We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream place”
Review of Maya Devi Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokhara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maya Devi Village
Ranked #76 of 293 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2013

In december we were 5 nights at maha devi. The atmosphere outside is cosy and very open. During the day the para sailers go on and of in front of this place. Also the surrounding is very nice in the middle of the locals but also easy to walk for dinner to Pokhara town. The best of both worlds!!
The round houses are realy nice. A very good bed, a lot of good books and a warm water shower! The breakfast was very good and special was ofcourse the birds training above your heads during breakfast.
Especially the open atmosphere of the "owners" Graham, Danny and Tracy makes to stay in Maha devi much more special!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in Maya Devi in October 2011; the place is very well manicured, rooms are spotless and very comfortable with a great amount of reading material
Maya devi is a place that you can choose to sit by the lake, read a book or to excell yourself with a great amount of activities that they offer.
food and breakfast are exceptional and personnel very friendly and helpfull
We ran into a little dilemma trying to get from Nepal to India and Graham the general manager went out of his way setting us up with a driver and an expeditor to get the visa in Kathmandu.
if you are visiting Nepal in the Pokhara area Maya Devi is the kind of place that you mustvisit
Looking to return in the near future and definitely recommend to anyone traveleling that way

Marcello & Christine
Lynbrook, NY

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting Nepal for 21 days in January 2010 on a leisure & charity trip.

The traditional Nepali thatched house was very comfortable with big comfy double bed upstairs, lounge & shower room downstairs linked via a spiral staircase.

It was wonderful sitting on the veranda in the morning with a cuppa, seeing Scott & the team go about their business with the Himalayan Raptor Rescue Centre. Also equally wonderful seeing all the stars on clear beautiful cloudless night.

It’s a quaint, quiet retreat not far from Lakeside & seconds stroll from the banks of Lake Fewa.

Raju made us very welcome & looked after us very well indeed. He also has lots of contacts like taxis & stuff for you to get about if required.

During the day, meals & snacks are provided by Maya Devi, for the many paragliders who land not far away. It’s quite an amazing experience walking out of our hut seeing these guys spiralling & performing stunts above your head.

For a truly unforgettable experience you have to try Parahawking! Such an amazing experience to share the sky with these majestic raptors. I would recommend doing it on a Sunday so once landed you can enjoy the superb Sunday BBQ too!

All in a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Your trip to Pokhara wouldn't be complete without a visit to Maya Devi Village. I work in Pokhara and am a regular for the delicious food. I especially love the smoked chicken sandwhich. You can go on your own, hang out, and you'll be sure to make friends. That's what happened to me. I work in tourism and bring many of my guests there. They all love it too! One of the nicest things is the location. It's on the lakeside but away from all the hustle and bustle and right on the lake. Watching the paragliders do their acrobatics and land right in front of the restaurant is fun too. They've got a couple of bungalows for rent too, which is a bonus if you want a quiet place to sleep. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheljbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We booked a sky safari before we left England and I had planned to do all sorts of activities once I was there. We arrived late one afternoon after an interesting 8 hour bus ride from Kathmandu.
The following morning we woke to a beautiful serene scene of lakes and mountains. Sitting outside eating breakfast with this lovely. Then about 10ish people started appearing, kids playing with home made paragliding toys and then the paragliders appeared, high on the ridge; soaring the thermals. A coffee or two later and the paragliders were flying above the lake treating us to amazing aerial displays. We spent most of our first day in awe of the events going on around us.
Maya Devi was a unique experience in beautiful surroundings. It is a fair walk from town and getting a taxi from town was always tough trying to haggle the right price. The only real downside to staying there that we found was that you cannot get an evening meal their and it is a little bit expensive compared to local guest houses.
Scot and his gang made our stay a fantastic memory and I would recomend it without any hesitation.
If you do get there, you must try a tandem paragliding experience. Scot's crew fly with birds of prey so you will have the chance to paraglide with one of these birds. Feeding a vulture or kite whilst flying with them in the mountains and lakes is etched in my memory for eternity.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedb900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ineke-Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Noemí E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 293 in Pokhara
299 reviews
2.1 mi away
New Pokhara Lodge
New Pokhara Lodge
#4 of 293 in Pokhara
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 108 in Pokhara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#6 of 108 in Pokhara
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#2 of 108 in Pokhara
197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#8 of 108 in Pokhara
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Devi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Devi Village

Address: Kapaundi, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Devi Village is a family run restaurant & guest house based in Pokhara, Nepal. It is named after Buddha's mother and was constructed in a traditional style to blend in with its location in the foothills of the Nepal Himalaya. Run as a small guest house and offering tasty food in its restaurant, Maya Devi is set amongst verdant fields along the shores of Phewa Tal. It offers secluded boutique accommodation throughout the year in traditional round houses, providing a hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Lakeside. Maya Devi, Pokhara's best kept little secret! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing