We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat run-down”
Review of Hotel Mount Fuji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mount Fuji
Ranked #122 of 276 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our stay (two nights) was short, but long enough for Pokhara. Beautiful scenery and the rooftop terras of the hotel is great in the morning for the sunrise. When we arrived at the hotel, we noticed that we were the only guests. January is a quick month and Karin, the owner was not there.The place looked as if it needed some refreshing actions. The young man who checked us in (and is basicly running the hotel day and night) is nice and helpful, but the atmosphere was lacking at the place. Not only because it was empty, but it was kind of a cold place. Hardly any electricity (pretty normal in Nepal), but even then it took some time to get the generator started. We did feel that for two people, the generator was not worth it. Anyway, it will be different in summer, but we have to be honest in the reviews and share our experience and feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haki63, Manager at Hotel Mount Fuji, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Namaste!
Thank you for your review and the informations. You came in the low season, I was not there and something went wrong. Normaly we have more staff, to make you happy, but the staff went also for holiday in this time, I did not know this. Sorry for this.
Manager, Karen Plischtil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mount Fuji
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

As previous posts have indicated, the hotel in clean, well located and managed by a helpful German women. However, I left after finding another hotel (Sacred Valley Inn) which was every bit as good in every way(better showers in fact) but at $15, exactly half the price of the Mt Fuji.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A really great small hotel run by German management (thank you Karen), with well-trained local staff. About 200 metres up a side road from the main Pokhara Lakeside strip with plenty of restaurants, bars and views of the lake.
The hotel has 3 floors and an iron spiral staircase to the roof which commands a great and pretty much unobstructed view of the peaks in one direction and the lake in the other.
Evenings watching the sun turn the snows on the peaks a pinky gold was magical. And breakfast time was nearly as good, with a fine selection of food choices too (fruit plate, eggs, cheeses and tomato, bread and jam, coffee/tea). All very well done.
The room was large with a big shower wet room style bathroom with consistent hot water.
The beds are quite hard, but I'd rather that than broken springs.
There is an interior small lounge area, and a few balconies if you seek some privacy from other guests, many of whom are German. The hotel generally does not accept bookings from large groups, so all is peace and civility!
Karen conducts daily 7am yoga sessions on the roof on a daily basis and is also very helpful in providing advice on local restaurants and transport.
This would be a perfect place to recover after a trek, or just to chill and soak up the scenery.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as the staircase setup requires upper floor guests to walk past all the ground fl...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Mount Fuji is very well located, in Lakeside but in a quiet street.
The guesthouse is nice with great terasses and a wonderful view on the mountains.
Breakfast is very good (especially looking at the Annapurnas on the sunny terasses), but take your time to choose between the numerous items (we missed the pancakes).
Rooms and bathroom are honest. My only concern would be that it is not like heaven for sensitive/allergic people as the floor is covered by carpets.
In case you don't like your pillow, ask Karen, she can change it for a harder or softer one.
The staff is extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: My only concern would be for allergic people (carpet) otherwise it is OK.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Mount Fuji Hotel after a 14 days trek in Nepal. It was the perfect place to rest and enjoy Pokhara. We stayed five days there. The hotel is at the end of dead end street, very quiet but 2 minutes from the busy Lakeside.
The rooms a very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.
Karen, the german owner, has been in Nepal for a few years and has been traveling in the country a lot. She can be a great help for organizing treks and other activities around Pokhara and Nepal. She offers free meditation and yoga classes on the rooftop where the view on the Lake and the surrounding mountains is amazing.
Last but not least, we got there the best breakfast we had since we have been traveling in Nepal and India.
We wish we would come back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very pleasureful stay here and even changed our travel plans to stay longer. Because of the warm and friendly care of Karen and her staff we felt so comfortable and got to know so many other nice and interessting people as never before in a hotel.
Karen also supported us to find an good trekking guide, she also offers daytrips around Pokhara to beautiful but not crowded areas, which are a real alternative to those, who don´t go trekking.
Every morning we enjoyed the roof top view to the lake and the mountains while having a delicious breakfast. Sleeping was relaxing and quiet, in the morning you can hear the birds singing. We couldn´t have found it better!

Room Tip: During our stay of about two weeks we had three different rooms, because we went away to go trekking...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We found this place by recommendation of a friend. He told us that the service is wonderful and it is in the 'Top Five' in trip advisor. Well, after our experience there for three days, it rightfully deserves to be in the 'Top Five'. Karen, a German ex-pat, has done very well. She has put a lot of love into the hotel and it shows. From the rooftop dining area that gives a 360 degree view of Pokhara and a stunning view of the 8thousanders to the beautiful coffee drinks, Karen has done right. She has also employed a wonderful wait staff who are very attentive and caring. The rooms are very comfortable. As a footnote, my partner has an awful fear of spiders and our rooms were spider free! We were assured that if there were to be a spider in our room that a staff member would return it to its home outside. Let's put it this way: happy wife, happy life. No spiders, happy wife:)

As in terms of location, it is off the main strip which makes for very good sleeping conditions. But, it is close enough where one can walk everywhere without a taxi. Karen is very good at giving suggestions of local restaurants and drinking holes. The hotel also offers a range of tours and activities that can be arranged through the hotel, i.e. Fair-trade coffee plantation tour, para-gliding, bike rentals, etc.

Go to Hotel Mount Fuji and enjoy life:)

Namaste.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3leggedplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.4 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#6 of 105 in Pokhara
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 105 in Pokhara
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 276 in Pokhara
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#3 of 276 in Pokhara
247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pokhara Grande
Pokhara Grande
#17 of 105 in Pokhara
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount Fuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount Fuji

Address: Central Lakeside, Pokhara 61000, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range: £9 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mount Fuji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing