We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mount Fuji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mount Fuji
Ranked #89 of 272 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very nice but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

As previous posts have indicated, the hotel in clean, well located and managed by a helpful German women. However, I left after finding another hotel (Sacred Valley Inn) which was every bit as good in every way(better showers in fact) but at $15, exactly half the price of the Mt Fuji.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    4
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
35
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

A really great small hotel run by German management (thank you Karen), with well-trained local staff. About 200 metres up a side road from the main Pokhara Lakeside strip with plenty of restaurants, bars and views of the lake.
The hotel has 3 floors and an iron spiral staircase to the roof which commands a great and pretty much unobstructed view of the peaks in one direction and the lake in the other.
Evenings watching the sun turn the snows on the peaks a pinky gold was magical. And breakfast time was nearly as good, with a fine selection of food choices too (fruit plate, eggs, cheeses and tomato, bread and jam, coffee/tea). All very well done.
The room was large with a big shower wet room style bathroom with consistent hot water.
The beds are quite hard, but I'd rather that than broken springs.
There is an interior small lounge area, and a few balconies if you seek some privacy from other guests, many of whom are German. The hotel generally does not accept bookings from large groups, so all is peace and civility!
Karen conducts daily 7am yoga sessions on the roof on a daily basis and is also very helpful in providing advice on local restaurants and transport.
This would be a perfect place to recover after a trek, or just to chill and soak up the scenery.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as the staircase setup requires upper floor guests to walk past all the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Mount Fuji is very well located, in Lakeside but in a quiet street.
The guesthouse is nice with great terasses and a wonderful view on the mountains.
Breakfast is very good (especially looking at the Annapurnas on the sunny terasses), but take your time to choose between the numerous items (we missed the pancakes).
Rooms and bathroom are honest. My only concern would be that it is not like heaven for sensitive/allergic people as the floor is covered by carpets.
In case you don't like your pillow, ask Karen, she can change it for a harder or softer one.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: My only concern would be for allergic people (carpet) otherwise it is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Mount Fuji Hotel after a 14 days trek in Nepal. It was the perfect place to rest and enjoy Pokhara. We stayed five days there. The hotel is at the end of dead end street, very quiet but 2 minutes from the busy Lakeside.
The rooms a very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.
Karen, the german owner, has been in Nepal for a few years and has been traveling in the country a lot. She can be a great help for organizing treks and other activities around Pokhara and Nepal. She offers free meditation and yoga classes on the rooftop where the view on the Lake and the surrounding mountains is amazing.
Last but not least, we got there the best breakfast we had since we have been traveling in Nepal and India.
We wish we would come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurnau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very pleasureful stay here and even changed our travel plans to stay longer. Because of the warm and friendly care of Karen and her staff we felt so comfortable and got to know so many other nice and interessting people as never before in a hotel.
Karen also supported us to find an good trekking guide, she also offers daytrips around Pokhara to beautiful but not crowded areas, which are a real alternative to those, who don´t go trekking.
Every morning we enjoyed the roof top view to the lake and the mountains while having a delicious breakfast. Sleeping was relaxing and quiet, in the morning you can hear the birds singing. We couldn´t have found it better!

Room Tip: During our stay of about two weeks we had three different rooms, because we went away to go trekking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We found this place by recommendation of a friend. He told us that the service is wonderful and it is in the 'Top Five' in trip advisor. Well, after our experience there for three days, it rightfully deserves to be in the 'Top Five'. Karen, a German ex-pat, has done very well. She has put a lot of love into the hotel and it shows. From the rooftop dining area that gives a 360 degree view of Pokhara and a stunning view of the 8thousanders to the beautiful coffee drinks, Karen has done right. She has also employed a wonderful wait staff who are very attentive and caring. The rooms are very comfortable. As a footnote, my partner has an awful fear of spiders and our rooms were spider free! We were assured that if there were to be a spider in our room that a staff member would return it to its home outside. Let's put it this way: happy wife, happy life. No spiders, happy wife:)

As in terms of location, it is off the main strip which makes for very good sleeping conditions. But, it is close enough where one can walk everywhere without a taxi. Karen is very good at giving suggestions of local restaurants and drinking holes. The hotel also offers a range of tours and activities that can be arranged through the hotel, i.e. Fair-trade coffee plantation tour, para-gliding, bike rentals, etc.

Go to Hotel Mount Fuji and enjoy life:)

Namaste.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3leggedplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Firstly, we apologise that it has taken so long for us to write this review, we completely forgot that we hadn't written it already. We stayed in Mount Fuji for almost 6 weeks in total during March and April, since it was such a homely, welcoming and clean place. Thankfully we moved to Hotel Mount Fuji after a having stayed in a very dirty place elsewhere in Pokhara. Mount Fuji was a breath of fresh air compared to other places we had seen and stayed in Nepal. Most importantly it was very clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Karen couldn't have made our stay any better and even after 6 weeks of staying there she maintained the same high standards as she set at the start of our stay. Karen was a wealth of interesting information regarding local sights and treks and always more than willing to share her advice.

The rates were very reasonable and the food was great, a nice touch was all sitting down to eat together for the evening meal (only if you want to though). Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a clean, friendly and homely place in Pokhara. We felt like part of the 'Mount Fuji' family and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tulsi
Hotel Tulsi
#60 of 98 in Pokhara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Snowland
Hotel Snowland
#36 of 98 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trek-O-Tel
Trek-O-Tel
#68 of 98 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sacred Valley Inn Pokhara
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crystal Palace
Hotel Crystal Palace
#5 of 98 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Kailash Resort
Mount Kailash Resort
#24 of 98 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount Fuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount Fuji

Property: Hotel Mount Fuji
Address: Central Lakeside, Pokhara 61000, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mount Fuji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing