We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Begnas Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Begnas Lake Resort
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were on a packaged tour of Kathmandu and pokhara. But Lake Begnas was always on our mind. Searching and researching we tweaked our itinerary and included our stay at Begnas lake resort. And oh boy were we happy and it was bang on what we dreamed of. Booking ourselves to a water front cottage, we were into a pleasant surprise where the General manager Mr Arjun upgraded our stay to the premier room. Our room was overlooking the beautiful and serene Begnas Lake. The resort is a welcome move away from the hustle and bustle of the city life, calm and serenity is just the beginning. Very well maintained nature resort I would say.

The resort caters to predominantly European guests and the walk around the resort with stone steps all around was a very good cardio exercise.

The following points sums it up

Breakfast served is basically American. They have a larger than life Ayurveda menu with huge selection. The fresh water Begnas grilled fish for dinner was awesome.

The staff are very polite and friendly and cater to all your needs, but room service can be sometimes slow.

Hot water availability is in two slots 6 hours every day

Very eco-friendly and most of their produce is home grown

Twenty minutes boat ride( provided by the resort) to the resort you get to enjoy the ride for free. We took an additional boat ride early morning at 7:00 which was arranged by the resort using the local people and the price was very reasonable ( 250 rupees for half hour)

The food at the resort restaurant was not spicy since they were catering to western/european guests)

The inhouse Ayurveda massage center is nice, but would prefer if they used white sheets instead of bottle green( one can then tell the sanitisation of the linen)

Was mentioned that the power cuts at 10:00pm but there was no such cut, a welcome surprise.

Not a place if you expect loud noise and pollution

Pictures say a thousand words

Room Tip: Go for the premier rooms it is a level above the water front cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    48
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
77
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just spent 6 nights here. While it is a lovely hillside resort with some clear plus points, the resort is not without its drawbacks and whether this is the resort for you or not really depends on what you are looking for and plan to do. The resort in fact might be better suited under TA's "Specialty Lodging" category instead of under the general "Hotels" listing.

LOCATION
Begnas Lake is the 2nd largest lake in Pokhara. Most tourists stay at the lodges and resorts around Phewa Lake, the largest lake, where there is a tourist town with plenty of shops, restaurants etc. The Begnas Lake Resort is in a remote setting, so if you want to really "get away from it all" in comfortable, quiet and very scenic surrounds, then you will enjoy staying at the resort.

To get to the resort you have to be rowed across the lake in a 25 minute ride that is very pleasant and peaceful, although this obviously makes getting in and out of the resort cumbersome. You can also get to the resort by 4WD over a dirt road through the hillside which would take about the same amount of time as the boat ride, however you then have to descend down a long steep flight of stairs (264 I think).

There are plenty of hillside trails around the resort though, so if hiking is your main aim and you are content to retreat to the resort at the end of every day then this would be perfect.

RESORT GROUNDS
Set on a hillside so be prepared to do a bit of stair climbing. Well maintained pretty gardens with lots of butterflies. Apart from the pool there is also access to the lake, and the more adventurous guests can swim in the lake.

You can also enjoy beautiful views of the Annapurna Mountains in the morning. Catch the mountain peaks aglow on a clear day when they catch the early morning sun's rays.

ROOMS
Simple but clean and comfortable. The resort is about 16 years old so do expect some pretty worn fittings. Also, this is Nepal, and in a small town area, so even though the resort is of very high quality for Nepal (a very under-developed country), don't expect international standards. There is a ceiling fan in the room however it did not work well. Not sure about air conditioning, I did see a portable contraption under the study desk but did not check to see if it was the AC and whether it was working. No TV in the rooms, however I'm not sure anyone would want one.

DINING
The resort's restaurant has several menus including a healthy Ayurvedic (traditional Indian medicine) vegetarian menu. I was part of a group on a yoga trip and we did have a veggie buffet every meal however I don't think it was specifically Ayurvedic. There was quite a lot of variety at the buffet, pity that some of the dishes tended to be a tad oily and/or salty.

The restaurant does serve regular fare (i.e. non-veg), and all food is organic and locally-sourced if not home grown. The fresh guava juice from the many guava trees in their garden is excellent! Also look forward to local organic honey and coffee (the coffee farm which also produces honey from the coffee flowers is within an hour's walk from the resort). The resort also bakes their own bread and chapatis.

ELECTRICITY
Frequent blackouts, however again this is common throughout Nepal. The resort does have its own diesel generator but I guess this seems to not work well either.

WIFI
In the main building's lobby, bar and restaurant areas, however it is exceedingly slow and unstable, compounded by the electricity being down a lot. For the time I was there I basically had to disconnect from email, Twitter, FB, WhatsApp and what have you except for a few occasions - which ended up being not a bad thing.

YOGA
2 hour sessions twice a day, 6-8 am, and 4-6 pm. The yoga is of the meditative kind with a lot of emphasis on pranayama (breathing exercises), simple stretching and a few easy asanas (postures), so don't expect any vigorous Ashtanga workouts or anything.

AYRUVEDIC TREATMENTS
Massages as well as Ayurvedic treatments are available, and there is a doctor from Kerala (seat of Ayurveda) on duty. I did have a massage and the masseuse was pretty good, although the massage itself was very oily and messy - as is typical of Ayurvedic massages. The massage room was no-frills, but clean.

MANAGEMENT
The resort is well-run and the General Manager of the resort Mr Arjun is a warm and wonderful person. He has been with the resort from day one and clearly cares very much about the resort and about taking care of the guests.

WALKS AND GUIDES
Our group did three walks, guided by one of the hotel staff Arbin who proved adept at waiting tables as well as at guiding. The walk to Begnas Cote (climb to slightly over 1,000m high) was very enjoyable, and the view of the mountain range at the top was gorgeous. Start out early if you're going when the weather is hot though as we took over 6 hours there and back. The sun and heat become unbearable close to noon so starting out at 6am when it is light already is perfect.

CHARITY
The resort supports the village primary and secondary schools. A visit to the schools was arranged for our group, and it was a very heartwarming experience to meet and make a contribution to the excited kids who clearly come from very economically challenged backgrounds.The schools are bare bones, although they do focus on having as good a library as they can. The teachers we met were all simply wonderful. When you are there you might be able to ask the resort to arrange a visit to the schools should you want to help out. The walk there is about 45 mins away and up the hills. If not, then a contribution to the school would work too.

CURRENCY
Prices at the resort are quoted in Euros, however only USD and Nepali Rupees are accepted. USD in fact is quoted and accepted very widely in Nepal, even by small vendors, and usually at the rate of USD $1 = 1000 Rs. Change minimal currency into Nepali Rupees though as the currency is not popular outside of Nepal, and in fact money changers there will not change your Rupees back to other currencies!

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the lake, the ones on the upper floor of each cottage building face the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Begnas Lake Resort for three nights, with a couple days in the Kathmandu area on either side. The tranquility of Begnas was exactly what we needed after and before the chaos of Kathmandu, and showed a different, more natural side of Nepal. The staff were very attentive, with the GM, Arjun Parajuli, leading by example. He was always wandering around talking to guests and staff to ensure every need was being met - and it shows.

The accommodations were quiet bungalows but with every convenience expected in a high-end resort. As in all of Nepal, the power goes out a couple times a day, but the local generator made this a minor convenience. There is air conditioning, which was necessary for us in the high temperature and humidity of late summer. With just the sounds of crickets and birds we had the best sleep of our entire trip.

Of particular note is the restaurant. The primary menu is very extensive, with cuisine from Nepal, India, Asia, and international. But then you learn there are also Ayurveda and Oriental menus with even more items. We tried several dishes from each menu and all were fantastic. The chef is truly talented. Breakfast options are equally extensive. Happy hour is a great time to enjoy a drink on the patio and watch the changing colors of the lake and mountains as the sun sets. We did get to see the peaks of the Annapurna in the early morning before the humidity created haze and clouds.

We used an in-house guide for a couple walking trips, and he also gave us a tour of town before we departed. Very well done, and even when the vehicle broke down he quickly arranged a backup with minimal disruption. We also tried an Ayurveda general massage which was very good - but make sure you know what you're getting into if you're not up to speed on Ayurveda...!

Highly recommend adding Begnas Lake Resort to your Nepal itinerary!

Room Tip: All bungalows are good and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

One of the finest resorts I have stayed in. Being a hotelier I tend to get picky about cleanliness, staff attitude, quality of food etc. I must say this lovely little resort ticked all my boxes. The staff are very polite, ever obliging and willing to go that extra mile no matter how small your request. The GM-Arjun and F&B Manager-Shagun are always out and about the resort always looking for opportunities to make your stay pleasant. I was amazed how even casual staff ALWAYS greeted us with a smile and 'Namaste'. There was no instance where I got a NO as a response. The only area for improvement I can think of is having an Air conditioned car to get you to the hotel from the airport as July is humid and the roads are dusty.

Go stay and enjoy...you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Premium rooms...more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NitinT295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after completing the 5 day Poon Hill trek. It was bliss to rest tired muscles and do nothing for a few days. Our stone cottage was gorgeous, with a lovely view over the lake. The only sounds were birds calling and the splash of oars from small boats on the lake. The pool was perfect for a dip and the gardens were relaxing to wander in and take photographs.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom good, the food was excellent and served on the terrace with a view over the lake. All the staff were friendly and helpful, even keeping an eye out for birds for us, after we said we enjoyed bird watching. The manager was very helpful and gave us a lift into Pokhara with him when we needed to go there. One little tip: if you're coming off after trek, catch the boat across to the resort. If you drive, there are many steps to walk down with very sore calf muscles.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left two days later we could not have asked for better service. Lovely room and great service. Staying at this most perfect hotel was so much more than we could have hoped for. We highly recommend this hotel and hope we won't have to wait a years to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Back again to Begnas lake Resort after couple of years, food was brilliant, services as always awesome .. newly added cottages enhances Begnas.. amazing hospitality... hopefully i will there for 3rd time..

Room Tip: ask for waterfront cottage or premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
11.0 mi away
The Pavilions Himalayas
The Pavilions Himalayas
#42 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.5 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.2 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#25 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
9.4 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Begnas Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Begnas Lake Resort

Property: Begnas Lake Resort
Address: Sundari Danda, Begnas Lake, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Begnas Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Begnas Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Begnas Lake Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing