We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best experiences we've had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ganesh Himal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences we've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We chose Hotel Ganesh Himal based on the previous reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. From the reports it appeared that the hotel met all of our needs – friendly staff, clean rooms, amenities like filtered water and internet access, off the main street, close to Thamel, en suite bathrooms, reasonable cost, good restaurant, and comfortable beds. My wife, 2 friends and I are in our mid to late 50’s and wanted a nice comfortable place to stay before and after completing the Annapurna Circuit.

Our stay was extraordinary and exceeded our expectations. We stayed four nights before and four nights after our trek. From our greeting and welcome drink to our heart breaking goodbyes, it was hard to leave our second home and family.

Our reservations from the US were easy to make directly with Dorje by email. Our ride was waiting at the airport and after a welcome drink, we enjoyed relaxing in their beautiful garden restaurant. My wife and I rented a deluxe room that was clean, had a nice western bath, and plenty of room. We asked for a quiet room and had one on the 5th floor facing the garden and entry driveway (the higher you are, the quieter it is). Sitting in the garden or on one of the terraces located on each floor provided an oasis from the noise and honking of a main street over a block away.

In addition, the hotel has their own generator (necessary in Kathmandu) supplying electricity between 8 AM and 10 to 11 PM, no small feat considering the amount of electricity needed and the cost of fuel along with frequent fuel shortages. Three free computers are available for guests along with free wi-fi in the garden. There is free bottled water, hot water, and thermoses are provided in your room. We ate over half of our meals at the hotel because the restaurant had a nice selection of delicious food served in a peaceful garden setting.

What made our stay extraordinary were the wonderful people at the hotel. Everyone made us feel welcome by going out of their way to assist us in anyway they could. They gave us their time and friendship. Maya and Rinku were wonderful and made our stay at the hotel one of the nicest stays we have ever had any where in the world. Kansa worked from 6 to 7 or 8 and kept everything running. He was always there with a smile and to assist us with our Nepalese vocabulary. I can’t say enough of the wonderful hospitality extended to us.

If you are looking for a nice clean family run hotel where you can easily communicate and share with people from another culture, I would highly recommend it. Dorje, Maya, and Rinku (along with everyone there) have gone out of their way to understand not only another language but also western cultural concepts to enhance your stay. It is quite remarkable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocb535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    194
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
37
208
134
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kathmandu
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed in Ganesh Himal for over a week.
The hotel is very nice, in a quiet part of Kahtmandu but only 5 min walk to thamel.
The kids enjoyed the beautifull garden restaurant, the rooms and the free internet access in the lobby.
Great staff too....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gil64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

The staff were helpful and paid just the right amount of attention to us. They were happy to assist with our daily plans or to leave us to our own devices.
Arriving in Kathmandu after 27 hours travelling blew our minds. Our taxi driver was a welcome site at the airport; I recommend a pre-arranged pick up to any Nepal first timer. So many taxis, people carrying bags for tips, selling fruit. . . .anything for a rupee or dollar or two (take small denominations of US dollars for the arrival) greet the bleary eyed traveller. We were whisked through the bustling overcrowded streets through the hotel gates, and into cool serenity. After a very refreshing welcome drink we were shown our room, freshened up and entered the beautiful, peaceful gardens for an evening tipple and the first taste of the many tantalising dishes that were to come, whilst receiving our obligatory basic language lesson from the waiting staff. After 15 hours sleep we were fit for purpose.
The "Aloo govi" at 80 rupees a bowl must not be missed, once, twice or thrice should the stomach allow!
I recommend this hotel, it is a wonderful spot to ease yourself into one of the most fantastic countries I have been lucky enough to visit yet, full of wonderful resourceful and welcoming people.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelmarQuidsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

The location of Ganesh Himal is good, shops/restaurants in Thamel are nearby. Durbar Sq is also within walking distance.

The rooms are clean and comfortable.

The staff are excellent. All the staff go out of their way to ensure that their guests needs are taken of. The staff at Ganesh Himal will treat you like family, once I met the staff I instantly knew I had choosen the right place to stay.

The hotel has hot water 24 hrs a day, not all hotels in Kathmandu do. The hotel also has a generator, free internet and supplys their guests with drinking water. The hotel has a nice garden that guests can use to relax/read/have a drink, etc. I doubt many hotels in Kathmandu can give their guests as much as the Ganesh Himal, in terms of facilities and service.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Kathmandu and never will now that I've found the Ganesh Himal. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend Ganesh Himal for anybody looking for a clean, comfortable, well located hotel in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Arriving in Kathmandu after 4 months in india, the Ganesh Himal was like a wonderful, peaceful haven. Full of Nepali character with spotless rooms, cleaned daily, hot powerful showers & friendly staff it was a perfect oasis. Slightly away from the noise and relative bustle of the centre of Thamel, it was in a perfect location and walking to and from it, late at night, on my own, I felt entirely safe and secure. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Please note I posted a review before but it was not printed so am trying again.
I spent a few months travelling around Nepal, Sikkim and Darjeeling in Feb and March. I stayed in many budget hotels and experienced the electricity blackouts, lack of water and cold temperatures in most of them especially in Feb and I can't tell you how delighted I was to find Hotel Ganesh Himal. I moved there from Thamel, it is just south of there, and it is much quieter, pleasant, well run and friendly than any where else I tried. The hotel is family run, the owners Mukhiya and Maya are there themselves every day as well as her sister and other family members. There is real concern for the comfort of the customers.
I don't know how they manage it but there is always hot water, certainly not the case in other more expensive hotels, the generator comes on when there is no electricity, there is always hot and cold drinking water in the container and a flask in each room to keep the water hot . One is welcomed with a drink, there is a pickup at the airport, there is a good restaurant on the premises and meals are served there, in the lovely garden, on one of the terraces or in the rooms. There is an excellent travel desk with knowledgeable advice and arrangements on every kind of tourist trip by air, train, trek etc. The rooms are large as are the bathrooms and there is a great cleaning team that will come in daily with fresh sheets and towels if wished. The beds are great, good thick mattresses and soft pillows. Maybe I wouldn't have noticed it as much if I had only stayed in one hotel and experienced so many with thin, boardhard mattresses. I had an accident in Darjeeling and really hurt my back so those mattresses were so appreciated. When I returned to Kathmandu and this hotel the owner picked me up personally from the airport and everyone was so kind. I'm sure that all the services offered cut in to their profits and I just want to say how much this traveller appreciated it. There is a big case of books to read and exchange, wireless internet is available if one has a laptop and there are several computers available for use free. By the way there is also a roof garden which must be really nice to use in fine weather and there are great views. What more can I say? From the Nemaste (welcome) from the nice, helpful gate guards to this Tibetan family there is a feeling of warmth and caring. I would return to Kathmandu just to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aileenonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire and Llincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

I have nothing but praise for the patrons of this hotel Mukhiya and Miah who were helpful abd courteous throughout our stay. There is an excellent atmosphere at this family run Hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. The food is varied, good and reasonable priced. The small garden is delightful and very colourfull. When we were there Miah was grafting Orchids onto some of the smaller trees.
It is very well located in Chhetrapati not far from the shopping area of Thamel and the Durbar Square and very easy to get either a taxi or rickshaw if needed.The Hotel can arrange internal trips to suite your needs if required and also a currency exchange.The Hotel has it's own modern generator so that when the electricity goes off which it frequently does in Katmandu you are not plunged into darkness for long. Excellent mattresses, constant hot water and thick towels all add to your comfort. We will definately stay at this Hotel again. Ann, Sandy, and Susan.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marigold030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesh Himal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesh Himal

Property: Hotel Ganesh Himal
Address: PO Box 12547 | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganesh Himal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax in one of the hotel's 11 guestrooms, all designed with guests' comfort in mind. Every room in the hotel offers guests television, hair dryer, internet access – LAN (complimentary), in house movies. This excellent hotel in Kathmandu also has 24hr room service, restaurant, bar/pub. Guests may make use of the hotel's excellent recreational and leisure facilities including garden. Offering guests quality accommodation since 2009, this hotel combines first-class service and the most modern facilities. To make your reservation at Hotel Backpackers Kathmandu, just enter your travel dates on our secure online booking form and submit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ganesh Himal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Himal Hotel
Ganesh Himal Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing