We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diplomat Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diplomat Apartments
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Diplomat Apartments for three months, july-september. The family who lives on the ground floor is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the apartment on the second floor and really enjoyed it. Two big bedrooms, a big livingroom, two balconies, a kitchen with everything we needed, wifi, electricity and gas included.The house is in a great neighbourhood with cheap local places to eat and shops for groceries et.c. It is in walking distance to Pewa lake and the more tourist dense area. Amazing wiew to the snowclad mountains and much more. Will defenitely come back here next time in Nepal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here for a month on the top floor. The apartment is clean with a nice kitchen and fantastic clean views of the Himalaya. The rooftop is great for relaxing and for the sunset. The owner and his family are friendly and can speak English well. The owner really helped me when I became sick with appendicitus by taking me to hospital and staying 3 days while I recovered... thank you again. Great wifi and 12volt backup electric system, and solar hot water.
Near the apt there are many shops and a bakery. The area is quiet, safe and friendly.
The owner is also a travel agent so he can sort out plane tickets, trekking, etc..
Great place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

When you get up in the morning and open the window, the first thing you see are the great white mountains. The location of the apartement couln't be better. You don't have any noise from the cars and lakeside. Though you can be in the busy part in 10 minutes walking of less than 5 minutes by bice.
The place looks clean and has everything you need.
If there is any problem you can walk downstears and the family/ owners and they will help you.
The owner also has an office in Lakeside. From there he can arrange everything you need.

I have lived in the apartement for 2,5 months now and it really feels like home! If i ever come back to Pokhara, i would stay here again. I can recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2068Pokhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We have been traveling for 1,5 years now and have used tripadvisor often, however always too lazy and leechy to open an account and wrote a review. So why now? Because the friendly owner asked us and because the apartment is so nice, it deserves a recommendation.

The apartment is located in a 4 story building. Owner and family (4 in total) live on the ground floor. Top floor is one bedroom apartment with fire place, floor 2 and 3 have two bedroom apartments with two bathrooms (one with bath). Every apartment has a kitchen, living room and balcony. Internet (off and on) is included. The apartment is located in Lakeside-south about 15 minutes walk from the main tourist strip in Lakeside.
The area is residential, quiet (sure, this is Asia and yes, there are roosters;) with small streets, gardens and veg/groceries shops.

Why 'so nice'?
- good value: large apartments are about 70m2
- hot water shower (solar heated)
- decently equipped for cooking (inc. fridge)
- lovely view of the Himalayas
- shops at walking distance
- quiet area

If you are like us, and looking for a place to stay a little longer, and like to cook for your self, these apartments are pretty ideal. For instance for paragliders, volunteers, teachers etc. But also for travelers and anyone who would rather not stay at a hotel for a while.

The owner is extremely friendly and help full. He speaks perfect english and ownes a local travel agency, thus very knowledgeable of Pokhara and surrounds.

'a little home away from home.'

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HWHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Wanting to learn Nepali, I needed to find somewhere to stay longer term and really couldn’t face the thought of living in a guest house for months on end. To my surprise, when I started investigating around Pokhara (my chosen location for the next eight months) my initial investigations led nowhere. Options were either not genuinely self-contained or simply extortionate. I was, therefore, incredibly lucky to discover a travel agent who was converting his house into long term holiday let flats. After one look I snapped up the top apartment. After two months of residency, the other flats are now becoming available and, given my visible contentment living here, my landlord asked me to let my friends know who might be looking for apartments. So I thought actually the best place to share it is here. For pictures and details about the flats check their website:
Diplomat Apartments:

I think it’s worth adding to the promotional blurb therein that the views really are something else – coming from a mountainless country, I Cheshire-Cat-smile every morning looking north. The location is perfect – in a really friendly Nepali community but just a quick hop to the fun and frolics of Lakeside. The landlord and his family are great – I get all the privacy in the world but also friendship, chats, chai and the proverbial ‘cup of sugar’ when needed. I even went to their mountain village for their big festival, so welcoming are they. And the flat is brilliant, more than I ever hoped for and decked out with everything I need – it is so nice to make your own tea and toast in the morning!

The time I have spent in this flat in Pokhara has been brilliant. It has been really great to have such a comfy bolthole while settling into a new life abroad, and a perfect place to space study, relax and practice my faltering Nepali with the locals. See my blog if you don’t believe me! (Or if you come to view I am in the top floor flat until June 2011.)
Royston

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gendun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
Hotel Middle Path & Spa
#1 of 99 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Inn
Hotel Himalayan Inn
#3 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#6 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#12 of 99 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cherry Garden
Hotel The Cherry Garden
#1 of 275 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fish Tail Lodge
Fish Tail Lodge
#14 of 99 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Apartments

Property: Diplomat Apartments
Address: No 32 Dirsti Marg, House, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Diplomat Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing