We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mum's Garden Resort
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Pokhara
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I'm an expat living in Nepal and have been to Pokhara many many times since 2006. I've been back to Mum's Garden Resort on a number of occasions, with my husband, mother and friends. I have never been disappointed, or found somewhere to beat this hotel.

With only 12 rooms, it is a peaceful getaway from the big organised tour groups, and caters to families, couples and small groups.

Situated off the main road and further down lakeside, you are away from the noise, but within walking distance of cafes and a variety of restaurants to suit any taste/requirement.

Plus points:
Naturally aesthetic architecture - Japanese style
Clean spacious and light rooms - cool in the summer but cosy in the winter
Complimentary water and fruit in your room
Bathtub and shower with hot water
Beautiful green courtyard to relax and read a book, sup a beer or tea
Exceptionally helpful/friendly staff and owners - nothing is a bother for them
Hearty breakfasts
Peaceful setting
Great mountain views

Downside:
Not much really
They only have single beds, which can be off putting for those that want a romantic getaway!

I highly recommend this place for holiday makers, trekkers or those of you wanting to escape KTM city life for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Beedee

Greetings from mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort and enjoy , thank you like our resort
hope to see you coming future better service
thank you for support
wish all the best
Regards

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
33
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Mom's Garden Resort is the kind of place you fall in love with right away. The inn is itself quietly tucked away off a side street off the main road, approx 1km away from the main tourist strip - a comfortable 10-15 minutes walk. Within the hotel is a nice little garden courtyard which extends from the onsite restaurant - this is a peaceful shaded spot to enjoy your breakfast in the morning. The rooms are new, spacious and very well maintained. No air-conditioning in mine, but there was a ceiling fan that cooled the room perfectly. The toilet was clean and had hot water - but there's nothing like waking up to a cold shower in Nepal! Although there was electricity load-sharing (when the power goes out for a couple of hours every day), it's not a big deal, and this is Nepal after all. Best of all, the staff were warm, cheerful and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste:

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort, and thank you for good comment
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel was great. Really good food, rooms very clean, quiet and the outside of the hotel was extremely clean as well. Excellent location and the host and staff were very, very helpful. Great view of the sunset over the mountains from the roof!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Helen

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort, and thank you for enjoy our resort
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We were before and after our trekking trip in this hotel. Very quite, clean and good service. Especially the staff and the owners are friendly. Good breakfast.
The toilet had a little bit bad smell, but we had no hotel in Nepal, were this wasn't. In the room you smell nothing of it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yetitubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, General Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Yetitubi

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort, thank you for comment about toilet bad smell,
we change after your comment, we try our best
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

In a secluded location yet near to tourist facilities and especially good restaurants. I recommend a trip on the lake via "pedalo" to have lunch the other side of lake Phewa. A choice of bike hire nearby. I enjoyed Vietnamese, Nepalese, Chinese and Italian cuisine. Natural stone and wood construction buildings give a variety of generous size rooms. Pokhara is accessible by bus from Kathmandu or alternatively you can fly in and back. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Limited rooms but all good. Existing pictures are like it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste: Steve

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort, & like our resort
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service
wish all best
Regards

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Simple but very clean in a lovely garden, just 3mn away from Fewa Lake, in a small lane. Service was good and owner is always pleased to help. No view but a nice play to stay in Pokhara very centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeliDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Namaste:

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for sty our resort, and thank you for good comment
thank you for support
hope to see you coming future with better service

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived a day early than our booked dates and were accommodated in their only spare room which was acceptable, however with very limited privacy with a window adjacent to a walkway on one side of the room and the other side looking directly into another bedroom. Not great. The indoor slippers provided were filthy and smelt. The breakfast was sub-standard fare, lacking in quality. We were however promised good rooms for our official booked reservation.

We spent part of the morning packing our bags to move into our booked rooms only to be told that one was now unavailable and that we could stay in the original room, while the other one offered overlooked a working building site which contained a mass of toilets. We refused. We were then offered another room downstairs which again had a restricted view of said building site. We were not offered two rooms together which is what I had requested as our other room was for our children which we required to have next door to us.

The manager seemed to have no initiative although appeared pleasant enough. We telephoned the agent we booked through who found us alternative and much more appropriate accommodation which we were happy with.

Even on checkout there was confusion with the room rate and extra bed cost. On the plus side the hotel has a fairly relaxed and pleasant ambience once outside your room - which was severely lacking in all the rooms we were shown.

All in all a fairly miserable experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from the building site views and downstairs rooms next to walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hkxpat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
0.6 mi away
Hotel Snowland
Hotel Snowland
#41 of 101 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trek-O-Tel
Trek-O-Tel
#67 of 101 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
#33 of 101 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#2 of 101 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#23 of 101 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mum's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mum's Garden Resort

Property: Mum's Garden Resort
Address: Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mum's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mum's Garden Resort is an eco-friendly and family-friendly boutique resort in Pokhara, Nepal. Let us make your vacation in Pokhara more memorable and enjoyable with our warm hospitality and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Mum's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing