We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great option for pokhara!”
Review of Phil's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokhara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phil's Inn
Ranked #27 of 295 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Phil’s inn is a great place to stay in pokhara. the staff is very nice, and we had some good chats. it is relatively quiet where the inn is, but it is getting built in fast. Still, there are good places to eat around there and it is right on the lake.
I had a room with the lake-view which I absolutely loved. the bed was comfortable and the shower worked very well.
it is not a very social place: there is no real common room and they expected me to be back relatively early. also, the taxi they arranged for me to take me to see the sunrise was unreasonably expensive, but that might have been the taxi’s fault, I am not sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Pokhara is the natural base for any trekking holiday in the Annapurna Region.

If you are on a modest budget and want a clean, friendly and spacious guesthouse prior to, or on completion of the trek, Phil's Inn is highly recommended. Not many places offer a guaranteed hot shower - what bliss !

Our thanks to Pradip and his family for a pleasant and comfortable stay !

Jai Massi !

Paddy & Sue Gallaugher

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good Points:
Stayed in a lake view room for 4 nights.
Hot water worked each day.
Friendly staff.
Clean room and bathroom.
Attractive price.
Quiet location in North Lakeside.

Bad points:
Too pushy to try to sell you trekking/tours. At least they should let you settle in first.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SYDHIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I picked this place out of the guide book and for once they were right on the money.

For $10 US you got a large room, superb unobstructed lake views and a large clean bathroom. There was free wifi and a nice rooftop to chill out on with again great views of the lake and town in general.

The location of the hotel was perfect for me, about 5-7 minutes walk from the very centre of Lakeside and just north enough of the main heart to be a little quieter. The staff were very helpful and friendly and great to chat to. Like all hotels they were happy to recommend and or book tourist attractions for you.

The only downside that was in the mornings the shower water was warm and not hot. Still very agreeable and better than a lot of other places I've been where the water was outright cold. The water got nice and hot if you waited until the afternoon or even the early evening to shower as they use a solar system. A very minor complaint from otherwise a great place to stay.

There was no TV in the room but that doesn't bother me in the slightest. Every hotel I've stayed in Nepal that had a TV never worked so they are more cosmetic anyway.

I was by myself but this would be fine for a couple also. I stayed there on two separate occasions so I obviously liked it and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3+4 are the lake view ones. There are others but they would not have had the view. Unsure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Firey500Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Thanks Phil, great place and view of the lake. Also, thanks for help in getting the place in Chit Wan, Riverfront and Krishna were made for a great experience there. I hope you guys are well.
Kind regards, Jeremy & Grace

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JSpath38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I stayed at Phill's Inn one night, and can hearty recomend this guest house. Nice, clean, comfortable room with exellent view of Fewa Lake.
Filtered water available at no additional charge. Queit and safe place.
Very comfortable accomodation with European-like management. Friendly staff speaks fluent English. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2sveta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Stayed 2 nights in October, 2010. Convenient location on the north end of the lakeside strip. Rooms are about standard for the price range, but very neat and tidy, no complaints at all. Phil (Pradip) and his staff and family were all extremely helpful, you will not find nicer people anywhere. Plus Phils has free wireless internet. Book directly with Phil's, beware of 3rd party internet agents such as "goodguesthouses.com" when booking anywhere in Pokhara.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maxmcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 295 in Pokhara
300 reviews
1 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#3 of 295 in Pokhara
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#6 of 108 in Pokhara
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#2 of 108 in Pokhara
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#9 of 108 in Pokhara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil's Inn

Address: | Khahare Lakeside, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
my property is 5 storied building over looking the Phewa lake. clean place. it is a family operated business. we arrange touristic activities in and around pokhara and himalayan region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing