We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for great view in Pokhara”
Review of Raniban Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raniban Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for great view in Pokhara”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i stayed here for 3 nights when i was in Pokhara. The retreat has great view of the entire Pokhara Valley and the Annapurna range! food was great as well, and my fav is their Masala Tea! there is a nice rooftop where u can pull chairs and watch the world and clouds happen beneath you. will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Wifi in the restaurant. you may like to choose the hotel with the garden :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoundForMoMoLand, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for kind compliments. We continually endeavor to upgrade our services so that your next visit will have more exhilarating experience. Together with our service improvement, you will find upgraded rooms and gardens in your next visit. We are re-doing our rooms !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    45
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
44
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently we four sisters visited the Raniban retreat for two nights and it was a perfect place to get the true experience of the nature, the Himalayas. The feeling of living with the clouds, the stillness of the atmosphere. We lived in the cottages with private garden which was really beautiful. The rooms were clean and tidy. The only effort was to climb the steps but it was worth an effort.

Room Tip: The cottage with private garden are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansuya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoundForMoMoLand, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for kind compliments.We will keep on working hard to make Raniban a better place for your future stay.

Regards,
Vijay Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Go here for the amazing views of the annapurna range. Breathtaking to say the least. But even if the views were mediocre, the service here is exemplary. Ankur the manager and the rest of the staff were more than accomodating for our requests. The food is delectable- we trid nepali, indian and continental fare and it was lip smacking every time ( though sometimes looks/tastes different than the usual expectations)
The rooms are spartan but clean and cozy.
Caveat- getting here is tough. First the unpaved uphill road followed by the zillion steps. But keep on telling yourself '10 more steps ' till you get there. Its worth it!!!
Also you might want to carry a bug spray if lil bit of insect life give you the creeps :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raniban_retreat, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 11 September 2016
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your visit and kind review.
We keep on improving all the aspects of our services and products. Visit us with friends and family.

Regards
Vijay shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you've reached here, you've probably already read the Raniban website about the best location / scenic views in Pokhara, etc. I cannot say much about other locations in Pokhara but can vouch for the fact that Raniban provides a stunning view of the Himalayas (Annapurna range), Phewa lake and the entire Pokhara town.

Raniban is the kind of place you go to when you want to really relax for a couple of days -- just do nothing much, keep staring at the sky, clouds or the mountain ranges ahead. When we went there, only one other room was occupied, so there was almost no sound, nobody around us... just peace.

The rooms are spacious and every room has an exciting view. The quality of some of the furnishings / bathroom fittings could be better, but when you watch the sunrise - at eye level - from your bed, you tend to forgive such shortcomings.

One major thing to note, however -- don't attempt Raniban unless you are willing to make a climb of 500 steps - it is a bit of a trek and will take about 30 minutes uphill and about 20 minutes downhill. This has two implications -- One, make sure that your ride into Pokhara knows Raniban and will take you to the beginning of this trek. Our taxi refused to go all the way and left us about half a kilometer earlier at the Peace pagoda parking lot. Two, you cannot use Raniban as a hotel if you intend to explore Pokhara over 2-3 days... once your reach Raniban, you will not feel like going down (and climbing up, remember?) till you are ready to check-out.

All in all, Raniban is an experience worth having. Its location is its primary strength; its location could be a deterrent for some.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriniSRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raniban_retreat, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 11 September 2016
Dear guest,
Thank you for your visit at Raniban and this kind review. If you have any problems with the cab drives please call us in our number, we will locate the exact place to your driver or send our contacts to pick you so that there would be no problems. As well as we are always trying our best to improve all the aspect of our services and products, Renovation and replacement of the materials in all the areas takes place time to time. Hope you will find the improvements in your future visits.
Visit us with friends and family.

Regards
Vijay shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I reviewed trip advisor & selected Raniban Retreat after reading many reviews & thanks to everyone. By far the best place in Pokhara or even entire Nepal. It offers great view, irrespective of any weather. It should be in top 100Hotels to visit list.

Not recommended for couples with small kids & elderly people. Reaching the resort is an adventure but also a tier sum deal. 500 stairs to climb, makes it a place you wanna give a second thought before booking.

Service is of highest standard & staff is very polite. Me & my family loved every bit of the place. From Sun rise to Midnight.

Room Tip: Every Room is good but The Mountain view room with private garden is worth every penny spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raniban_retreat, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 11 September 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and kind review. As well as thanks to all the reviewers because of whom lots of visitors are able to find and enjoy the heaven on earth views from Raniban Retreat. Our effort is always to give a 100% guest satisfaction by improving all the aspects of our services and products. We train our staff regularly from the local and international trainers time to time, as well as constantly apply suggestions from our guests to get the standard services and products that we are able to provide today. Thank you for everybody.
Visit us again with friends and family to enjoy the best view with the personalized authentic Nepali Hospitality.

Regards
Vijay Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Raniban Retreat is a must-see and a must-stay retreat in Pokhara, Nepal. This is now officially my favourite retreat. I lost myself in its amazing location, the mesmerising views of the mighty Himalayan ranges of Annapurna and the grand Phewa Lake and the absolutely amazing food! I can't think of anything better to do in Nepal than spend a couple of nights in this fantastic place. Next time I'm going to try the spa there. the views from that height are enough to detox any negativity in your body. I am now out of words to describe my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STFA2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raniban_retreat, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 11 September 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such kind review. You are most welcome to come and try our new facilities and services that we keep on improving every day. Our organic garden is growing bigger everyday for more tasty and healthy food.
Visit us again with friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

There is no mistaking Raniban Retreat offers the best view in Pokhara of Daulagiri and beyond through Annapurna range to Himal Ganesh, with the bonus of the city of Pokhara and the Fewa lake shrouded in soft cloud in the morning.

Few sensation can match having Puri Tarkhari with Macchapucchre on the foreground.

Pranisha contacted us shortly after booking to provide helpful information and to check whether we needed anything prior to our stay. Upon knowing that we would like to have a room with a view to Macchapucchre, she upgraded our room. She also provided information and contacts for our trekking plan, all even before we started our trip to Nepal.

Both Pranisha and Khumar met it all so effortlessly natural. We cannot thank them enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoundForMoMoLand, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We will continue to ensure that our people provide most personalized services from the time of inquiry to after-your-check-out. In the meantime, we will keep on improving in all guest service areas, including cleanliness, quality of food, etc.

We will make sure that your recommended friends to Raniban in the future will have delightful stay here.

Regards,
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 102 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#5 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#25 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Barahi
Hotel Barahi
#23 of 102 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#3 of 102 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raniban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raniban Retreat

Property: Raniban Retreat
Address: nr. Peace Pagoda | South Side of Fewa Lake, Pokhara, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raniban Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raniban Retreat hotel is perched on a secluded ridge top 700m above Phewa Tal lake, and the town of Pokhara.Reach us by rowing boat and trekking on a well made trail, or by road in 15 minutes from Lakeside, and you will be a world away from the grime and noise of Lakeside tourist hotels. The World Peace Pagoda is our only neighbour. The stunning view.is what really makes us special. From our rooms and terraces we enjoy heart stopping views to the mighty Annapurna range, across Fewa Tal, and the paragliders of Sarangkot.All our rooms are cosy when it's colder, cool when it's hot and look out onto the stunning view to the north. Our excellent restaurant menu features seasonal specials, and many dishes feature herbs and vegetables grown in our own organic gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raniban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing