We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of the Himalayas”
Review of Pokhara Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pokhara Grande
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Amazing view of the Himalayas
It rained heavily the day we checked in, we couldn't go elsewhere but enjoyed couple of drinks in the hotel's bar which I found pretty much cozy. Staff were friendly and always to avail. But what took our breath away was the view of Annapurna Range the next morning. Simply Amazing! Shame we couldn't extend our stay since we had our plane to catch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuBash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzin Y, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this positive review and high ratings in all the six. We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Annapurna Range indeed looks amazing the next morning after a heavy rain. You were one of the lucky ones.
We do hope that you'll visit us again in future. Thank you for choosing Pokhara Grande!
Best Regards,
Tenzin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Grande for 2 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is clean but a bit tired. Hotwater in the rooms is limited to mornings and evenings, although during our stay, we went 24 hours without any even warm water. Also, there was no safe in the room. Our room was in the annex which is very quiet - the rooms at the front of the hotel can get noisy. The food at the morning and evening buffet is limited but there's an excellent choice on the a la carte menu. We have to mention Dipak, the restaurant manager, who is first class and very welcoming. Like alot of the hotels in India and Nepal there is no free wifi in the lobby. If you have a clear morning don't forget to go to the roof in the main building for tremendous views of the mountains. You might also see planes landing at the nearby airport.

Room Tip: The annex, facing the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Returning from the Annapurna trek, this was a pleasant way to unwind and wash away the grime. Reception staff were extremely helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Going by the standards of deluxe/luxury hotels in Nepal, this is definitely above average. Food however, as other reviewers suggest too, is positively better at lakeside restaurants so eat there in any case. Our quest for good coffee at any 4/5 star in Nepal remains unfulfilled to date and we still carry our own grounds and percolator...

Room Tip: Ask for first or second floor rooms with view to the Annapurna range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rajeev1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzin Y, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pokhara Grande!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this wonderful comment. It always gives us a great pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied and contented.

Thank you for choosing our property. We do hope that you'll visit us again and give us a chance to make your stay even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Tenzin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Most staff were very welcoming. The food was quiet limited and OK. There are far better places to eat in Pokhara like the Moon Dance restaurant a short 300 rupee taxi ride. The spa was nothing special and a bit tatty - again it was OK.
Its was all about Pokhara which is a special place so the hotel did its job for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEVIKING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Over priced hotel with very bad staff. Hot water has limited timing, after which they send hot water buckets to the room. The restaurant staff really needs to be hospitable. Overall quite a dissappointment.

Room Tip: The suites are good , specially if u are travelling with family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geetika2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzin Y, Guest Relations Manager at Pokhara Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Since this was your 2nd visit to Pokhara Grande, we did everything we could to make your stay pleasant with us. Complimentary wine, cake upon arrival...Our policy is guests are always right. But hotels have certain rules too which we break at times to ensure guests satisfaction. In your case, the reason for your disappointment is you came a second time to pick up items from the buffet for your onward journey long after you were done with your breakfast. It was only then our restaurant staff advised you that the hotel did not allow buffet items to be packed and taken out of the restaurant. But, since we believe in satisfying our guests always, our Restaurant Manager Mr. Deep came to your assistance and did help you to take out the packed items from the buffet. We do apologize this inconvenience that might have caused you.
Best Regards,
Tenzin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Overall an enjoyable experience. Pokhara is a special place and in a lot of ways the accommodation is secondary. However the Grande is a fine hotel manned by staff
of a high quality where nothing was left to chance. I need to mention Anita and Tamzin
of the hotel staff both of whom where exceptional. The rooms where excellent.
Bearing the above in mind the one thing that could be improved on would be the menu.
To attract diners coming from all parts of the world a more diverse approach is needed.
Many thanks for a great vacation.

Room Tip: New block facing the mountain range were excellent !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Pokhara Grande Hotel is a really great place to stay in Pokhara. The Staff were really helpful and very friendly. The location was great just 5 mins from the airport and close to all the leisure activities. It is also with easy reach of the WaterFront Side with a numerous eating places, wonderful shopping and all round pleasant place. The Pohkara Grand, i fully recommend, you will thoroughly enjoy your stay and the beautiful mountain views.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the mountains, the views in the morning are really stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.2 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#9 of 106 in Pokhara
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 106 in Pokhara
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
Shangri-La Village Pokhara
#37 of 106 in Pokhara
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glacier Hotel & Spa
Glacier Hotel & Spa
#4 of 106 in Pokhara
386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 106 in Pokhara
588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#29 of 106 in Pokhara
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokhara Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokhara Grande

Address: Birauta Chowk, Pardi, Pokhara 200, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokhara
#7 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#8 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range: £50 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pokhara Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pokhara Grande is a 5 minute's drive from the stunning Fewa Lake and ideally located amidst the panoramic view of Annapurna Range and Fishtail mountains. The hotel is a perfect base for business travelers, topnotch trekkers and for visitors who want to explore the unrivaled attractions of Pokhara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokhara Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokhara Grande Hotel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing