We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute shambles (toilet view optional)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mum's Garden Resort
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An absolute shambles (toilet view optional)”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived a day early than our booked dates and were accommodated in their only spare room which was acceptable, however with very limited privacy with a window adjacent to a walkway on one side of the room and the other side looking directly into another bedroom. Not great. The indoor slippers provided were filthy and smelt. The breakfast was sub-standard fare, lacking in quality. We were however promised good rooms for our official booked reservation.

We spent part of the morning packing our bags to move into our booked rooms only to be told that one was now unavailable and that we could stay in the original room, while the other one offered overlooked a working building site which contained a mass of toilets. We refused. We were then offered another room downstairs which again had a restricted view of said building site. We were not offered two rooms together which is what I had requested as our other room was for our children which we required to have next door to us.

The manager seemed to have no initiative although appeared pleasant enough. We telephoned the agent we booked through who found us alternative and much more appropriate accommodation which we were happy with.

Even on checkout there was confusion with the room rate and extra bed cost. On the plus side the hotel has a fairly relaxed and pleasant ambience once outside your room - which was severely lacking in all the rooms we were shown.

All in all a fairly miserable experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from the building site views and downstairs rooms next to walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hkxpat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
33
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A lovely small hotel in quiet but beautiful surroundings. Deepak , his wife, and all the staff were warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Spacious well furnished rooms and good sized balconies with lovely views of Fish Tail. Laundry service was good.I would definately recommend Mum's Garden Resort and hope to be back next year.
Angela Burgess
Sussex.

Room Tip: Upstairarooms have better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelaburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Angela

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our small resort, and like our resort
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

It's a really nice feeling to be back at Mum's Garden in Pokhara. I see over the summer months the owner has made some changes. All the matresses have been changed to soft ones, much better than the ones before. Also the WIFI has been upgraded so guests can get a connection in all rooms. All extra comfort, which is nice.

Breakfast, atmosphere and garden all are still great.

I hope to be coming back to Mum's Garden Resort next year ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Nick

Greetings from Mum's garden resort
Thank you for sty our resort, and thank you for comment
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

A nice quiet place that has a local feel, but spoiled by a couple of small things - like no hot water in the morning, worn furnishings and giving us twin beds when we asked specifically for king. Great breakfast though and serene setting. For Pokhara, the price would suggest something more upmarket than this though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamNNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I went to Mum's Garden a few times during the last years to escape the dirt of the Kathmandu Valley where I currently live. I've always had very good experiences there. The place is very beautifully set up, the rooms in small houses around a common courtyard. Very quiet and perfect for children to run around and play.

The interior design of the rooms is dominated by natural materials and fibres. The beds are wonderful, not as soft as in many other places. Japanese Style - probably geared towards the many Japanese visitors the place has.

The manager and his family are very nice and trustworthy and helped us with many advices on places to visit and things to do.

The food was OK, there is plenty of other options just a few meters of walk away in the busy Lakeside area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Namaste;

Thank you for stayed our resort on Dec-2011,
and thanks you like our resort,

thank you for good comment our resort
hope coming future give us chance to serve more service
next holiday please visit us Pokhara at mum's garden resort


wish all the beast

thank you for support
see yo

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Admittedly Mums Garden Resort is in a very pretty setting but it is very over priced relative to other accomodation. In addition to that the wifi didn't work in the room and the food at the restaurant was poor quality. We initially intended on staying here three nights after reading other TA reviews but after the first night we moved to somewhere a lot cheaper, just as nice and closer to the main part of Pokhara.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Namaste; sir

Thank you for stayed our resort on Feb-2012,
and thanks you like our resort,
thank you for complement our resort
hope coming future give us chance to serve more service

wish all the beast

thank you for support

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Mum's Garden for a total of 3 nights in April 2012, before and after our trek in the Annapurna region. It is a nice, quiet, relaxing place to stay. Only 5 minute walk to the shopping and dining area in Lakeside. The garden area is beautifully maintained, rooms are clean and well presented, the beds were a little on the firm side but we found that with almost all the hotels we stayed at in Nepal. The bathroom is clean with plenty of hot water.
There is no air conditioning in the rooms but there is a ceiling fan also no TV.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, relaxing place to stay while in Pokhara.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NKG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Namaste;

Thank you for stayed our resort on April-2012,
and thanks you like our resort,
thank you for Beast complement our resort
hope coming future give us chance to serve more service

see you again

wish all the beast

thank you for support

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
9.2 mi away
Begnas Lake Resort
Begnas Lake Resort
#49 of 105 in Pokhara
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#45 of 105 in Pokhara
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Snowland
Hotel Snowland
#46 of 105 in Pokhara
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Raniban Arcade
Hotel Raniban Arcade
#30 of 105 in Pokhara
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
#36 of 105 in Pokhara
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mum's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mum's Garden Resort

Property: Mum's Garden Resort
Address: Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mum's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mum's Garden Resort is an eco-friendly and family-friendly boutique resort in Pokhara, Nepal. Let us make your vacation in Pokhara more memorable and enjoyable with our warm hospitality and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mum's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing