makes more sense and costs very little. My first two days were in a basic room and the toilet would not flush. When I came back I asked for the best room they had and I got the honeymoon suite. It was fantastic. The difference in price? US$7 per night. A king bed, beautifully appointed bathroom, lounge, flat screen TV, electric jug, very quiet and clean, secure and right on the courtyard. Perfect for 5 days R&R in downtown Kathmandu after 22 days of hard Himalayan trekking.

Room Tip: Do not opt for the basic rooms. Upgrade. Pay a tiny bit more and enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,247 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 207 in Kathmandu
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesh Himal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesh Himal

Address: PO Box 12547 | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganesh Himal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax in one of the hotel's 11 guestrooms, all designed with guests' comfort in mind. Every room in the hotel offers guests television, hair dryer, internet access – LAN (complimentary), in house movies. This excellent hotel in Kathmandu also has 24hr room service, restaurant, bar/pub. Guests may make use of the hotel's excellent recreational and leisure facilities including garden. Offering guests quality accommodation since 2009, this hotel combines first-class service and the most modern facilities. To make your reservation at Hotel Backpackers Kathmandu, just enter your travel dates on our secure online booking form and submit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ganesh Himal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Himal Hotel
Ganesh Himal Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing