We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be much better with maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mum's Garden Resort
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could be much better with maintenance”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is in a quiet location away from the main drag (but you have to walk several blocks on a muddy, rocky, dark road to get there). The design concept of the hotel is fine and the garden area is quiet. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was fine.

Unfortunately, this is one of those places one sees so often in Nepal where once the original construction work is done, they seem to assume that no more work or upkeep or maintenance needs to be done. We had one of the best rooms because it had a view of the mountains from the balcony, but there were problems with it. There were several places where there were huge pieces of paint/plaster falling off the wall (think 12" by 18"). In the bathroom the water supply lie to the sink wasn't properly fitted, and every time the sink was used, the water ran down the wall and onto the floor making a mess. The bathtub (yes there was one) was obviously old and had a large section of mold/discoloration around the water valves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
33
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We (60,59,28,25,25 and 23) stayed at Mum's Garden in December and January, before and after our Poon Hill Sunrise Trek and were unanimously pleased with this wonderful hotel !!! The best place we stayed at in Nepal!!! The use of simple and honest materials in the comfortable rooms, the very helpful and considerate manager and staff and a beautiful view of the mountains. Functional internet connection and last but not least, the hot water bottles after the trek were much appreciated!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvanholthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Namaste: Madam pvanholthe

greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for staying our resort with your family and thank you for support
good comment

hope to see you again in mum's garden resort

see you

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a very small hotel run by a family, the rooms have a simple plain look, with use of natural stone, it offers good breakfast in a small restaurant, you can enjoy your stay, the rates are also very reasonable.
Food is just average,

Room Tip: Can choose any rooms, they are simple, neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikasmadan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Namaste: Vikasmadan

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for comment and thank you for support our resort

hope to see you again

Regards

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here at the end of a 2-week Annapurna circuit trek and was just relieved to have a comfy bed and a hot shower, but Mum's Garden was so much more. The rooms were spacious and tidy. The bathroom had an actual tub! and hot water. My trekking group had a yoga instructor come to the hotel and conduct a class one morning on the rooftop (ask the front desk and they will be happy to help set something like this up for you.) The staff was friendly and pleasant and really went out of the way to make our stay special.

The city is wonderful and peaceful. There are um-azing food choices within easy walking distance from the hotel. The lake is lovely and be sure to make time for a trip up to the World Peace Pagoda.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen_Wanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Namaste: Kristen Wanders

Greetings from Mum's garden resort,
sorry for let reply, thank you for support, and love our small resort
hope to get chance see you again,
wish all the beast

Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This resort in Pokhara is located a short walk from the main street in lakeside, however it is further away from the main lakeside shopping/restaurant area than other guesthouses in Pokhara (approx 15-20 mins walk). The resort itself is lovely, with rooms surrounding an English countryside style courtyard with ivy covered brick-work and lots of greenery. The small number of rooms in the resort and the slightly tucked away location means that it is very quiet (a rarity in Nepal) and it also has a great view of the Annapurna mountain range from some rooms and the easily accessible rooftop. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable, with a bowl of fruit on arrival which was a nice touch. Extra blankets were provided which kept us very warm at night and the shower was amazing and always had hot water - which made me very happy as it can be hard to find a consistent hot shower in Nepal in the middle of winter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Namaste: Julia

Greetings from Mum's garden resort,
thank you for sty our small resort, and thank you for support,
good comment for our resort,
wish all the beast hope to see you some tine

regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This family run hotel is in a very quiet location, yet only a 5 minute walk to the main street, which has a tremendous choice of shops and restaurants. On a clear day there is a wonderful view of the mountains from the hotel roof. Breakfasts are adequate and made to order. Rooms are spacious, but would benefit from a wardrobe as there is nowhere to hang clothes except for a few wall hangers. No room safe although it was possible to lodge items in the safe at reception. Apart from those minor criticisms we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Manager at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Namaste: sir

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

thank you for stayed our small resort and support us good comments for TripAdvisor
hope to see you again in mums garden

wish all the beast
Regards
Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HongKong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Mum’s Garden prior and after the Poon Hill Trekking (i.e. 2 nights in total, luggage looked after by them). The guest rooms were scattered inside stone-built two-storey houses. We stayed on the upper floor which was bright, clean and spacious. The balcony was nicely shaded by flowery tree. The food was very good. We had dinner there once, which we thought was a much better choice than dining out in the crowded town. The owner Deepak was very friendly and we had a great time chatting after our dinner. (Deepak, Thanks for the rum! We enjoyed our stay very much)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarden, Owner at Mum's Garden Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Namaste: Nicky

Greetings from Mum's garden resort

sorry for let reply, was nice time with you in mums garden resort,
thanks again support us good comment for TripAdvisor
hope to see you again mums garden resort
wish all the beast

Regards

Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
0.6 mi away
Hotel Snowland
Hotel Snowland
#42 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trek-O-Tel
Trek-O-Tel
#71 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
Hotel Utsab Himalaya
#32 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#2 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#23 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mum's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mum's Garden Resort

Property: Mum's Garden Resort
Address: Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mum's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mum's Garden Resort is an eco-friendly and family-friendly boutique resort in Pokhara, Nepal. Let us make your vacation in Pokhara more memorable and enjoyable with our warm hospitality and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mum's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing